We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lukeskywalker73
Melbourne, Australia

Little Gem in Nth Perisher

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Aug 2017via mobile
Awesome chalet on-snow near The Interceptor Quad. A casual, very warm vibe, great for kids (mate and I had 5 of them staying between us).

Restaurant quality food, I mean a la carte - it's fantastic.

Going back in a few weeks...
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 6 Aug 2017
Thanks lukeskywalker73 for taking the time to give us a great review. Glad you enjoyed Barrakee so much. As you know Barrakee has a reputation for "the best food on the mountain" and an Award Winning Chef so we are happy to hear you thought it was fantastic.
We look forward to seeing you back in a couple of weeks and you'll be glad to know we have just got a massive dump of fresh snow❄️❄️A big thank you from Team Barrakee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$495
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$495
  • Hotels.com
    AU$495
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$495
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$752
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$752
2.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
AU$699
  • Expedia.com
    AU$699
  • Hotels.com
    AU$699
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
AU$2,800
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$2,800
  • Vio.com
2.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dining room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
145
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2017

When you read so many good reviews, you start wondering, can it really that good? Am I missing something here? The short answer is NO.

Getting to the point, our stay was amazing and I have absolutely no reason not to give five stars. We take a couple of ski weekends/weeks each year and Barrakee is by far the most enjoyable experience to I have had to date.

The lodge was formally owned by Leightons and purchased by new owners a few years back. Over this time, they have turned it into something very special. As a party of twelve (6 adults, 6 kids), we all agreed that Barrakee is homely, welcoming, fun and chilled. The lodge has definitely struck the right balance between homely feel and facilities you expect from a ski lodge. Well done everyone, well done.

The good:
- The team. OMG, they are amazing. Hats off to Terry, Les, Peter and Rick on your hiring approach. Your team is outstanding. Everyone knows your name and it appears they ALL thoroughly enjoy working at the lodge and all so welcoming
- The food. It is simply amazing. Peter is so passionate about the menu and it shows. After a delicious meal on the first night, our party couldn’t wait to see which country we would visiting each night. Peter is also very good at teasing you about what is coming, without giving the secret away. The three-course menu follows a similar theme each night and we experienced wonderful flavours from China, Japan, India and France. Yum
- Hors d’oeuvres before dinner
- Very reasonable drink prices (makes a pleasant change)
- Happy hour schnapps (Butterscotch)
- Range of board games in front of fire
- Community couch
- Games/kids/Tv room (adults can get some grownup time)
- Excellent team (yes, know I’ve repeated but they were amazing)
- Clean warm rooms
- Transport to ski fields each morning
- They mix you with others at breakfast/dinner
- All the kids (other families) eat together
- Big open drying room

The bad: (none of these are bad)
- Games/TV room doesn’t have heating, but believe this is on agenda
- If nearest T-Bar closed, you have to shuttle it (15 minutes) to Perisher Valley, however balance this comment with seeing the joy on the kids face each morning riding the shuttle
- Turn your heating off before you go to bed. We turned up the heater to ‘3’ each night but learned you don’t need to. The lodge is well heated. Have a few classes of water and you will be fine

The ugly:
- Nothing to report

Summary: Have I gushed enough? Probably. I can’t remember the last time I was so gushing in a TripAdvisor review, but then, I can’t remember the last time I stayed somewhere and my first thought departing was how soon can I get back. Well done Barrakee, your TripAdvisor #1 rating is well deserved.

Room tip: All rooms are the same with a few differences here and there
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NZBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Well NZBred we have to tell you Team Barrakee is walking on air today. We can't thank you enough for taking the time to give us such a comprehensive review.
All the Team at Barrakee are passionate about going the extra yard. Trying hard to "connect" to our guests and understand what makes a good ski holiday. To get such glowing feedback is a massive boost for the Team.
We have a great mix of youth and experience and we all endeavor to have enthusiasm to the max!
Thank you so much also for your great review of our food. We have a Multi Award Winning Chef (Pete) who, with his great kitchen brigade, strives to bring you an exceptional dinning experience using quality produce. In fact Pete is always on the lookout for quality local produce or searching Oz for ingredients like wild caught barramundi, grass fed beef of free range chickens. We also pride ourselves on an extensive and, as you were kind enough to point out, well priced wine list and fully stocked bar (including some of Australia's best boutique beers).
We will look forward to your return and promise you that such generous praise does not make us rest on our laurels, it's the fuel that keeps the Barrakee Team going full steam ahead!
A BIG thank you from Team Barrakee❄️❄️😊😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Enjoyed our first holiday in the snow with the kids. After skiing all day they still had plenty of energy to play in the soft fresh snow just outside at Barrakee Lodge, making snowmen and using the lodges toboggans to slide down the hills (no queues!). The adult 3 course dinners were superb. Restaurant quietly meals, warm fireplace with plenty of lounge chairs. They have a well stocked bar, and plenty of chocolates and snacks for the kids to purchase too. The rooms, games rooms for the kids/tennagers, TV & DVD room and the facilities were great, always warm suits families or couples. The sauna was a welcome relaxation place after skiing all day.Good drying rooms, storage for skies and snowboards and full laundry with detergent available. Kids said when we back to the snow we have to stay at Barrakee lodge. They liked the novelty of the snow mobile ride to the front valley at Perisher every morning and afternoon. Thanks to the friendly crew at Barrakee Lodge for a great family holiday.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Wow, thank you Karen for such a great review. We really appreciate you took the time to give us such fantastic feedback. Most of all we are really happy you had such a great stay at Barrakee.
As you know we take great pride in our Food and Hospitality. The Team at Barrakee strive to make your holiday in the snow a special one. It's great for us to hear we are achieving our goals.
We will definitely look forward to your return. A big thanks from Team Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We stayed for 3 nights. Excellent lodge with everything that we needed. Great room, amazing food and terrific hospitality by our hosts. We were very well looked after.
We stayed at a time when there was no ski in ski out due to lack of snow. This meant the need for specific times for being dropped off to the main terminal and picked up at the end of the day. We felt that there could be more flexibility in these times as it mean't the need to pay a taxi fare if you wished to return to the lodge outside these times.
Other than that, we highly recommend Barrakee Lodge and hope to return next year.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AOakley03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you so much AOakley03 for taking the time to give us such a great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much and particularly the food and hospitality.
It is a big shame, at that time, we didn't have a bit more snow. We hope on your next visit you will be able to ski in and out at your leisure.
A big thank you from the Barrakee Team, we look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at Barrakee with our 2 children aged 4 and 6. This was our second visit to the lodge and it was again fantastic. Amazing food, great cozy lounge area and lovely staff. Everyone was amazing Terry, Les, Peter and Rick and special thanks to Sarah and Lauren who the kids thought were fab. The new games room with air hockey, table football etc. is a great addition and serving kids dinner first is a stroke of genius. Thanks everyone, see you next year.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

A BIG Thank You Sarah P for such fantastic feedback. We love returning guests and if you enjoyed it the first time we know you have a perception of how it should be. For that reason we are very focused to make sure we don't let you down. It's so nice for us to hear back that we met your expectations.
We have a great Team again this year, people who really care about their job. As you point out that comes through when you see Sarah and Lauren with the kids. Yes the kids love them because they love the kids!
We look forward to seeing you back and the whole Team appreciate you took the time to give us such kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We flew over from Perth to visit this special place again. I couldn't recommend anywhere higher. Each day the 3 course evening meal was exceptional, and staff were very friendly and catered well for our 3 young children. Very cosy and warm lodge, no jumpers needed, while you relax after a day in the snow with a blissful gluhwein!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank selenalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you Selenalj for taking the time to leave us such fantastic feedback. It's great for us to know you are enjoying Barrakee so much. We know there are some great Lodges around Perisher and you have many choices, that's why we are always thrilled to see returning guests.
Happy to know you enjoyed the food so much. We take a great deal of pride in both our food and service. We have a very enthusiastic Team and an Award Winning Chef who are doing their best to ensure your holiday is a great one.
Look forward to seeing you back, thanks again from all the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews