We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch”
Review of The Cowrie

The Cowrie
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Terrigal
Price range: AU$119 - AU$149
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Cowrie is dedicated to the ongoing support and growth of developing our menus strictly based on locally sourced and seasonally driven produce. This is also correlated with engagement within our local community, working together with local growers developing Australian honey, citrus, native herbs/spices and sustainable seafood. Our mission is to consistently build our connections with these passionate growers and bring that quality of product to the dining experience at the restaurant.
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

Just had a amazing lunch at the Cowrie the panoramic views are stunning from the restaurant.
We had lunch from the special menu $49 for two courses or $59 for three courses,
We had the pork belly for starters which was lovely followed by lamb very tasty and enjoyable for dessert we had the salted caramel ice cream with a peanut brittle. Class food at great prices with great views.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank keffg657
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2020

My husband and I have dined at The Cowrie on many occasions over the years and it never fails to impress. It has very pleasant views across to Terrigal Beach and is tucked away on the headland. We had lunch mid week so were able to access the set menu. Great value at $49 ahead for 2 courses. There were 4 entrees and 5 mains on offer as well as a range of tempting desserts. I had the special fish dish of the day-Trevally with asian flavours while my husband had the lamb shoulder. Both were delicious and came with a complimentary glass of wine. The salted caramel chocolate tart and the coconut panna cotta finished off the excellent
meal. The only negative is the limited parking in the vicinity of the restuarant. The Central Coast has many cafes and cheap eats but very few retuarants of the quality of The Cowrie. Thank goodness it has maintained its excellent standard.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2020 via mobile

There is a 2 ($49)or 3 ($59) course set menu or a` la carte. Service was not intrusive and on time. Main dishes were very well presented, looked ,smelt and tasted delicious. Cowra lamb shoulder & Bangalow pork belly. Sides of asparagus and chips with accompanied dressings. Desserts of passionfruit creme brulee, dark chocolate souffle were light and delicious. With 2x no alcoholic drinks and coffee $175.00. Parking is not great just 3 spaces in front, there is a side street adjacent. Not overpriced for what you get, meal was very filling not to mention delicious.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 88Dmac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Very sociable place, family friendly and food is great, variety of alcohol and party all night excellent experience

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank tootsm474
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2019

This definiely top range restaurant is where to go for that special occasion. The food is special, it is small and quiet, and the view over Terrigal Beach is wonderful.

One caution. Parking can be difficult, as can access

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Cowrie also viewed

Terrigal, New South Wales
 
Terrigal, New South Wales
Terrigal, New South Wales
 

Been to The Cowrie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.