We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable afternoon”

Amish Farm and House
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Nestled behind the hustle and bustle of today's world sits a picturesque 15-acre oasis that has been a must visit destination for Lancaster County visitors since 1955. Come experience Lancaster's Living Heritage at Lancaster's premier Amish attraction!
West Haverstraw, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable afternoon”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We enjoyed the tour, learning the history of the Amish

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beverly f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    299
    88
    35
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our guide was great. He had information from the past and present about the Amish community. The house is well kept as in the 1 room school house. They have a lot of farm equipment to see. I brought my kids there 15 yrs ago and just returned from a visit with my 18 yr old daughter who really enjoyed our visit. It's worth the trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank livetotravelNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute and fun”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I don't have many opportunities to be around farm animals, so this was a treat. Besides all the cool Amish stuff (stick around for the house tour), it was nice to feed goats, be up close and personal with chickens and turkeys, and be sneezed on by a cow! Haha. The one room school house was very adorable.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ufninja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Tourist Attraction Worth Visiting”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is a real tourist attraction. The type that use to be along the roads of the U.S., where you could take a break from the driving and have an enjoyable visit and maybe learn something too about the area that you were passing through. We take all of our out of town visitors here. The house tour is very interesting for those wishing to learn more about the Amish way of life. The movie is good too. I also recommend the restaurant for a PA Dutch meal served family style. The restaurant is popular during the summer, so I recommend making reservations in advance.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank searchingamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice for Kids to see a farm”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The tour of the amish farm and house was nice for the kids to see what a farm house looks like inside. I understand the amish do not let people see inside their house so this was the best we could so our children.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amish Farm and House also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Amish Farm and House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing