We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons.”

Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf
Ranked #22 of 51 Restaurants in Woy Woy
Price range: AU$10 - AU$60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A merry old seafood joint in the best little town on Earth called Woy Woy, sitting on a jetty on Brisbane Water on the beautiful NSW Central Coast. A seafood market, take away fish & chip shop and a killer laid back restaurant. Come for a very very very casual dining experience surrounded by pelicans, boats & mangroves. Bring a smile, leave your pretensions at the door and enjoy some of freshest and most delicious seafood you'll ever eat! We're not fine dining, we're bloody good fish & chips on the water with beautiful wines to match. We look forward to seeing you at the Wharf.
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Positives. The setting was lovely, the two young men who served us (waiter and barman] were very friendly and welcoming, food was delicious.
Negatives. While I do think their 90 minute booking limit is a reasonable time to enjoy a two course meal, it is dependent on the restaurant not causing delays so you do get your full time to enjoy your meals.
It took 10 minutes to be taken to our table. (The waiter actually said “Are you still waiting to be seated?) We had literally just finished our entrees - my sister was still in the process of putting her fork down - when our mains arrived. Since our entree dishes were still all over the table there was no where to put the mains, so they were taken back to kitchen while we waited for someone to clear the table.
After 10 minutes my sister went and asked if this could be done, and the waiter came and took away the dishes. We then waited another few minutes for the mains.
To be fair, the mains had been freshly cooked, not left sitting getting cold during this wait, and they were very good.
By the time we’d finished our mains, our 90 minutes were up, but we hadn’t had coffee. There were by then a few empty tables so I went to the bar, pointed out the time issue and asked if we had time for coffee. The barman checked the computer and said yes, we could.
I’d just returned to the table when an older woman, possibly the manager, came up and told us that our time was up and we’d have to leave. I told her that I’d checked with barman if we had time for our drinks and he’d said we did. She quite aggressively replied “Well, he shouldn’t have”. But she agreed that we could stay long enough to drink them. She returned a few minutes later and said we really had to leave as there were people waiting.
When we left there were still empty tables so we couldn’t see why the need to rush.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MargieMac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

We were visiting family from the UK and had arranged to go to this restaurant for lunch as a special treat.
We arrived 45 minutes early and asked if we could have a drink whilst we waited for our table.
This was clearly a massive inconvenience to the staff who were visibly irritated by our request.
Despite the terrace having plenty of room we were told we'd have to sit as 2 separate groups. We were catergorically told that moving 3 stools approximately 3 metres was 'against the restaurant rules'
On booking the table online we were told that there was a minimum $40 spend per head - which seemed a little excessive. But we assumed this must mean that portion sizes and quality were exceptional. We were wrong!
6 of us ordered fish & chips.. what came to the table could have easily been mistaken for a children's meal!
Basic presentation and measly portions.
Tasteless frozen chips and small badly battered (soggy) fish goujons.
A completely underwhelming and disappointing experience.
Don't bother.
If you want a great meal the area - Gnostic Manor, The Bay View or The Box on the Water will not let you down.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Liesje T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Food was delicious
Service was friendly
Not inexpensive but don’t try to be, for the quality of the seafood worth the price.
Very enjoyable

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank OnAir62916963636
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 December 2023

A visitor from the UK I visited here with 2 friends. We were sat at a lovely table with a wonderful view. The staff member was friendly and explained the ordering system. We ordered the fish and chips and the seafood platter for 2. A garden salad and some water for the table and some drinks.
The water was room temperature so a little disappointing.
The fish and seafood platter were good but the chips were a funny yellow colour which maybe I'm not used to being from the UK but they were not pleasant. The oysters on the platter were on the small side but everything else tasted good (bar the chips on the platter)
The sauces that accompanied the food really let the side down. They tasted cheap and nasty.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Twofriedeggswithfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Foodservice was terrible! (4) people ordering (5) entrees for (3) and 1 diner ordering a fried swordfish and chips main. All entrees came quickly but the main fish meal came out grilled (not fried as per the menu sighted) and it arrived when everyone else were near finishing their meals despite a request to chase up the one outstanding order! The waiter was also removing finished meals whilst my main was being consumed! A disaster. We were introducing our ‘foodie’ friends to the restaurant but none of us will be returning (the cook did apologise but quite frankly, not good enough) Business is tough - the owners would not be happy with this sub standard delivery.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Woy Woy, New South Wales
 
Woy Woy, New South Wales
Daleys Point, New South Wales
 

Been to Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.