We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly welcome to Lancaster!”

Discover Lancaster Visitors Center
Ranked #2 of 65 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Make the Visitors Center your first stop in Lancaster County, where you'll find informative brochures and maps, expert advice, and coupons. Our friendly travel consultants are happy to help you by suggesting restaurants, finding last-minute lodging or discovering those special out-of-the-way places.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We came to Lancaster to celebrate my moms 80th birthday. So, we came to see "Maks, Val & Peta, Confidential" (From Dancing with the Stars) at the American Music Theater and thought we would stop at the Visitors Center for suggestions of what was happen, what was open for the season and what wasn't. We were greeted by friendly folks full of so much knowledge and love for their community! Make sure to ask for Tom! He had us in stitches!! We definitely make the Discover Lancaster Visitors Center a first stop when we come to Lancaster!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Sandie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"visitor's center"
in 8 reviews
"free coffee"
in 4 reviews
"great place to start"
in 4 reviews
"an art gallery"
in 3 reviews
"great information"
in 4 reviews
"area attractions"
in 2 reviews
"sticky buns"
in 2 reviews
"local artists"
in 3 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 3 reviews
"amish country"
in 6 reviews
"buggy ride"
in 3 reviews
"back roads"
in 2 reviews
"gift shop"
in 4 reviews
"tours"
in 6 reviews
"interests"
in 3 reviews
"knowledge"
in 4 reviews
"route"
in 4 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

We used a sort of "satellite" display run by the center. There were plenty of brochures for local tourist attractions. The "Discover Lancaster" booklet is especially notable for the map stapled into the center of it. It is a good tour map, in terms of showing back roads, and we used it constantly to drive through the countryside. My big disappointment is that there wasn't a map or list of authentic Amish restaurants and shops. Everything listed seemed to be non-Amish, tarted up touristy stuff, full of souvenirs like shot glasses and 2,000 kinds of candy. We ended up in a mediocre BBQ restaurant because we just didn't find anything better. Sadly, it is easier to find authentic Amish food and goods in the Ohio community than in Lancaster. I'll give them four stars only because of the map.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Coming in from Pittsburgh, we wanted to spend a day in Lancaster and see the Amish Country. The visitor center helped me get my bearings on where things were at and how much time we had to spend in each location.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank DannyWasserman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Came in to ask for recommendations about things to do around town with kids. They were very nice and helpful.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank ByAirByLandBySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Entering the Lancaster Visitors Center you realize just how many places there are to eat, stay and things to do and see in the area and brochures on every one of them. Large in size and a very nice gift shop to the left with free coffee. The woman behind the desk gave us some very local insight on some of the downtown areas we had asked about and it was much appreciated.

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Discover Lancaster Visitors Center also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Discover Lancaster Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing