We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodservice was abysmal -”

Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf
Ranked #22 of 49 Restaurants in Woy Woy
Price range: AU$10 - AU$60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A merry old seafood joint in the best little town on Earth called Woy Woy, sitting on a jetty on Brisbane Water on the beautiful NSW Central Coast. A seafood market, take away fish & chip shop and a killer laid back restaurant. Come for a very very very casual dining experience surrounded by pelicans, boats & mangroves. Bring a smile, leave your pretensions at the door and enjoy some of freshest and most delicious seafood you'll ever eat! We're not fine dining, we're bloody good fish & chips on the water with beautiful wines to match. We look forward to seeing you at the Wharf.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Foodservice was terrible! (4) people ordering (5) entrees for (3) and 1 diner ordering a fried swordfish and chips main. All entrees came quickly but the main fish meal came out grilled (not fried as per the menu sighted) and it arrived when everyone else were near finishing their meals despite a request to chase up the one outstanding order! The waiter was also removing finished meals whilst my main was being consumed! A disaster. We were introducing our ‘foodie’ friends to the restaurant but none of us will be returning (the cook did apologise but quite frankly, not good enough) Business is tough - the owners would not be happy with this sub standard delivery.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

We are locals and have eaten here many times. I find it so disappointing every time I visit - hoping it will be better as this place has so much potential. The food offering is over priced - no 2 ways about that. We booked a table for 6.45pm on a Saturday evening, we ordered our starters and drinks (via a QR Code), these arrived promptly just after 7pm and were fine (2 starters and 3 drinks = $100). Waiting staff were keen to take the menus from our tables and we told them on several occasions that we intended to order more food (we were trying to pace ourselves). Close to 7.25pm, we decided to order our next course only to be told “that is a problem as the kitchen is closed”!!! Imagine our surprise - no one had told us that the kitchen would close by 7.30pm on a Saturday night. The waiter checked with the kitchen who confirmed the fryers had in fact been turned off and they could only do oysters or cold prawns. As we’d already had ceviche - we didn’t want another cold meal. Thank you - we would move on. Soooo very disappointing. Come on Fisherman’s Wharf Woy Woy - you can do better. Make the most of the fantastic fresh produce you have (we’ve never had any issue with the fish we buy from your market shop - its first class), tweak your pricing structure and maybe you’d get more happy customers into your beautifully decorated restaurant to enjoy the lovey location.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2023

Great spot. But a $40 minimum spend, very ordinary food and less than ordinary customer service. An underwhelming experience. My third visit and won't be going back.

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023 via mobile

What a gem. We got the fishmans basket. Wow it was delicious. There was a bit of a wait for our food as they were busy. There’s a playground for children to have a play. There was plenty of seating.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Charmaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Very disappointing. When you are paying premium prices - $30 an entree and $50 a main - you would expect a decent level of customer service and experience. Nope not here. The experience was rushed and unpleasant, and the customer service lacking. They set the scene from the start - a long email you get sent after you book outlining all their rules. And it doesnt improve from there. The staff didnt seem to be enjoying their job. $50 mains were simply dumped on our table without any care who ordered it. Even at the local tavern the staff will have the decency to ask who ordered the 20 dollar snitty when they bring it out. And when staff did interact with us it was awkward - twice they came over during our meal to question the validity of our gift voucher we used (you have to prepay for everything), and another time to remind us that we had to leave soon as our alloted 90 mins was almost up. We got so frustrated with the drink service - we could see our (prepaid) drinks sitting on the counter for long periods - that we started getting up and getting them ourselves. Oh and you have to open your own bottles of champagne. My advice is to spend your hard earned cash elsewhere. Go to one of the many local cheap and cheerful restaurants where you will get a warm and friendly experience.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Woy Woy, New South Wales
 
Woy Woy, New South Wales
Daleys Point, New South Wales
 

Been to Woy Woy Fishermen's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.