We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the views”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2017

If booking here, and your budget can run to it, book a higher level room and one that is of the newer type. The older style rooms are a bit dated. The bathroom functional, dated but extremely clean. Shower water pressure is very good. The heating/cooling works worked well in our room. The beds were comfortable and the sunrises can be spectacular.

The breakfast option here tends towards the cereal by arrangement type. There was a microwave and kettle in our room. Also cutlery, mugs, glasses etc.

The adjacent restaurant is quite good, in fact one of the better to be found in this area.

There is ample parking on site, both outside and under cover.

In essence the views are what draws you to this place, and of course the perpetual sound of waves crashing on the shoreline, which never stops, even when the sliding doors are closed, can still be heard more gently.

The property is a short walk, along the road or along the beach and boardwalk, into town.

Free wifi is available per diem.

There is a laundromat on site.

Room Tip: The higher and more modern the better when choosing a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blossom55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

This is an absolute gem of a hotel with stunning views, the friendliest staff and terrific location. Karen checked us in and she was welcoming, full of energy, full of information and basically a one-person Chamber of Commerce. We felt an immediate friendship and Karen was so thoughtful that when we were about to depart and dropped off our keys (she had stepped away from the office momentarily) she came out to the parking lot as we were driving off to say goodbye and ask us to return next year. Thanks Karen for being “way cool” and friendly. Apparently, this attitude is shared among all staff members as the housekeeper was as nice as she could be as well.

You receive all the amenities you need; the bed was comfortable and the screens door to the patio allowed for nice breezes! The views are simply amazing and the hotel is situated so that high winds will not spoil your vacation. The sounds of the birds in the morning was amazing! The sound of the water was amazing and the room is spacious and well maintained. Some reviewers have said the room was dated. I disagree. I found the bathroom to be a little dated but they make up for it with great amenities and powerful piping hot water. I found the rooms to be just fine. Look, you are paying for the view; you receive it and a spacious room with free Wi-Fi to boot.

The air conditioner worked well, the large patio was great to watch passersby on the path, and you can walk to the beach in about ninety seconds. The television did not have many channels and the internet provides limited data but when accessed, the internet worked very well. You receive both an indoor and outdoor table and chairs so you can enjoy the view during inclement weather. The location is terrific. You can walk to Blue Bay in minutes. The shopping center is a five-minute drive and I liked having a couch. The hotel has different levels and personally, I would book the first level and above because you receive a view of the water and the shore as opposed to just the water, although the beach level rooms provide huge grass patios.

If you want a brand spanking new hotel, updated bi-annually I am sure there is a Ritz Carlton that would happy to give you a room at $400 per night, but if you want comfortable clean accommodations, a friendly staff, a spacious room, a great location and a view which is to die for, look no further.

Room Tip: Levels One and Above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CHOCOOLATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

You would not say this hotel is modern BUT it is tidy, clean and welcoming and the ocean view from the good size balcony is terrific. Reception staff were very helpful and accomodating and although I could not log on to their WiFi system (which was very frustrating) they did not give up trying to help me connect albeit it did not happen . . . . . !!!! The bed was very very comfortable. The bathroom was old fashioned but the shower had good pressure and nice and hot. They cleaned the room every day which was a real blessing. While I could not connect to WiFi, I was able to use the phone free of charge - I think this was included as standard. There is a restaurant which I did not avail myself of but apparently it is very nice with great views of the ocean which only accentuates the ambience . . . . . I / We will definately stay there again as prices were reasonable and seeing as they gave us a voucher for a 10% discount for next time we stay it will be an easy decision . . . . I would recommend you stay here whether it be overnight or for an extended stay. By the way, I booked on line through Booking.com. although there are numerous booking sites.
Definately recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

We stay here regularly and love the location. Walking distance to beaches, pool and The Entrance town centre. Rooms are clean and quiet, and the staff are always friendly. Plenty of parking on site and on the street. Definitely a regular weekend getaway location for us.

Room Tip: Best rooms for the view are the first or second floors, although you will have to negotiate stairs t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SpaceyT2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

We stayed here recently and found the room comfortable although very dated. The room did have everything you need. Could do with a more comfortable pillows though. What excelled here was the views. We were on the first floor and the outlook was one of the best we have ever seen. Quite breathtaking. We did love it here for this reason alone but were disappointed that the price seemed to be for the views rather than the room quality.
May still return, just to sit looking at the water :)

Room Tip: All rooms have really great veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank climoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Entrance
1.4 km away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 9 in The Entrance
204 reviews
12.1 km away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#1 of 6 in Terrigal
1,078 reviews
11.8 km away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sapphire Palms Motel
Sapphire Palms Motel
#6 of 9 in The Entrance
64 reviews
1.3 km away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
1.5 km away
Jetty Motel
Jetty Motel
#3 of 9 in The Entrance
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around The Entrance

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 102 Ocean Pde, The Entrance, New South Wales 2261, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > The Entrance
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in The Entrance
Price Range: $140 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Front Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a cliff face above the pristine rock pools, ocean baths and beautiful Entrance beach and only an hours drive north of Wahroonga in Sydney or south of Newcastle. We offer 31 3.5 star rooms, most with private balconies with panoramic ocean, beach and rock pool views. Some rooms feature an internal spa bath whilst others contain a spa bath or hot tub located on the rooms private balcony. Centrally located, we are a leisurely 15 minute stroll to the town centre or Toowoon Bay with many local attractions on our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Motel The Entrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing