We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
joan browning

A hidden treat

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2021
Heartfelt thanks to Darren, Kylie, Hannah and their ever-helpful team for a wonderful, carefree stay on the snow. Services provided included over snow transport to and from the lodge, a welcoming reception, an après ski lounge with an open fire, canapes, a well stocked bar and friendly co-guests all followed by a sumptuous 3 course dinner. Congratulations to all at Barrakee and best wishes for the future.
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
, General Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 17 Aug 2021
Thank you for your kind review Happyskier0
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your time at Barrakee and I will pass your comments onto the Team who work hard to exceed expectations. We hope to see you again at Barrakee.

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Dining room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$495
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$698
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2021

Disappointed is all I can say. The ski lodge and facilities look amazing and I’m sure the staff are wonderful, however we were unable to make our family skiing holiday (recommended not to go by Dr) due to our young son breaking his hand on the morning of arrival.

We contacted Barakee Ski lodge and advised the situation and have been informed that we will now for go all of our accommodation cost paid (close to $3,800) because we cancelled with in 60 days of arrival.

Whilst technically it would have been possible to still visit, what type of accommodation /holiday would it have been for a child to remain in his room for four days.

We indicated that we would be happy to transfer our dates to use between 2021 -2022 (a similar offering to what a covid hotspot recipient would receive)to which we were told “sorry no” and hope your child gets better.

Disappointed.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AdrianM4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 17 August 2021

AdrianM4819 thank you for your review. We too were very disappointed that you weren't able to make it at the last minute due to your little one injuring himself before your trip.

Unfortunately last minute cancellations don't give us any time to rebook the room and at time of booking we do strongly recommend for guests to arrange travel insurance for their holiday for use in the event of a mishap or injury. Our Covid Cancellation Policy waives cancellation fees for guests who are impacted by Covid lockdowns and unable to travel due to Government restrictions, not for an injury I'm afraid.

Sorry that we were unable to assist you due further as we were not able to rebook the room with such little notice of the cancellation. Thank you again for your comments as we always take guest feedback into account to improve our services and policies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

Fantastic holiday, thanks so much for looking after us so well. See you next year. Fantastic food, comfortable rooms and truely wonderful staff. Staff willing to do anything to ensure we had every thing we needed

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank B295RCkarinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 3 July 2021

Thank you for your review Karin! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. it was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2021

Thanks to the team here at Bararakee! This experince has been full of meaningful connections, laughs and an all round admirable execution of personalised and professional services. I do not make a habit of writing reviews unless I really mean them but this is exacltly the praise that this team deserves. You will not be disappointed staying here and if you have the opporunity to then seize it. I highly recommend it through and through. The dining is of very high calibre and the rooms are of excellent homeliness and warmth. Thanks Clay and Emma and their amazing team!

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank F6075BLdanielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 29 June 2021

Thank you so much for your review! it was an absolute pleasure to host your group and we look forward to having you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2020

This was our first time skiing in Australia. We chose Barrakee Lodge on a recommendation from a friend and we were not disappointed! The snow was perfect and we were keen to experience the slopes. Barrakee Lodge was perfectly situated, being nestled at the bottom of the North Face run with both a T bar and a chairlift only a few hundred metres from the front door. Skiing out on your own schedule is an easy option, otherwise there is morning and afternoon transport offered every day. The lodge is appealing both externally and in internally. The experience begins as soon as you walk up the stairs into the cosy communal area with beautiful log fire, setting the scene for the perfect ski holiday. We received an upgrade in our room and our accomodation was very comfortable and functional (even though we spent most of our time out on the slopes during the day).

After a hard day on the slopes we returned to the roaring fire, pre-dinner drinks and canapés served in front of the open fire. After the children's dinner at 6, it was the adults turn, were we were treated to an evening meal which would match that of any restaurant in Sydney.

Whilst the above ticked all the boxes, the best thing about Barrakee Lodge is the wonderful staff. From the General Manager Hannah, Supervisor Ellie and wonderful chefs you could not have asked for more. They have excellent customer service, guest relations and overall it felt like a home away from home. The owners of the lodge, Kylie and Darren were most accomodating and went to every effort to ensure the needs of each and every one of the guests was met. They go above and beyond.

I would highly recommend Barrakee Lodge to anyone looking to go on a ski holiday in Perisher Valley.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SorchaSiobhne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2020

As much as I want to keep quiet about Barrakee (so I can actually get a booking going forwards) I really have to give Darren, Kylie, Hannah and the team a great big thumbs up. We had a very friendly reception especially from Hannah and the team but also from the other guests. This lodge is warm and welcoming - slippers and Ugg boot are a must for the bar, you feel you are in your best friends home.

Kids eat separately so parents can have canapes with their pre-dinner drinks (heaven). Our kids loved the food and the games room. The adult dinner was like dinning out at a top notch resturant every night, it's a good job were were burning the calories during the day. Breakfast was suitably awesome as well.

There is a great kit/change room as you enter and ski gear is all sorted per room. The drying room means everything is dry and ready to go the next morning. The bedrooms are clean with a small but modern tiled shower/toilet. The sink and vanity is located in the room. Don't worry if you don't have a view, we never spent any time in the room and the view from the bar and lounge is great and far more sociable.

The lodge is just up from the North Perisher T bar which we used to launch our day's skiing and then we returned via The North Face run down. Although this is a "black" it isn't difficult (would be a red in Europe) and can be great fun finding new ways in-out of the trees back to the lodge. There's nothing like skiing right up to the door of the lodge. Alternatively, Darren will take you down to Perisher or the bottom of the interceptor at various times in the morning and do the reverse later in the day.

We were extremely lucky to book Barrakee at the last minute and enjoyed the off season pricing even more. This was probably due to a lot of their regulars not being able to make it up from Victoria and other places due to the COVID border closures. I am hoping we will be as lucky next year! We can't wait to visit again.

Room tip: No need to worry you will spend more time in the bar!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulsN3934CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews