We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Log Cabin Lodge and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jones Mills
Mount Desert Island, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

First of all, this is not a lodge or a suite. It's a motel dressed up in a log cabin motif. That being said it's not half bad. We stayed in room 201. I reccomend staying on the 2nd floor because they have valuted ceilings-not sure if the gorund floor does or not. The walls were this, we could clearly hear the family next door. But the room was pretty nice for a motel. Wood everywhere, with a fridge & microwave. If you are coming to visit Idlewild then their package deal is good. The continental breakfast is average.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beach L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    48
    24
    6
    12
See reviews for
42
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed in a private suite with a jacuzzi. The prices are very reasonable if you are a seasoned traveler. As a matter of fact, I live in the D.C. metro area and rooms in a regular hotel without a jacuzzi here are more expensive. The decor is wonderful, makes you feel like you are outdoors :) This place is a nice little getaway and the animal park on property makes it all more fun! The staff, especially management are very friendly and I did not have any complaints. We stayed 4th of July weekend and could see 3 different cities' fireworks from the parking lot, it was amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenkawuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colliers, West Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We have made this a family tradition for the summer. This time, I made the mistake of planning an early check in and although the cabin was not ready, the staff called all the housekeeping they could to focus on our cabin so we could get in quickly. Couldn't ask for better service.

We stayed in Cabin 160. This cabin has 4 bedrooms that are always clean, the beds are always comfortable. They provide Bath & Body Works toiletries. It is quiet here, although this cabin sits right along the road, none of the bedrooms face the road, so there is no traffic noise. Having a TV in each bedroom is a nice feature not found in many cabins. The hot tub is always a plus! There is a washer and dryer in this cabin so you can go home with clean clothes! The kids enjoyed the ping pong table and fuseball table. The bigger kids enjoyed the pool table. The kitchen is big, we had 16 for dinner one night and there was plenty of room. There's a short table in the living room so that made a nice place for the smaller kids. There are plenty of hideaway nooks to read a book or take a nap. Even the day it was rainy and we had to stay inside we found things to do with the board games.

I always travel with certain favorite cooking items. But if I had need of an extra pot or cooking sheet, the front desk is willing to check other cabins. There is a sufficient amount of cookware, even a slow cooker, but don't hesitate to ask if there is something you need.

Downsides to this cabin. Occasionally we smelled cigarette smoke, which I assume was coming from the cabin above us (Over the master bedroom). It wasn't strong enough to make a fuss about but for those sensitive to smoke, you should beware. I believe it's no smoking in all the cabins anyway so if this was reported, I'm sure the offenders would have been asked to stop. There is no dishwasher here. The master bedroom has a vent that is noisy, but actually that's more of a positive because it drowns out any noise and doesn't interfere with sleep. The windows are dirty, but they are also high up and facing the road so it would be hard to keep them clean. The washer makes a racket when on the spin cycle so throwing a wash in before going to bed may not be advisable.

If you stay, make sure you check out Caddieshak, which is a bit run down, but really nice for toddlers or elderly who may find Idlewild too taxing. The zoo behind the gift shop at Log Cabin is nice. And this year we added Seven Springs to our list of things to do and were not disappointed! We also go to Laurel Hill State Park and walk the tram road trail to the waterfall. Nice easy walk for ages 4 to 63. (that was the range of our group)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whisperingnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harleysville, pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I read the reviews after I purchased my suite for 1 night-- that was a MISTAKE!! There were reviews from 2010 saying there were bugs, which I assumed by now would be cleaned up-- boy was I wrong at 3AM when there were bugs crawling in the bed, and then again when I went to the BR (since I was up) and had to kill the bugs all over the Bathroom floor (don't worry- there were more in the morning to kill too..) I had to even sleep w/ my head under the blanket b/c something was swarming around us. Not even to mention there was a black streak at the bottom of the white sheets like something had been drug across the bed.... it was disgusting!!! I couldn't wait for the night to end so we could move on. Then when we told them the problems they just smiled politely and said :sorry, oh sorry" Would have been better off in a tent next to a river!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jyt4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Our family was looking for a fun place to stay while enjoying all the things to do in the Laurel Highlands. We stayed in one of their 3 bedroom suites & regular rooms. They were very comfortable and we loved the added amentities in the suite. What a surprise to have a jacuzzi in our room, as well as, a pool table, fireplace and laundry facilities. We save a lot of money cooking our own meals with the full kitchen. This was perfect for all of our needs and will recommend this place to all our friends. A plus was the animal park located in the same complex. The kids just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trjbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jones Mills
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Donegal
8.7 km away
Foggy Mountain Lodge
Foggy Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stahlstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
23.8 km away
Hampton Inn Somerset
Hampton Inn Somerset
#2 of 12 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Somerset
22.4 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Latrobe
35.7 km away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Log Cabin Lodge and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Log Cabin Lodge and Suites

Property: Log Cabin Lodge and Suites
Address: 288 Route 711, Jones Mills, PA 15646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Jones Mills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jones Mills
Price range (per night): $97 - $146
Hotel Class:2 star — Log Cabin Lodge and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Log Cabin Lodge & Suites is located near 7 Springs and Hidden Valley Resorts in the heart of the Laurel Mountains. We are more than a typical franchise chain or family inn; the lodge is constructed of white pine logs by local craftsmen and provides a special flavor of the Laurel Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Log Cabin Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log Cabin Hotel Jones Mills
Log Hotel Jones Mills

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing