We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kypinc
Sydney, Australia

A super special snowy Spring stay

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Nov 2022via mobile
We stayed at Barakee Lodge for several nights with a large group of families from school to catch the last of the Spring snow. It was such a special trip thanks to the care and attention taken by Kylie, Darren & team. We had a 3 person room with ensuite which was perfect for our needs. The drying and storage facilities were excellent which set us up well to head out each morning. The shuttle trip to and from Perisher was reliable and efficient.

However, the highlight was the bar and restaurant! Breakfasts were always plentiful and delicious and the dinners were something else! Each night we had an amazing 3-course meal with one extra special buffet evening bringing together others from our party from the adjacent lodge.

All in all a fabulous stay and well worth the money:)

We look forward to returning!
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 Nov 2022
Hi Kypinc! We are so thrilled that you had a great time at Barrakee as part of the group booking. It was a fantastic weekend and a perfect end to the season. Our Kitchen Brigade work very hard to deliver amazing meals every day and will be so happy to hear your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you all back in Winter 2023!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Dining room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$599
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$599
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$634
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2022 via mobile

Excellent accomodation, staff, food and location,
We were greeted at ski tube by our wonderful hosts Kylie and Darren.
On snow transport to our beautiful lodge, rooms wonderful, 3 nights of amazing food and a great bar with fire place and music, all staff were amazing and made our stay extremely enjoyable.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pearceyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We had so much fun with you both :) We'll definitely pass your feedback on to our amazing team and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022

We recently stayed at Barrakee Ski-Lodge (on-snow lodge) for the first time. The hosts were fantastic, the rooms were clean, comfortable and warm! All towels and linen are provided which makes travelling up the mountain so much easier. The restaurant food was very tasty and the bar atmosphere really welcoming. Although the lodge is a short distance from the Perisher terminal, the owners have a free oversnow service that runs multiple times person day which is super convenient. We were personally greeted on arrival by the hosts, shown to our room and given a tour of the lodge. At all times we felt like this was a home away from home. We'll definitely be returning and do recommend this lodge to anyone travelling to Perisher as it has something for everyone.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh_Davidson_2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

We're so thrilled we hit the mark for you Leigh and glad it was worth the wait! We loved having you all visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2022

This small intimate lodge does such a great job at allowing children to have a fun time whilst still providing a cosy, convivial, chic environment for adults to enjoy pre dinner drinks followed by a beautifully presented, very high quality 3 course dinner each evening. The small but varied wine and drinks list met our needs (which is saying something as we are a bit fussy about wine!).Liked the Malbec and the Gavi.
The drying rooms and ski storage area works well and my son enjoyed the sauna.
The rooms are compact (bring limited luggage - you only need ski gear and something to wear in the evening) not luxurious but although basic the beds were comfortable, the room warm and provided all you need for a good nights sleep.
Barrakee,being 2.1km from Perisher center, provides oversnow transport - two runs in the morning and two in the afternoon. This worked well for us. The grandchildren had ski school in the morning, followed by lunch and some more skiing making the 3.45 return to Barrakee suitable for the little ones. On the couple of occasions that some of our party wanted to return earlier Hans Oversnow provides an efficient (if a little costly) taxi service. More experienced skiers can ski back to the lodge.
Skiing is not a cheap holiday and I thought that for a group of 7,
grandparents, parents and 3 children, Barrakee represented exceptional value for money, It was relaxed enough for the kids to thoroughly enjoy themselves but also provided great food, wine and atmosphere for the adults so that even the fussy old grandmother (me) had a great time!
Kylie, Darren and all of the staff were wonderful.
It is hard to describe but there is just something rather special about this lodge..
Our family are already planning to come back.

Date of stay: July 2022
Thank HMORGS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Oh Helen our whole Team so enjoyed having you and your beautiful family at Barrakee :) You are all part of our Barrakee family now and we're really looking forward to welcoming you home next Winter! Your kind review is just lovely and so touching. It's our Team and our guests that make Barrakee what it is. We think it's pretty special too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2022

An amazing stay! All the staff, and in particular Kylie, could not have been more accommodating for our stay with our 9 month old baby. They are very well set up for families and couples alike. The food and atmosphere were both excellent! We will be back for sure!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank brontiness17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for your sweet review Bronti! We think our Team are pretty special too and we loved having your lovely little family come and have adventures at Barrakee. We really look to welcoming you in future and watching your little one as they master the mountain :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

The host was inhospitable and my family and friends felt like we were a burden instead of been guest at the lodge

No fresh towels were provided the hallways dirty and rooms were not vacuumed and no Covid safe measures.
We felt like we were at a school camp instead of a family getaway overly priced and under delivered and the owner’s rude behaviour.
Only positive point the chief for dinner.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gmavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Apologies we were not able to ensure you had a pleasurable stay GMavro. We strive to exceed our guests expectations in every instance and take feedback very seriously. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hospitality and we are so sorry that we were not able to do this for you and hope you can find another Perisher accommodation that is a better fit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews