We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were very disapointed and won't be back.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angourie Rainforest Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We were very disapointed and won't be back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Nice area.
Close to town shops and sea.
Grounds nice- tennis courts, lovely swimming pools etc
Nice food. Not cheap , but worth the price. No tablecloths.
Accomodation unfortunate.Faced onto back of Villa. No windows either side-very dark. Lights have to be on all the time. Carpet worn out and needed replacing.Lounge not cleaned-had to ask for one end of lounge to be covered with a cloth. They offered to move us but we didn't feel like packing up and moving. Virtually no cleaning over 5 days. Towels changed a couple of times. Bins not emptied. Screen door had no control when closing. No instructions for kitchen implements. No table and chairs indooors-only out on the deck and too big to bring inside. Had to sit on lounge to eat everything. Nowhere to put luggage. No broom. No where to put clothes in bathroom while showering. No bathroom extractor.

Room Tip: Ask what and where the room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neededabreak42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    158
    69
    17
    15
See reviews for
95
193
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

lives up to it's rep for surfing, resort was good, with nice bungalows even though not in the best location
Bit worried about bugs with al the gardens etc

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andersandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

This was a lovely place for a family. Spacious, comfortable, clean, private with heaps to keep the kids busy. This was the kids favourite place during our trip away. A lovely location with lots of greenery. Cabins have privacy as well as everything you need to have a comfortable stay away. Lovely

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMontymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

I stayed one night with my husband and teenage son having see the enticing bill boards along the highway where it looked clean, relaxing and of a good standard. This advertisement is misleading! We arrived late afternoon and they had a free two bedroom chalet unit available. As we had been driving all day we accepted sight unseen but as we opened the door the musty damp smell hit us. The furniture was very dated, especially the flowered 3 piece suite and the whole place was a cross between a caravan and the shed somewhere you keep the garden furniture. The floor needed a good sweep and when my son moved his bedside table to plug his laptop in he said it was full of cobwebs and dirt. The kitchen area was also dated and the oven was very old and lit by gas! The bathroom was no better with a dodgy shower and dated fittings. The flowered quilt on the bed also smelled of damp though the bed itself was surprisingly good. All in all I couldn't wait to leave first thing in the morning in search of a nice clean and modern hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrissieSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassopolis, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

My Mom and I stayed at the Angourie Resort for 5 nights in late March. We stayed in villa 5, a two bedroom. We were visiting friends who have a house in Angourie and this was really our only option. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't great by any means. It needs some revamping. Let me start by saying the good...
1.The location. It is just a short drive to the beaches, restaurants, shops in Yamba or Angourie.
2.It's quiet and secluded.
3.The Villas are clean, large & some what private.

The bad...
1.The bedrooms were designed like a camp, one room had a queen bed and the other had a twin and a bunk bed type with a full on the bottom and twin on the top. Not ideal for two couples.
2.The shower heads in both showers sprayed everywhere and stung the skin. We never felt like we had a good shower the whole time we were there.
3.I know this may not matter to some, but they did not have bar or food service outside by the pool area. You had to go to the lobby area to order and then they would give you a number and bring it out but It sometimes seemed like we were bothering them.

We went to the spa one morning and each had a massage and body scrub with a light lunch and champagne included. The massage was good but the body scrub was just ok. It was reasonably priced at $205 each, so for the price I can't complain too much.
We ate at the restaurant the first night and weren't all that impressed. We found much better food at the local places uptown in Yamba.

All in all it was an ok place. I can see how it would be ideal for families with young children but if I were to return to the area, I will probably look into somewhere else a little more up to date.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rckstar134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
2.0 km away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
2.1 km away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
1.3 km away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#6 of 11 in Yamba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.6 km away
Gateway Lifestyle Yamba Waters
1.7 km away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angourie Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angourie Rainforest Resort

Property: Angourie Rainforest Resort
Address: 166 Angourie Rd, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia (Formerly Australis Angourie Rainforest Resort)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Price range (per night): $150 - $267
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angourie Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angourie Rainforest Resort located in Yamba, New South Wales is a coastal oasis adjacent to the sand dunes of pristine Flat Rock Beach, between the famous Angourie surf beach and the village of Yamba - voted the #1 Town in Australia. Multi-award winning 4.5 star Angourie Rainforest Resort nestled beside 600 hectares of open forest containing remnant littoral rainforest, is an exclusive eco-friendly retreat. The resort offers a uniquely Australian holiday experience for the professional family, couples and the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Angourie Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angourie Hotel Yamba
Angourie Resort Yamba
Angourie Rainforest Resort Yamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing