We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
6
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 7 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We have just spent 4 nights at Perisher and stayed at Aurora Ski Lodge. The lodge is small, cosy, clean and just right. The lodge manager Glen was on hand to meet us and show us around. Included in our rate was breakfast, including cooked and continental, while dinner was really restaurant class and the best lodge food we've had. There is also a bar that runs on a tab system, so its easy to have a glass of wine with dinner. The lodge is located close to the quad chair, and in good weather it would be easy to ski down from the door. The club is to be commended on their choice of manager, he really is the best we've ever come across- nothing was too much trouble, the lodge was always clean, and the food fabulous. Truly a great snow holiday option!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kym S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome, with a warm greeting from Glen.
Our room was spacious, clean and we were more than impressed.
Heads up if staying though, go for a light option for lunch because the three course dinner every night will be more than satisfying and leave you with a very full stomach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aurora and it won't be our last.

Chelsea and Michael

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chelsea t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for a long weekend at Aurora for a few days skiing abs had the most wonderful time. The family feel, amazing cooking by the manager Glenn and Lodge style accommodation within ski distance to lifts was just what we needed. I hope the owners know how valuable Glenn is because every meal was superb :) with only 18 people able to stay it meant for a really nice and friendly environment - everyone sitting in the lounge chatting away with a wine and cheese plates. Thank you for a lovely weekend, we will be back again for sure.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank andreaacton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My partner and I found Aurora online, and as most other accommodation was becoming unavailable due to the late booking, we decided it was worth the little extra money to stay on-snow - we had no idea just what that little extra would actually get us!

On our arrival, the Oversnow transport dropped us off right at the door and Glen - the lodge manager - came out and gave us a hand with our bags, and showed us around the lodge and left us to get settled in our room before dinner was served. The rooms are a reasonable size for on-snow accommodation, with a comfortable queen bed and a single bed in our room.

Guests are asked to fit their own linen (provided by the lodge) to save on housekeeping expenses. All very clean and neat, with an electric blanket provided on the bed. There was a small ensuite, with a good hot shower - very important! The walls are a little thin, so you can hear other guests in their rooms, but we found that after every day of skiing, everyone was out cold by 9pm or thereabouts - blissful sleep each night.

Meals are served in the lounge/dining room, with breakfast at 8am, and dinner at 7pm. Glen cooks amazing food and everyone helps to pass plates along the long table where all guests eat together. Dinner is a three course meal, with a soup for entree, a very generous main and simple but delicious desserts. Kids will get slightly different or smaller meals, and Glen was happy to modify meals for guests where possible.
The menu is set each afternoon, and also lists the breakfast item for the next morning. We always left the table perfectly stuffed with food.
Beer, Wine, Spirits and other non-alcoholic drinks such as juice, soft drinks and bottled water are available from a bar fridge with an honesty system for payment. Prices were very reasonable, with a good selection and plenty of stock.

Dinners every night were a pleasure getting to know the other guests and chatting about conditions each day and everyones accomplishments. Often the table is loud and with kids amongst the adults, hilarious conversation is common.

The loungeroom has three large lounges, a great fire for warmth, and a wide selection of books and boardgames, and some toys for kids. Downstairs is a games room and workshop, a very effective drying room and a large entry/dressing area just inside the lodge door for everyone to get ready to go outside.

The lodge is situated quite high on the hill at south perisher, and has a great view of Mount Perisher, parts of Front Valley through the trees, and towards the skitube and road to Smiggin Holes. When snow is good, you can ski to the Forester Quad, but the walk back up the hill can be a bit strenuous! Thankfully, there's a sauna in the lodge that is great for relaxing tired muscles!

Overall, our trip to Aurora was excellent - we felt safe and welcomed there the whole time. The other guests were mostly non-members like us, but a few long term members helped us learn the ropes quickly. Not a destination for those what want to be waited on hand and foot, but definitely a great location for families and couples who love the snow and want to be amongst other like minded people for their stay. The service, food, location and accommodation were all completely worth the price. We will definitely be back soon!

Room tip: Rooms are assigned - they're all close to dining and entrance areas, and all generally the same layout.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pipwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights, Glen the host was great and a very good cook
lots of kids games and an open fire next to the dinner table/lounge

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews