We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Home Forge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Inn at Jim Thorpe(Jim Thorpe)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahoning Inn(Lehighton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunny Rest Lodge(Palmerton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Penn Terrace Motel(Beaver Meadows)
View Hotel
Pine's Motel(Tamaqua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
33
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstuffed french toastwoodland suitestained glassclose to townmobile homeevery cornerwhole thingdowntown jim thorpegracious hostsbed and breakfastb boff the beaten pathmemorable experiencethoroughly enjoyed our staymy husband and iminute driveplace to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2011

I want to share an excellent experience we had this weekend at Hill Home Forge B&B in Jim Thorpe, Pa Our host and hostess went above and beyond to give us the weekend we were looking for. The rooms and grounds were very well maintained. My friend is a kind of neat freak and she was not uncomfortable at any point in our stay.

The breakfast prepared by innkeeper Eileen was absolutly delicious and fresh and the menu would probably satisfy anyone. The beds were highly comfortable and the linens and towels were "like new". The rooms and the inn are decorated with art created by Eileen and Nic the Innkeepers. The art is interesting but not too intrusive or overwhelming. Nic does offer a tour of the complex and he shows you how he creates his fine works. Eileen has a very nice line of artistic jewelry but feel no pressure to buy if you choose not to.

I have been to at least 20 B&B's and this one ranks in my top 5. Well worth it and you will probably feel inclined to return. We will !!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Loved the food, best breakfast I have had at a B & B. Located just far enough away to avoid crowds and noise, yet set in a peaceful wooded area. Nic and Eileen were very knowledgable and helpful in every way. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubsfan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful weekend in Jim Thorpe and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hill Home Forge.

The good:
1. We stayed in the Woodland Suite and loved it. Clean and a really good value for two New Yorkers used to paying exorbitant prices. It was great to have a separate living room with a fridge, microwave and place settings.

2. The house and grounds are beautiful and clean (in terms of decoration as well as actual cleanliness). We checked out a lot of other inns in the Poconos that either seemed musty or overly "frilly" -- this one was just right.

3. We appreciated that there was bug spray available to us on the porch!

4. The location -- we were able to take a short 2-mile run down the Switchback Trail to Mauch Chunk Lake where we rented a boat and sat on the beach. It's also very close to town (less than 2 miles), but far enough away to feel secluded and quiet. (I was extremely surprised to read the review below that referred to Flagstaff Road as a "busy road." It was not at all, in our experience.)

5. Proximity to local attractions -- in one weekend we toured the jail, went to a drive-in movie, ran on the trail, rented a boat, sat on the beach, and toured a coal mine, still with enough time to drink wine on Nic and Eileen's porch :)

6. Small size -- there are only three rooms, so it's nice and quiet and there are always pretty things to look at.

7. Breakfast was delicious! We had the apple French toast and the omelet. The home fries that come with the omelet are nothing short of amazing, and the fresh fruit was really tasty, as was the organic toast.

The not so great (the only reasons I'm subtracting a star):
1. We pre-selected our breakfast from a menu of three choices the night before, and my husband did not get what he ordered. He ended up eating it anyway because he felt awkward saying something, but as we were the only guests eating breakfast at the time, it seemed strange they couldn't get it right.

2. This is a matter of personal preference, but sometimes the friendliness and personal attention of innkeepers can be a drawback. We're reserved people and were looking forward to a quiet breakfast where we could read, but Nic and Eileen ended up making conversation with us both mornings. (We're not reserved enough to be rude and send them away!) It was obvious that Nic and Eileen both take great pride in Hill Home Forge (as they should!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Our stay at Nic and Eileen's was amazing. Their hospitality was the best experience. Their B&B is extremely clean, comfortable and very relaxing. Stayed in the "Loft", and it was beautiful. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I highly recommend their B&B, and will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa0328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

This was the last B&B in a series we stayed in during a week-long biking vacation. When we drove in the driveway, we knew this place was different. The drive is marked by a metal sculpture man holding the B&B sign, and it gets more interesting from there.

The house, which started as a trailer, has been expanded to at least seven times its original size. I don't think there is a conventional room in the building. There are artistic details, stained glass, metal sculpture and more in every room. We stayed in a suite with a large bedroom, living room with small kitchen and dining room table, and a bathroom. It was comfortable and private.

The owner was happy to show us his studio and the types of work he does, which is incredibly varied. We came to bike on the Lehigh river gorge, but the house is worth staying in just for itself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews