We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emily M
Sydney, Australia

Totally amazing!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 June 2017
Ok, so this is one of those places that once you've found it you'll be tempted not to share because you're scared it'll be harder to book in next time! But once you've met Rick, Les, Terry and Peter you'll do the right thing because you come away from Barrakee feeling like family!!
The food is amazing, every night you can't imagine how Pete is going to top it next day! And with separate sittings for the kids and the adults you actually get to enjoy it to the fullest (who thought of the separate sitting thing? - absolute genius!)
All the staff - without exception - are lovely and helpful, doing whatever they can to make your stay more comfortable.
The bar and lounge area is comfy with a lovely roaring fire in the middle. The whole lodge has a real home-away-from-home feeling but without the chores!
See you again soon Barrakee :-)
Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 June 2017
A BIG thank you Emily. We are thrilled you had such a great stay. We are even happier you feel part of the "Barrakee Family" now. We think Barrakee is a special spot in the mountains and the Team strive to make it your home away from home in the snow. We really appreciate your comments about the food. Pete and his Kitchen Team put in a huge effort to bring you something different on your ski holiday. You might be interested to know that Pete (Chef Peter O'Connor) has eleven Major Culinary Awards and, along with Terry, is happily calling Barrakee home now.
We look forward to seeing you back at our snow covered door again, with your ski's or your knife and fork! Cheers from all the Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Heidi's complex at night
    1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    Dining room
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Lol.travel
    • Expedia.com
    1.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Lodge Apartment - 23
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Lol.travel
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    AU$380
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$380
    1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$401
    • Priceline
    7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
    Free parking
    Pool
    View more hotels in Perisher Valley
    Reviews (154)
    Filter reviews
    154 results
    Traveller rating
    144
    7
    0
    2
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    144
    7
    0
    2
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    99 - 104 of 154 reviews
    Reviewed 17 August 2016

    Having read reviews by other skiers, we decided to book Barrakee and we were not disappointed. The lodge is small enough to be intimate which allowed us to meet all of the other guests. On arrival we were introduced to all of the staff----and the guests!!----something you don't get in a hotel. Food at Barrakee is possibly the best thing about the lodge. Each day was a gourmet delight. The wine list is adequate and not overpriced. The lounge and dining areas are warm and comfortable and the guest rooms are a good size with quality bathrooms. The oversnow transport service offered by the staff is just perfect. On our last day, they took care of our luggage while we were out skiing and then delivered it to the skitube station at the time that suited us. The only sad thing for us is that it took us almost 25 years to find Barrakee!!

    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank John D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

    A big thanks from all The Team here at Barrakee for your fabulous review. We are very glad you have finally "found" us.
    Barrakee is now in its second season of new ownership and new management and we are thrilled that people are finding and enjoying what we have to offer.
    Great to hear you enjoyed the food so much. Our Award Winning Kitchen Team seem to be attracting as many people with a knife and fork as there are with ski's! Our mission is to provide a level of food and service that can help compensate if the weather outside gets a bit wild.
    Barrakee's unique location offers a peaceful snow experience yet is just a stones throw from the North Perisher T-Bar and the Interceptor Chair Lift. If you're not up to skiing in, or out, our scheduled complimentary over snow shuttle can drop you right in the thick of the action.
    Again thank you so much for taking time to give us such a fabulous pat on the back. We look forward to your return and promise we will be doing everything possible to make sure, now you have found us, you won't need to look further.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

    Very comfortable lodge. The food was fabulous-the chef provided restaurant quality meals included in the price-fixed menu. Very convenient for skiing and being looked after. Relaxing atmosphere for families and couples.

    Date of stay: August 2016
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Wendy J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. As you know dinning at Barrakee is a highlight for our guests and we are very proud of our Food and Service Team.
    Yes we are in a great spot for skiing, centrally located next to the North Perisher T-Bar and just a short slide to the Interceptor Chair Lift. For those who don't like to ski in, ski out, our convenient complimentary shuttle (set times) drops you right into the action at the Perisher Center.
    A big thanks from us at Barrakee

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 August 2016

    We had a boys ski trip to Perisher last weekend and stayed at Barrakee from Friday Rick Terri and Dana were amazing hosts who looked after us pampered us and took care of us all weekend. We felt like we were looked after by amazing friends not ski lodge hosts. Ski in - ski out. Why would you do it any other way!!
    The food was the biggest surprise..... outstanding on all fronts; even the immense amounts of schnapps and other offerings.
    The lodge atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and sitting with different people at dinner time made us all feel like friends.
    Thanks you guys for an awesome weekend.... Sam and the boys

    Date of stay: August 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank SamGurg
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

    Wow, we love your kind words and we are so happy you had a great time. You ARE now part of The Barrakee Family and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
    Yes, for those who are just expecting Ski Lodge style meals the food is a big surprise. We have an Award Winning Chef and The Barrakee Team prides itself on quality food and service.
    We hope to see you back soon, thanks again from all The Team.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 July 2016

    What a wonderful experience we had as a last minute booking for our weekend away in the snow. As we were trying to pack in as much time on the slopes that we could Barakee were very accommodating in picking up and dropping off our luggage. Nothing was a bother, from keeping my very fussy newly vegetarian teen fed to three courses of superb dishes equal to any fine dining experience I have had.
    The lodge was superbly appointed with no fuss but homely warmth, very welcoming, comfortable and functional. You have a choice of mixing with other guests or spending time in front of the fire absorbed in relaxation.
    Thank you so much to all the staff and special mention for my lovely birthday surprise and all time favourite dessert, lava cake candle and all and I loved the after dinner mint to finish the night off. Best birthday weekend ev-er !!

    Date of stay: July 2016
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank HelenT68
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016


    Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you had a great weekend. We are even more pleased it was celebrating your Birthday and we were able to help make it a memorable one.
    We agree, Barrakee is a special place but it's great when our valued guests take time to let us know we are getting it right.
    There are many great places here in the snow but we are really proud of Barrakee. It seems to have a great ambience for families and couples alike. There are plenty of spots for the kids to explore with separate TV and play rooms and the adults have the fireside Bar and Lounge Room and even the Sauna to kick back and relax.
    Thank you also for your kind review of our food. Our Kitchen Team is lead by an Award Winning Chef and takes great pride in bringing you a quality dinning experience every night.
    Remember you don't have to wait for your next Birthday to come back but we will have the candles on standby just in case! Thanks again from all the Team at Barrakee :)=

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

    A crazy weekend of weather. Floods and Pouring rain, followed by freezing temps and beautiful snow...if you want to experience the true mountain lodge life whilst visiting the snowy mtns of NSW, stay at Barakee ski lodge. Stayed with my family of 5. Clean and relaxing lodge with quality food.
    I have never experienced such hospitality in any lodge in my 8 yrs of snowy holidays in NSW. Food was FANTASTIC! Peter the chef is to be congratulated. Les picking us up in the tractor in the pouring rain to save us!! And nothing was too much trouble for Terry the Manager helping us and the children. What a find!!a trip we will want to invite our friends to in the years ahead. Only a 5 min tractor ride away to front valley..Thankyou Barakee for a great stay

    Date of stay: July 2016
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank JAcqui H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

    Wow, what a lovely review. You have put an extra spring in our step here at Barrakee today!
    You are right, that was some big action in the mountains in the last few days! It was one of those "weather events" as Perisher experienced the full force of Mother Nature. At one stage we were even (briefly) cut off from the rest of the World!
    We are very proud the Team here at Barrakee kept it all running smoothly and your comments confirm, it was business as usual and all our guests we happy, safe and having a great time.
    If the Aussie Alps ever force you indoors for a day we are very happy that Barrakee provides a fantastic ambient spot to enjoy the wild weather outside. Our Bar and comfy Lounge area around the beautiful cracking Log Fire. Our cosy TV rooms, video and book library can make relaxing a good option. Not to mention the Sauna and Squash Court if you're feeling more active.
    The great thing is the storm you experienced has now left us with a beautiful top up of fresh dry powder snow.
    Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. We have an Award Winning Chef and Barrakee prides itself on delivering a dinning experience every night of your stay.
    We are so happy you found us here at Barrakee and we really appreciate you have taken the time to give us such wonderful feedback.
    We look forward to welcoming you back to our snow covered doors for many seasons to come :)

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews