We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Greek food, friendly and efficient service.”
Review of Ela Mesa

Ela Mesa
Ranked #2 of 51 Restaurants in Woy Woy
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 February 2024 via mobile

Haven’t visited restaurant since pre COVID- return visit.

Wednesday lunchtime, seated in courtyard under shaded umbrella, cool breeze off water.

Only three other couples in restaurant.

Water delivered to table (complimentary) upon being seated.

Friendly and very helpful service.

Entree, shared; halloumi with figs - delicious!

Mains; slow cooked lamb and sardine fillets - equally delicious.

Meals accompanied by a glass of wine and a genuine Mythos beer.

A very enjoyable lunch - recommended!

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

The food was amazing got the Greek feast but the service could have been a bit better. I had to go up and order a baklava by myself and took them ages to come up and ask what I wanted. Other than that restaurant was great and is a definite comeback.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Fletch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024

Good food and plenty however music too loud for conversation and despite requests to tone it down owner refused. For this reason my friends and I wont be back.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claire19CentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2023

Third time lucky...No!

This time my husband and I invited a female friend to dinner at this Greek restaurant. Jennie loves lamb so we didn't hesitate to order, passing on the entree just got some bread for the table. The slow roasted lamb dishes themselves were very nice the meat tender the sauce flavorsome but served with soggy chips as an accompaniment with nothing else seems very strange -we asked why not vegetables, is this a Greek tradition? Our waiter suggested a bottle of Greek white wine (not retsina), told us it was superb and would go nicely with our food choice. We found the wine to be both overpriced at somewhere over $60 a bottle and very forgettable. The menu remains stagnant, the decor out of date, there are no truly wonderful things to say about this restaurant, won't be back & sadly, that further narrows the food options on this part of the coast.

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BIGDAYOUT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed our lunch -- the John Dory was perfectly cooked and the lamb souvlaki was pleasingly medium rare. The venue was strictly no-frills, which was fine, but it was also rundown, which was not -- the table top was sticky and the overall feeling was rickety. Since the prices are a bit on the high side, management should be able to clean and spruce the place up without losing what they hope is its old-world charm.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank downeast4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ela Mesa also viewed

 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Woy Woy, New South Wales
 

Been to Ela Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.