We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Epic!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mt. Bear Lodge

Mt Bear Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mt Bear Lodge
Mt Bear Lodge in the Fall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
Mt Bear Lodge
Mt Bear Lodge in the Fall
Kitchen/Dining area
Dining Area overlooking deck
Game room
Living area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Outdoor hot tub
Outdoor picnic area
Wintertime at Mt Bear Lodge
Wintertime at Mt Bear Lodge
Mt Bear Lodge in Summer
Wintertime at Mt Bear Lodge
Fall view
Wildlife in winter
Wildlife
Wildlife
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Lake Harmony, Pocono Mountains Region, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Garrett E
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Worst Experience I Could Ever Imagine”
Reviewed 1 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I rented this house for a bachelor party. I was honest about that with the owner (Mary) up front as well as our plans for the weekend. She accepted the rental and I signed the agreement so I thought everything would be okay. Long story short this Mary character is a SCAMMER & her house is a rat hole. Once we got there, we found a cooler full of water surrounded by mosquitoes on the back deck. The grill was disgusting so our BBQ plans went out the door. The drain to the bathroom downstairs was clogged and as soon as we opened the back screen door, it fell off the track. Also the hot tub was so dirty, it was not usable. We ended up losing our ENTIRE security deposit because she charged us for screen door (that was already broken) and a pool cue that we had accidentally broke during our visit. The worst part was that she had somebody spying on us the whole time we stayed at the house. This individual took pictures of the cars parked and the trash we put into the bin. Her other excuse to keep our deposit was that we had '30 people' in the house. We were NEVER above the limit, we had 12 cars for 15 people because I had guests coming from all over the Tri-State area. PLEASE DO NOT RENT FROM THIS LADY. I promise you, you are going to get ripped off. It's overpriced to begin with and this lady is just beyond a bad/shady person. I don't know how she sleeps at night. She ripped off a bunch of grown men who just wanted to celebrate our friends upcoming wedding. She ruined our weekend and she will certainly ruin your vacation. Thanks Everybody.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Everything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Dear Garrett and Guest,
We will make our response short and brief. Yes, we rented to your bachelor?s party because we felt comfortable during our verbal and email communications before your arrival date. However, you did not comply with the community rules (quiet hours) and you breached our contract by allowing additional people into our property that were not listed on the contract and we had proof of this (don't need to go into great details to explain). However, there were broken items that were not reported to us before or after your stay. You also never called to let us know that there were issues with this property, as you stated in your review. For this reason, we requested Flipkey to hold your security deposit. Not something we like to do because we know that it would cost us a bad review, however, it?s okay because you gave us the opportunity to explain why we kept your security deposit.. We have been renting through Flipkey for about two years and this is the first time we had to request a full security deposit refund. We understand you were upset with the situation; however, we submitted a request to keep your security deposit based on the information we had and Flipkey made the final decision and we did not. We are truly sorry that you felt that your whole weekend was ruined because we kept your security deposit but I am sure you and your guest had a good time at bachelor?s party.

Thank you.

Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosRom...
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Epic!”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I can't understand how it is possible for this property to get less than a 4.5 star! and for that price!

I'm going to keep this baby short and sweet!

If you want a luxury stay, I advise you stay at the Ritz!

If you're looking for a great place for you to make your home for a weekend I highly recommend this place. It has a "Home sweet home" feeling as soon as you walk in. The only little hiccup was the grill was dirty.. which didn't bother me because i still would have gave an extra scrub : ) The transaction with the owner was seamless. They accommodated our pets. We spotted a bear and a pack of deers within 15 minutes of the stay. Are you kidding me?! C'mon!

WILL REPEAT NEXT SUMMER!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views!
Liked least: The fact that
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for renting our home. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. We welcome you to come back any time you need a getaway in the Poconos!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The bathrooms, the beds
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
I would like to address your issue of the bathroom tub clogged. This problem was reported late Saturday evening and you requested that someone come in early Sunday morning at 8 a.m. to fix it. We had someone there at 8 a.m. sharp to fix the problem. However, the renter said, that it was taking too long to fix and dismissed the repair service. In reference to the leak on the first floor bathroom the service person ran the shower for 10 minutes and there was no leak coming to the downstairs bathroom. We can only assume that either an adult or child taking a shower must have left the shower curtain outside of the tub causing it to leak water to the downstairs bathroom. Please note we have rentals properties in Lake Harmony for over 25 years and we have had positive and negative reviews in all of them. We cannot please all our renters because every renter has different expectations but we are accommodating and respond to any issues they are having in our homes. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the Lake Harmony community, and yes, it is a beautiful area to vacation all year around. I wanted to thank you for renting our home and for posting your review with Flipkey.

Regards,

Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The quiet neighborhood and the view.
Liked least: That our vacation wasn't longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
I was happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our home and also enjoy the beautiful Lake Harmony community. It is a great area to enjoy all year around. Thank you for your review on our property, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Maine
Reviewed 21 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our home. During the time you came to the house, there was a record-setting snow storm that we had not seen the likes of since 1980. This storm paralyzed the entire Northeast, including the Poconos. The forces of Mother Nature cannot be stopped. You were offered a refund that was refused. We did respond and sent personnel, within 20 minutes to evaluate the snow, which had just been cleared at 3 a.m. that morning. The maintenance personnel also returned the following morning to see if there were any problems. You stated there weren't. Most of the vehicles in your group were not four wheel drives which created another problem. A four wheel drive is needed when driving in that much snow, especially in the mountainous terrain.

We were not notified of any of the additional problems you have noted: cleanliness of home, water leaking, electrical and hot tub. For the record, this home does not have a basement. Had we been notified of the additional problems you were experiencing, we could have sent our staff to address the issues. Please note every rental home in Lake Harmony is inspected annually by the Kidder Township. If our home were in the condition you stated, we would not pass inspection. This home is rented every weekend and we have never had this type of complaint.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing