We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
27
28
16
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
28
16
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamazing viewsoysterswine listlive musicgood luckchicken dishtwo nightsfriday nightlovely staffshort walkocean viewgreat spotbeersbrewerydeckbandaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Ten of us went for a meal there . Meals were okay but a bit expensive for ten very average meals. Had ribs but no wipes were provided. Won’t be rushing back there . It is a great location with nice atmosphere and views . Lovely sitting on the deck .

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundeck1959, Owner at Tathra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write - will pass your comments on to the kitchen. Serviettes should have been provided when you ordered your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I went when it was super busy just after Easter. The staff were run off their feet and the place was packed. The staff were fantastic and food hit the perfect note after a long drive. Family friendly, solos like me and friends will find this hotel a casual, relaxed feel.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundeck1959, Owner at Tathra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks for your review. Pleased you enjoyed your visit - Easter was a very busy time for us and we'll have a better idea what to expect next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Look.. I was a wild young guy stomping to Rose Tattoo and The Angels at "good ol Tathra Pub".. then winding our way back to Bermagui on miles of rutted dirt roads.
Nothing stays the same.. I get that.. and Tathra Pub needed to upgrade.
Bermagui Hotel has done the same. You will get those who vainly pine for "the old times".
The upgrade is great. Expansive, light, airy.. but boy, whatever company they hired to advise on acoustics need sacking. In musical terms the reverb is deafening..and I read that in many comments on here. Add a band and it hurts!
We came for food, and like most TAs I read previous comments prior.. including the bad.
Management answered postings, to their credit, and I read where "things are new and we are coming up to speed".
It was Easter..very busy. Girl taking orders had a list of unavailable items. The menu isnt extensive, so running out of chicken before dinner is a poor situation, given theres only one chicken dish.. a hamburger!
We ordered Snapper, Prawn Basket, Steak with Mushroom sauce and vegies.
Snapper.. well, bottom end of the scale of "Squire".. very, very small. Cooked well but lacking decent accompaniments.
Prawn Basket.. unusual Prawns (Im a coastie), pale, 6 in a "basket"..and a small amount of salad..(entree).
Steak.. asked for rare, asked 3x to make sure.. was medium at best..but fairly tough. Not good quality..but the SAUCE.. thick, black gelatinous. Im thinking powdered commercial? Had a weird sweetness that made no sense, with half dozen slices of mushroom.
Presentation was woeful.
Four pieces of thick zuccini and two pieces of broccolini hidden under the steak. Visually unappealing.
Was charged $92 for those dishes. Realized back home that didnt "add up".
Anyway, after the beating Tathra has gone through I hope Management take comments seriously. Trip Advisor can be a force for customers, and a boon for owners IF they get serious about issues.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Obwan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundeck1959, Owner at Tathra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lengthy review. Many people like to reminisce on the old days at Tathra and other hotels that were home to the big bands of the day. Sadly they've mostly closed up or are now dominated by gambling.

I am surprised at your comments on the accoustics - we spent a lot of time on it during the building process and have had many positive comments from patrons and musicians. Our consultants did suggest a curtain along the windows between the bar and dining room which we are still considering. It would be interesting to know where you were sitting.

Easter was incredibly busy - way more than we expected and the kitchen really struggled at times - it wasn't designed for those sort of numbers and we are looking at more food outlets for busy periods to take the pressure off and give our customers a better and more consistent experience. Our chef had to estimate food usage before Easter - we didn't get any deliveries until Tuesday afternoon. To give you some idea of food usage we went through 750kg of chips over the weekend. Having said that I will pass your comments on to our kitchen staff. Note that all our food prices (not drinks) had a 15% loading for the weekend - every day was a public holiday.

Reviews on TA do give some valuable feedback but not really enough people bother to write - the percentage of visitors to the hotel who write a review anywhere is miniscule, which is why we are in the process of designing our own survey that people can easily complete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a table for 15 ppl we order at 1 o’clock and had not got meals by 3 o’clock
Tad disappointed meals arrived cold as they were seen sitting on a desk out back but still served up once maître’d was made a where
3 children meals (chips) also 2hrs wait
Some entre came after an hour
Main meals were refunded
They need to get a capable controller that is not going to loose track of out going meals then have them served an hour later and expect patrons to accept them won’t be back

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundeck1959, Owner at Tathra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Les,

Thanks for taking the time to write. We are sorry your visit here was not enjoyable - it is always disappointing when one's expectations are not met.

The hotel reopened last November and we have been staggered by the numbers coming - far more than the busiest times before we closed for renovations. Easter was crazy - I never thought I'd say we had too many people in the hotel. The kitchen was not designed for the sort of numbers here on Saturday and Sunday. We have been talking about opening at least one more food outlet to improve our customer experience and hope to have something in place by next summer.

Even if you don't come back to the hotel Tathra itself is worth spending time in.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

I went there with 13 other people for dinner and we had a good night. The meals were better than the normal "Pub' meals and more like restaurant quality. That said you pay more for quality. Those who had steak said the meat had excellent taste and cut easily by the knife. The fish eaters were happy with the way their variety was cooked and oyster while small were excellent. The local ice cream was creamy and full of flavour.
The wine list was good and the general ambience fine. Service was quick and the cook knew his game on our night

Room Tip: Try the fillet steak
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JemoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sundeck1959, Owner at Tathra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

See you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews