We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Museum of Australia's Infantry Involvement”

Australian Army Infantry Museum
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Singleton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Museum of Australia's Infantry Involvement”
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We were part of a group having a guided tour through the museum. The commentary was expertly presented by a highly experienced WO whose passion and career was army. Our group were engrossed by the information which he provided as we progressed to each comprehensive exhibit. Each exhibit was displayed in chronological order of Australia's involvement from the second Boer War through to the current War against ISIL.
The museum is accessibility friendly and we would strongly advise joining a guided tour. Allow at least 2 hours for this visit. Parking is plentiful and a the Lone Pine Café and a gift shop are just inside the entrance. The entry cost is modest at $8.
Put this museum on your list of must sees in the Singleton area.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank JANDK2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This museum is done very well. Everything is set out well and easy to view.

It looks very professional and there are so many things to see there.

There is so much history to read any some impressive pieces of equipment to view.

The only things that i didn't like was that it was very dimly lit, but other than that I really enjoyed the museum.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A fascinating Australian history lesson”
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Interesting displays of uniforms, weapons and ammunition used by the Australian Infantry from its conception. Plenty of information to read to complement the displays to allow you to appreciate the conditions our soldiers served in throughout the history of the Australian Infantry. There is also a cafe at which we had an enjoyable light lunch plus a shop selling some military items & books.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank 932allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“infantry museum”
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Great educational museum on Australian Infantry history,
easy half day visit, followed by a meal and or coffee at the café,
really a must for anyone visiting the area, the new building is superb,
well done Army.

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
Thank boyd h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All it's made out to be ”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Just spent an hour going through the museum
Found displays to be very informative and displays where all perfect
Most museums just show this one explained well done
Don't go past the souvenir shop it's well worth the time

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Australian Army Infantry Museum also viewed

Singleton, New South Wales
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Singleton, New South Wales
 

Been to Australian Army Infantry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing