We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AOakley03
Orange

FAMILY SKI HOLIDAY WITH FRIENDS

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 July 2017
We stayed for 3 nights. Excellent lodge with everything that we needed. Great room, amazing food and terrific hospitality by our hosts. We were very well looked after.
We stayed at a time when there was no ski in ski out due to lack of snow. This meant the need for specific times for being dropped off to the main terminal and picked up at the end of the day. We felt that there could be more flexibility in these times as it mean't the need to pay a taxi fare if you wished to return to the lodge outside these times.
Other than that, we highly recommend Barrakee Lodge and hope to return next year.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 11 July 2017
Thank you so much AOakley03 for taking the time to give us such a great review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay so much and particularly the food and hospitality.
It is a big shame, at that time, we didn't have a bit more snow. We hope on your next visit you will be able to ski in and out at your leisure.
A big thank you from the Barrakee Team, we look forward to seeing you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
King size front room
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
Nice lounge area with open fire
Booking.com
    2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Agoda.com
    No booking fees
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    StayForLong
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Tripadvisor
    AU$189
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    15.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Tripadvisor
    AU$183
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    15.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    TAH Rooms Suite with Balcony
    Tripadvisor
    AU$176
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    15.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Our park from above
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    49.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Perisher Valley
    Reviews (154)
    Filter reviews
    154 results
    Traveller rating
    144
    7
    0
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    144
    7
    0
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    94 - 99 of 154 reviews
    Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

    We stayed for 4 nights at Barrakee with our 2 children aged 4 and 6. This was our second visit to the lodge and it was again fantastic. Amazing food, great cozy lounge area and lovely staff. Everyone was amazing Terry, Les, Peter and Rick and special thanks to Sarah and Lauren who the kids thought were fab. The new games room with air hockey, table football etc. is a great addition and serving kids dinner first is a stroke of genius. Thanks everyone, see you next year.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank Sarah P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

    A BIG Thank You Sarah P for such fantastic feedback. We love returning guests and if you enjoyed it the first time we know you have a perception of how it should be. For that reason we are very focused to make sure we don't let you down. It's so nice for us to hear back that we met your expectations.
    We have a great Team again this year, people who really care about their job. As you point out that comes through when you see Sarah and Lauren with the kids. Yes the kids love them because they love the kids!
    We look forward to seeing you back and the whole Team appreciate you took the time to give us such kind words.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

    We flew over from Perth to visit this special place again. I couldn't recommend anywhere higher. Each day the 3 course evening meal was exceptional, and staff were very friendly and catered well for our 3 young children. Very cosy and warm lodge, no jumpers needed, while you relax after a day in the snow with a blissful gluhwein!!

    Date of stay: June 2017
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank selenalj
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

    Thank you Selenalj for taking the time to leave us such fantastic feedback. It's great for us to know you are enjoying Barrakee so much. We know there are some great Lodges around Perisher and you have many choices, that's why we are always thrilled to see returning guests.
    Happy to know you enjoyed the food so much. We take a great deal of pride in both our food and service. We have a very enthusiastic Team and an Award Winning Chef who are doing their best to ensure your holiday is a great one.
    Look forward to seeing you back, thanks again from all the Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 June 2017

    Having stayed at quite a few lodges over the years, the Barrakee ski lodge is the best we've had the pleasure of visiting. You won't get better food at any ski lodge than at Barrakee and as any skier will tell you, nothing is more inviting than a warm cosy fire, with a great meal after a long day on the slopes. Rooms are quaint, well heated and kept spotlessly clean with really comfortable beds. All the amenities suited us perfectly: a TV room with lots of video choices and a games room where the kids can amuse themselves. The location is ideal and only a short over-snow transport from Perisher and the staff were exceptional. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone who wants to have a great skiing holiday in Perisher.

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank gavink718
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

    Thanks you Gavink718. We would like you to know your feedback and kind words mean a lot to us. All the Barrakee Team read our TRIPADVISOR reviews and it often puts an extra spring in our step when we hear we are getting it right! It's also one of the reasons that we will not rest on our laurels. We are very aware how valuable people's holidays and getaways are and our Team is committed to making your decision to stay at Barrakee a great one.
    We also really appreciate your comments about the food. Pete, our Chef, puts in the hard yards to make your ski holiday more than just snow. We think we deliver a standard that is hard to beat anywhere on the mountain, but it's very nice when people confirm it for us.
    We look forward to seeing you back. Thanks again from all the Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 June 2017

    We took a trip to Perisher last weekend to show our kids snow for the first time. Barrakee Lodge proved to be the highlight of the weekend. The staff worked so well as a team and made us all feel right at home. The rooms were very comfortable and a great refuge out of the cold. Plenty games on offer to keep the kids entertained, "schnappy hour" to keep the adults entertained ;-) and the food! OMG...the food!!! Seriously some of the best meals I have eaten.

    Mid June and there wasn't much snow outside the lodge itself (front valley at Perisher was open to ski/tobbogan/build snowmen etc.) but the view is so beautiful regardless. Go to ski. Go to bushwalk. Go to relax. Go to eat the insanely good food. Just go. You really won't regret it!

    (Thanks Team Barrakee for a great weekend. You guys rock!).

    Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the valley if available.
    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank O5856JVsimoneb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

    Thank you so much Simone for such fantastic feedback. Our Team at Barrakee strive hard to make your getaway memorable so it's nice to know we are hitting the mark. We really appreciate your comments about the food, as you know we have an Award Winning Chef at Barrakee (Peter) and his Kitchen Team put a great deal of effort into bringing you a dinning experience on your ski holiday. Thanks from all the Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 June 2017

    Ok, so this is one of those places that once you've found it you'll be tempted not to share because you're scared it'll be harder to book in next time! But once you've met Rick, Les, Terry and Peter you'll do the right thing because you come away from Barrakee feeling like family!!
    The food is amazing, every night you can't imagine how Pete is going to top it next day! And with separate sittings for the kids and the adults you actually get to enjoy it to the fullest (who thought of the separate sitting thing? - absolute genius!)
    All the staff - without exception - are lovely and helpful, doing whatever they can to make your stay more comfortable.
    The bar and lounge area is comfy with a lovely roaring fire in the middle. The whole lodge has a real home-away-from-home feeling but without the chores!
    See you again soon Barrakee :-)

    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Emily M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

    A BIG thank you Emily. We are thrilled you had such a great stay. We are even happier you feel part of the "Barrakee Family" now. We think Barrakee is a special spot in the mountains and the Team strive to make it your home away from home in the snow. We really appreciate your comments about the food. Pete and his Kitchen Team put in a huge effort to bring you something different on your ski holiday. You might be interested to know that Pete (Chef Peter O'Connor) has eleven Major Culinary Awards and, along with Terry, is happily calling Barrakee home now.
    We look forward to seeing you back at our snow covered door again, with your ski's or your knife and fork! Cheers from all the Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews