We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shire Boy
Sutherland Shire, Australia

Inhospitable

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 July 2022via mobile
The host was inhospitable and my family and friends felt like we were a burden instead of been guest at the lodge

No fresh towels were provided the hallways dirty and rooms were not vacuumed and no Covid safe measures.
We felt like we were at a school camp instead of a family getaway overly priced and under delivered and the owner’s rude behaviour.
Only positive point the chief for dinner.
Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 Nov 2022
Apologies we were not able to ensure you had a pleasurable stay GMavro. We strive to exceed our guests expectations in every instance and take feedback very seriously. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and hospitality and we are so sorry that we were not able to do this for you and hope you can find another Perisher accommodation that is a better fit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Dining room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$496
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$496
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$701
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2022

Cannot say a bad word about Barrakee. The owners and staff were so wonderful! We had the best stay and cannot wait to start organising our next snow trip. Nothing was too much trouble. Was so refreshing to have dinner while the kids played in the toy room. Food was delicious too!! Huge thank you Kylie, Darren and staff!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank T9701NXtarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 24 November 2022

Thanks so much for your kind review T9701NXtarac :) We agree it's lovely to have some grown up time having a candlelight dinner while the kids have their fun in our games room! Just thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Barrakee and we really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

After reading the reviews I thought we were in for a treat. That was not the case.

The lodge is rather dated and smells strange in the hallways. The rooms are absolutely tiny and look nothing like the pictures. The curtains in our room wouldn’t even close all the way, were falling off the clips and let the extremely cold air in plus they were extremely old. There was also no shower curtain (just the clips it normally hangs on) so the water sprayed all over the floor. The bathroom was miniature and very, very tatty.

The communal areas are alright but the old brown lounge has definitely seen better days. The vertical blinds are broken in this area so you can’t even open them all the way up to enjoy the view. The lodge feels like it was built 30 years ago and have never seen a lick of paint or a good deep clean.

With regards to the food, the adults food was nice but the kids food was horrid. One night they seriously gave our kids pork and fennel sausages and salad. Dessert is just ice cream and topping. They promote a hot buffet breakfast but it’s not what you would expect. Our kids were so disappointed that there were no pancakes.

Dinner is served at 7pm which is very late when you have been out skiing all day. Same goes for the kids being served at 6pm.

You can make yourself a cup of tea with a tea bag or make an instant coffee but if you want a cappuccino or a pot of tea with your breakfast then you have to pay extra. The kids can't make themselves a hot chocolate either.

With the amount of money you pay to stay, it would nice if a decent coffee each morning was included or even a pot of tea. Even if the first one was free and then you had to pay for extra, that would be appreciated.

It is promoted as ski in and out lodge but it is not suitable for beginners so don’t even think that is an option. It doesn’t matter that there is a Tbar close by as you can’t really walk or ski to it easily.

The staff are really lovely, especially Hannah the manager, but sadly the lodge is unimpressive overall.

We were very disappointed and won’t be going back.

Room tip: Don't stay here as a family.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gard051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

Firstly Gard051, thank you for taking the time to review Barrakee.
We are really sorry that we didn't hit the mark for you and just wanted to let you know that we take all feedback on board. We are always looking to make improvements and you've given us a good list to review and work through. We do hope that your next snow trip is more enjoyable and apologise that we weren't able to give you the experience that you expected.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2021

Heartfelt thanks to Darren, Kylie, Hannah and their ever-helpful team for a wonderful, carefree stay on the snow. Services provided included over snow transport to and from the lodge, a welcoming reception, an après ski lounge with an open fire, canapes, a well stocked bar and friendly co-guests all followed by a sumptuous 3 course dinner. Congratulations to all at Barrakee and best wishes for the future.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyskier0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

Thank you for your kind review Happyskier0
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Barrakee and I will pass your comments onto the Team who work hard to exceed expectations. We hope to see you again at Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Disappointed is all I can say. The ski lodge and facilities look amazing and I’m sure the staff are wonderful, however we were unable to make our family skiing holiday (recommended not to go by Dr) due to our young son breaking his hand on the morning of arrival.

We contacted Barakee Ski lodge and advised the situation and have been informed that we will now for go all of our accommodation cost paid (close to $3,800) because we cancelled with in 60 days of arrival.

Whilst technically it would have been possible to still visit, what type of accommodation /holiday would it have been for a child to remain in his room for four days.

We indicated that we would be happy to transfer our dates to use between 2021 -2022 (a similar offering to what a covid hotspot recipient would receive)to which we were told “sorry no” and hope your child gets better.

Disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AdrianM4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

AdrianM4819 thank you for your review. We too were very disappointed that you weren't able to make it at the last minute due to your little one injuring himself before your trip.

Unfortunately last minute cancellations don't give us any time to rebook the room and at time of booking we do strongly recommend for guests to arrange travel insurance for their holiday for use in the event of a mishap or injury. Our Covid Cancellation Policy waives cancellation fees for guests who are impacted by Covid lockdowns and unable to travel due to Government restrictions, not for an injury I'm afraid.

Sorry that we were unable to assist you due further as we were not able to rebook the room with such little notice of the cancellation. Thank you again for your comments as we always take guest feedback into account to improve our services and policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Fantastic holiday, thanks so much for looking after us so well. See you next year. Fantastic food, comfortable rooms and truely wonderful staff. Staff willing to do anything to ensure we had every thing we needed

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank B295RCkarinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your review Karin! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews