We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay at the Ocean Front Motel”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Ocean Front Motel whilst travelling back to Canberra.

We stayed on the ground floor and it had a TV,a queen bed and separate single bed. There was a fridge, microwave and toaster.

Good things about this Motel:

We stayed on the ground floor and we certainly had unimpeded ocean front views.
It is a 10-15 minute walk to the town centre
The staff were very friendly
The shower was very good
A restaurant is attached to the Motel
Free parking, with some spaces in a secure area downstairs

The not so good things

The bathroom was very run down and needed a refurb
The free wifi was very slow and you needed a different code for each device
The TV remote had its batteries held in place by gaffa tape....

There is no doubt the rooms on the second and third floor would have better views.

As a side note, when the property says no smoking, it means everywhere....including your own balcony. You need to completely leave the place to have a durry

All in all, it was a clean room in a nice location.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mdh969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Spent a night in the ocean front motel. The rooms are old and tired. Decor hasn't been updated since it was built. Cracked floor tiles in the bath room and cabinets are chipped and need replacing. Even the remote for the TV is held together with duct tape. At $170 for the night it was a real disappointment. Carpet feels like you don't want to walk on it with bare feet.

It was clean and the view is awesome and sleeping with the sound of the waves was incredible.

Stayed: September 2017
2  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was smallish but nicely styled. What was amazing was our private deck and the outdoor spa bath on it. The ocean views were spectacular and the block out curtains worked well to cut the morning glare. Air con, large bath room- perfect couples escape. The onsite restaurant is highly recommended. We ate there both nights and used the guests deal : 2 courses +wine for $49pp.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lyndallmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Our ground floor room, which we requested, was large, convenient & comfortable.The bathroom is in need of some refurbishment but was very clean & the shower was excellent. Our room opened on to a pleasant outdoor area with a lovely sea view.
The upstairs rooms would have an even better view.
The secure, underground carpark was close to our room.
The hotel is within easy walking distance, along the beach & Marine Parade, to the main centre.
The WIFI was excellent. It was restricted to 300MB per day but the allowance seemed more than this.
The restaurant is quite expensive but a special offer to guests made our two course meal & glass of wine good value. The food was beautifully presented & really delicious.
The staff was friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

If booking here, and your budget can run to it, book a higher level room and one that is of the newer type. The older style rooms are a bit dated. The bathroom functional, dated but extremely clean. Shower water pressure is very good. The heating/cooling works worked well in our room. The beds were comfortable and the sunrises can be spectacular.

The breakfast option here tends towards the cereal by arrangement type. There was a microwave and kettle in our room. Also cutlery, mugs, glasses etc.

The adjacent restaurant is quite good, in fact one of the better to be found in this area.

There is ample parking on site, both outside and under cover.

In essence the views are what draws you to this place, and of course the perpetual sound of waves crashing on the shoreline, which never stops, even when the sliding doors are closed, can still be heard more gently.

The property is a short walk, along the road or along the beach and boardwalk, into town.

Free wifi is available per diem.

There is a laundromat on site.

Room Tip: The higher and more modern the better when choosing a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
12.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific
1.4 km away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 8 in The Entrance
215 reviews
11.8 km away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 8 in The Entrance
67 reviews
1.3 km away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
24 km away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 102 Ocean Pde, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range: $147 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Front Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a cliff face above the pristine rock pools, ocean baths and beautiful Entrance beach and only an hours drive north of Wahroonga in Sydney or south of Newcastle. We offer 31 3.5 star rooms, most with private balconies with panoramic ocean, beach and rock pool views. Some rooms feature an internal spa bath whilst others contain a spa bath or hot tub located on the rooms private balcony. Centrally located, we are a leisurely 15 minute stroll to the town centre or Toowoon Bay with many local attractions on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Motel The Entrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing