We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, a perfect getaway!”
Review of DeFeo's Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DeFeo's Manor B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2012

After our first visit to DeFeo's in 2010 to celebrate my birthday or our anniversary, we loved the entire Jim Thorpe experience so much (the B&B being the clincher!), we made a vow to visit Ellen and Richard and staff Kathy once a year. Well, the clock was ticking as 2011 was coming to a close, but made it in time to enjoy a festive Christmastime celebration. Once again, the accommodations couldn't have been any better, nor the DeFeos any more charming. The care they to take to make everything perfect and their personal attention to our needs while visiting the town are what has Jim Thorpe and the Manor our number-one gotta-get-to destination. We're looking at our calendar to book our 2012 visit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank litchick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2011

We have visited Jim Thorpe many times over the years.It is a quaint,tranquil step back -a place to forget the frenzy of everyday life.This was our first visit to The DeFeo manor and it did not disapoint.It is a beautiful Victorian home which comes complete with the DeFeo's .We found them both entertaining and informative. The little" extras"like a delicious breakfast served in our room and our evening of conversation and wine and a personal tour made this trip special.Kathy made sure our room was perfect and well stocked and added some extra local color! We plan to return as often as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The moment we stepped into DeFeo Manor B & B we knew this was no ordinary place to stay. From the warm hospitality of Richard and Ellen, to the intricately placed artwork and antiques, to the overall ambiance, we were immediately relaxed and quite honestly, speechless. The Victorian charm of the house and our suite overlooking Broadway of Jim Thorpe was superb, and we enjoyed breakfast right in our room with a view of horse drawn carriages and breathtaking mountain views. Richard and Ellen provided plenty of special "extras" you really can't find anywhere else, and Kathy also took excellent care to make sure we were comfortable and our stay was a memorable one.

Room Tip: The suite is worth the little extra you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacy297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We've been coming to Jim Thorpe for years. Always enjoy the town and its people. We were fortunate to discover DeFeo's Manor last year. Have now stayed a total of 3 times, and have found each stay even more enchanting than the last. The owners Richard and Ellen and staff Kathy, have made us feel like members of their family. Their hospitality and exhuberance have made each of our visits special from viewing the St. Patrick's Day parade on the private balcony, to Richard giving us a private tour of his upstairs Art Studios, we have truly enjoyed the local ambiance. Delicious breakfasts served in your room with a great view of the town are unsurpassed. We will definitely be back for years to come!

Room Tip: The quaint Suite with the best view in town, rocking on the front porch watching the town go by, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poconoprincess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

To anyone planning a trip to Jim Thorpe- Stay at DeFeo's Manor! Richard and Ellen are the most welcoming, hospitable, and pleasant inn keepers I have ever stayed with.
The Manor is a beautiful building, and the rooms are spacious, well-furnished, comfortable and clean.
My husband and I stayed in the Suite, which offers the best view of Jim Thorpe's main street, Broadway, from the breakfast area. A continental breakfast was brought to our room each morning.
We felt very at-home with the DeFeo's, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Suite offers a wonderful view of the town's main street, Broadway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joppy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.3 km away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
657 reviews
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
6.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
62 reviews
0.2 km away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeFeo's Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeFeo's Manor B&B

Address: 5 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1931
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $153 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeFeo's Manor - is in the heart of historic Jim Thorpe, within convenient walking distance of all shops, galleries, museums & restaurants. We're across the street from the Opera House. We offer an adult getaway B & B, for couples and singles, with a guest Suite and the Blue room, in our Queen Anne Victorian home, built circa 1880. Both rooms have cable TV & VCR, free wireless internet access, a refrigerator stocked with juice, water, jams and butters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Defeo`s Manor Hotel Jim Thorpe
Defeo`s Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing