We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HMORGS1
Perth, Australia

Barrakee Highly Recommended For Family Ski Holiday, Just a Great Vibe.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 July 2022
This small intimate lodge does such a great job at allowing children to have a fun time whilst still providing a cosy, convivial, chic environment for adults to enjoy pre dinner drinks followed by a beautifully presented, very high quality 3 course dinner each evening. The small but varied wine and drinks list met our needs (which is saying something as we are a bit fussy about wine!).Liked the Malbec and the Gavi.
The drying rooms and ski storage area works well and my son enjoyed the sauna.
The rooms are compact (bring limited luggage - you only need ski gear and something to wear in the evening) not luxurious but although basic the beds were comfortable, the room warm and provided all you need for a good nights sleep.
Barrakee,being 2.1km from Perisher center, provides oversnow transport - two runs in the morning and two in the afternoon. This worked well for us. The grandchildren had ski school in the morning, followed by lunch and some more skiing making the 3.45 return to Barrakee suitable for the little ones. On the couple of occasions that some of our party wanted to return earlier Hans Oversnow provides an efficient (if a little costly) taxi service. More experienced skiers can ski back to the lodge.
Skiing is not a cheap holiday and I thought that for a group of 7,
grandparents, parents and 3 children, Barrakee represented exceptional value for money, It was relaxed enough for the kids to thoroughly enjoy themselves but also provided great food, wine and atmosphere for the adults so that even the fussy old grandmother (me) had a great time!
Kylie, Darren and all of the staff were wonderful.
It is hard to describe but there is just something rather special about this lodge..
Our family are already planning to come back.
Date of stay: July 2022
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Oh Helen our whole Team so enjoyed having you and your beautiful family at Barrakee :) You are all part of our Barrakee family now and we're really looking forward to welcoming you home next Winter! Your kind review is just lovely and so touching. It's our Team and our guests that make Barrakee what it is. We think it's pretty special too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Dining room
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$595
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$595
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$688
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2022

An amazing stay! All the staff, and in particular Kylie, could not have been more accommodating for our stay with our 9 month old baby. They are very well set up for families and couples alike. The food and atmosphere were both excellent! We will be back for sure!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank brontiness17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for your sweet review Bronti! We think our Team are pretty special too and we loved having your lovely little family come and have adventures at Barrakee. We really look to welcoming you in future and watching your little one as they master the mountain :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2022 via mobile

The host was inhospitable and my family and friends felt like we were a burden instead of been guest at the lodge

No fresh towels were provided the hallways dirty and rooms were not vacuumed and no Covid safe measures.
We felt like we were at a school camp instead of a family getaway overly priced and under delivered and the owner’s rude behaviour.
Only positive point the chief for dinner.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank gmavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Apologies we were not able to ensure you had a pleasurable stay GMavro. We strive to exceed our guests expectations in every instance and take feedback very seriously. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hospitality and we are so sorry that we were not able to do this for you and hope you can find another Perisher accommodation that is a better fit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2022

Cannot say a bad word about Barrakee. The owners and staff were so wonderful! We had the best stay and cannot wait to start organising our next snow trip. Nothing was too much trouble. Was so refreshing to have dinner while the kids played in the toy room. Food was delicious too!! Huge thank you Kylie, Darren and staff!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank T9701NXtarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for your kind review T9701NXtarac :) We agree it's lovely to have some grown up time having a candlelight dinner while the kids have their fun in our games room! Just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Barrakee and we really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

After reading the reviews I thought we were in for a treat. That was not the case.

The lodge is rather dated and smells strange in the hallways. The rooms are absolutely tiny and look nothing like the pictures. The curtains in our room wouldn’t even close all the way, were falling off the clips and let the extremely cold air in plus they were extremely old. There was also no shower curtain (just the clips it normally hangs on) so the water sprayed all over the floor. The bathroom was miniature and very, very tatty.

The communal areas are alright but the old brown lounge has definitely seen better days. The vertical blinds are broken in this area so you can’t even open them all the way up to enjoy the view. The lodge feels like it was built 30 years ago and have never seen a lick of paint or a good deep clean.

With regards to the food, the adults food was nice but the kids food was horrid. One night they seriously gave our kids pork and fennel sausages and salad. Dessert is just ice cream and topping. They promote a hot buffet breakfast but it’s not what you would expect. Our kids were so disappointed that there were no pancakes.

Dinner is served at 7pm which is very late when you have been out skiing all day. Same goes for the kids being served at 6pm.

You can make yourself a cup of tea with a tea bag or make an instant coffee but if you want a cappuccino or a pot of tea with your breakfast then you have to pay extra. The kids can't make themselves a hot chocolate either.

With the amount of money you pay to stay, it would nice if a decent coffee each morning was included or even a pot of tea. Even if the first one was free and then you had to pay for extra, that would be appreciated.

It is promoted as ski in and out lodge but it is not suitable for beginners so don’t even think that is an option. It doesn’t matter that there is a Tbar close by as you can’t really walk or ski to it easily.

The staff are really lovely, especially Hannah the manager, but sadly the lodge is unimpressive overall.

We were very disappointed and won’t be going back.

Room tip: Don't stay here as a family.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gard051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

Firstly Gard051, thank you for taking the time to review Barrakee.
We are really sorry that we didn't hit the mark for you and just wanted to let you know that we take all feedback on board. We are always looking to make improvements and you've given us a good list to review and work through. We do hope that your next snow trip is more enjoyable and apologise that we weren't able to give you the experience that you expected.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Heartfelt thanks to Darren, Kylie, Hannah and their ever-helpful team for a wonderful, carefree stay on the snow. Services provided included over snow transport to and from the lodge, a welcoming reception, an après ski lounge with an open fire, canapes, a well stocked bar and friendly co-guests all followed by a sumptuous 3 course dinner. Congratulations to all at Barrakee and best wishes for the future.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyskier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

Thank you for your kind review Happyskier0
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Barrakee and I will pass your comments onto the Team who work hard to exceed expectations. We hope to see you again at Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews