We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
pcant70
Adelaide Hills, Australia

Beautiful lodge and wonderful staff in ideal location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Aug 2017
Barrakee is a beautiful lodge, with a warm and highly professional team closely located to North P ski lifts. The accommodation is very comfortable with lovely views, the food prepared by Peter and his team is sensational. The house staff are engaged, professional, and fun too!

A great place to stay to make the most of your Perisher experience.
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 Aug 2017
A big thank you pcant70 for such a fantastic review. We have a great Team at Barrakee who strive to make your ski experience enjoyable and stress free. Jesse, Lauren, Sarah and Mitch, under Terry's management, all go the extra mile to make it happen. Barrakee Ski Lodge, under the new ownership of Rick and Les Gosby, has never been in better hands!
Really happy you enjoyed the food so much. Peter O'Connor is a Multi Award Winning Chef and is being capably assisted this season by Chef Natasha Attard and Aprentice Mitchell Petite
Barrakee prides itself on exceptional food and service, so we really appreciated you letting us know we are hitting the mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Dining room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bar & Guest Lounge
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$666
  • Booking.com
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Our experience was absolutely amazing! Fantastic service, fantastic food, fantastic location. Will return with the family next time.
Congratulations Rick and Les on an amazing business! Your team and your attention to every detail is phenomenal!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank katherineblizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thanks Katherine B from all the Team at Barrakee we really appreciate your great review.
We look forward to seeing you back with all the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights was not long enough. This lodge was amazing, clean good sized rooms and the food was excellent. The owners, managers and all staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The benefit of being able to ski in/out plus the regular shuttles makes skiing a dream.
We will be back, this ones a keeper.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andospandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thanks Paul A for taking the time to give us such a great review. The Barrakee Team strives to ensure your skiing holiday is a good one. We really appreciate when people take the time to let us know we are not letting you down. We look forward to seeing you back, hopefully for a little longer next time so you can get the full experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Awesome chalet on-snow near The Interceptor Quad. A casual, very warm vibe, great for kids (mate and I had 5 of them staying between us).

Restaurant quality food, I mean a la carte - it's fantastic.

Going back in a few weeks...

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank lukeskywalker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks lukeskywalker73 for taking the time to give us a great review. Glad you enjoyed Barrakee so much. As you know Barrakee has a reputation for "the best food on the mountain" and an Award Winning Chef so we are happy to hear you thought it was fantastic.
We look forward to seeing you back in a couple of weeks and you'll be glad to know we have just got a massive dump of fresh snow❄️❄️A big thank you from Team Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

When you read so many good reviews, you start wondering, can it really that good? Am I missing something here? The short answer is NO.

Getting to the point, our stay was amazing and I have absolutely no reason not to give five stars. We take a couple of ski weekends/weeks each year and Barrakee is by far the most enjoyable experience to I have had to date.

The lodge was formally owned by Leightons and purchased by new owners a few years back. Over this time, they have turned it into something very special. As a party of twelve (6 adults, 6 kids), we all agreed that Barrakee is homely, welcoming, fun and chilled. The lodge has definitely struck the right balance between homely feel and facilities you expect from a ski lodge. Well done everyone, well done.

The good:
- The team. OMG, they are amazing. Hats off to Terry, Les, Peter and Rick on your hiring approach. Your team is outstanding. Everyone knows your name and it appears they ALL thoroughly enjoy working at the lodge and all so welcoming
- The food. It is simply amazing. Peter is so passionate about the menu and it shows. After a delicious meal on the first night, our party couldn’t wait to see which country we would visiting each night. Peter is also very good at teasing you about what is coming, without giving the secret away. The three-course menu follows a similar theme each night and we experienced wonderful flavours from China, Japan, India and France. Yum
- Hors d’oeuvres before dinner
- Very reasonable drink prices (makes a pleasant change)
- Happy hour schnapps (Butterscotch)
- Range of board games in front of fire
- Community couch
- Games/kids/Tv room (adults can get some grownup time)
- Excellent team (yes, know I’ve repeated but they were amazing)
- Clean warm rooms
- Transport to ski fields each morning
- They mix you with others at breakfast/dinner
- All the kids (other families) eat together
- Big open drying room

The bad: (none of these are bad)
- Games/TV room doesn’t have heating, but believe this is on agenda
- If nearest T-Bar closed, you have to shuttle it (15 minutes) to Perisher Valley, however balance this comment with seeing the joy on the kids face each morning riding the shuttle
- Turn your heating off before you go to bed. We turned up the heater to ‘3’ each night but learned you don’t need to. The lodge is well heated. Have a few classes of water and you will be fine

The ugly:
- Nothing to report

Summary: Have I gushed enough? Probably. I can’t remember the last time I was so gushing in a TripAdvisor review, but then, I can’t remember the last time I stayed somewhere and my first thought departing was how soon can I get back. Well done Barrakee, your TripAdvisor #1 rating is well deserved.

Room tip: All rooms are the same with a few differences here and there
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NZBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Well NZBred we have to tell you Team Barrakee is walking on air today. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to give us such a comprehensive review.
All the Team at Barrakee are passionate about going the extra yard. Trying hard to "connect" to our guests and understand what makes a good ski holiday. To get such glowing feedback is a massive boost for the Team.
We have a great mix of youth and experience and we all endeavor to have enthusiasm to the max!
Thank you so much also for your great review of our food. We have a Multi Award Winning Chef (Pete) who, with his great kitchen brigade, strives to bring you an exceptional dinning experience using quality produce. In fact Pete is always on the lookout for quality local produce or searching Oz for ingredients like wild caught barramundi, grass fed beef of free range chickens. We also pride ourselves on an extensive and, as you were kind enough to point out, well priced wine list and fully stocked bar (including some of Australia's best boutique beers).
We will look forward to your return and promise you that such generous praise does not make us rest on our laurels, it's the fuel that keeps the Barrakee Team going full steam ahead!
A BIG thank you from Team Barrakee❄️❄️😊😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Enjoyed our first holiday in the snow with the kids. After skiing all day they still had plenty of energy to play in the soft fresh snow just outside at Barrakee Lodge, making snowmen and using the lodges toboggans to slide down the hills (no queues!). The adult 3 course dinners were superb. Restaurant quietly meals, warm fireplace with plenty of lounge chairs. They have a well stocked bar, and plenty of chocolates and snacks for the kids to purchase too. The rooms, games rooms for the kids/tennagers, TV & DVD room and the facilities were great, always warm suits families or couples. The sauna was a welcome relaxation place after skiing all day.Good drying rooms, storage for skies and snowboards and full laundry with detergent available. Kids said when we back to the snow we have to stay at Barrakee lodge. They liked the novelty of the snow mobile ride to the front valley at Perisher every morning and afternoon. Thanks to the friendly crew at Barrakee Lodge for a great family holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Wow, thank you Karen for such a great review. We really appreciate you took the time to give us such fantastic feedback. Most of all we are really happy you had such a great stay at Barrakee.
As you know we take great pride in our Food and Hospitality. The Team at Barrakee strive to make your holiday in the snow a special one. It's great for us to hear we are achieving our goals.
We will definitely look forward to your return. A big thanks from Team Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews