We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wendy J

Great on anow accommodation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Aug 2016via mobile
Very comfortable lodge. The food was fabulous-the chef provided restaurant quality meals included in the price-fixed menu. Very convenient for skiing and being looked after. Relaxing atmosphere for families and couples.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 10 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. As you know dinning at Barrakee is a highlight for our guests and we are very proud of our Food and Service Team.
Yes we are in a great spot for skiing, centrally located next to the North Perisher T-Bar and just a short slide to the Interceptor Chair Lift. For those who don't like to ski in, ski out, our convenient complimentary shuttle (set times) drops you right into the action at the Perisher Center.
A big thanks from us at Barrakee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$189
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$189
  • Hotels.com
    AU$189
  • Priceline
    AU$189
15.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$209
  • Vio.com
    AU$197
  • Agoda.com
    AU$178
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
15.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
TAH Rooms Suite with Balcony
Booking.com
AU$156
  • Expedia.com
    AU$175
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Agoda.com
    AU$156
15.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$158
  • Agoda.com
    AU$158
  • Vio.com
    AU$158
  • Priceline
17.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Discovery Holiday Parks - Jindabyne
Booking.com
AU$95
  • Priceline
    AU$95
  • Vio.com
    AU$95
  • eDreams
    AU$95
17.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$126
  • Hotels.com
    AU$225
  • Expedia.com
    AU$225
  • Priceline
    AU$126
18.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
So close to the lake you can smell it!
Booking.com
AU$159
  • Expedia.com
    AU$159
  • Vio.com
    AU$143
  • Hotels.com
    AU$159
18.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$740
No booking fees
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
18.5 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Booking.com
AU$125
  • Priceline
    AU$125
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
18.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$127
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
  • Priceline
    AU$127
18.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We had a boys ski trip to Perisher last weekend and stayed at Barrakee from Friday Rick Terri and Dana were amazing hosts who looked after us pampered us and took care of us all weekend. We felt like we were looked after by amazing friends not ski lodge hosts. Ski in - ski out. Why would you do it any other way!!
The food was the biggest surprise..... outstanding on all fronts; even the immense amounts of schnapps and other offerings.
The lodge atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and sitting with different people at dinner time made us all feel like friends.
Thanks you guys for an awesome weekend.... Sam and the boys

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SamGurg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Wow, we love your kind words and we are so happy you had a great time. You ARE now part of The Barrakee Family and we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Yes, for those who are just expecting Ski Lodge style meals the food is a big surprise. We have an Award Winning Chef and The Barrakee Team prides itself on quality food and service.
We hope to see you back soon, thanks again from all The Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

What a wonderful experience we had as a last minute booking for our weekend away in the snow. As we were trying to pack in as much time on the slopes that we could Barakee were very accommodating in picking up and dropping off our luggage. Nothing was a bother, from keeping my very fussy newly vegetarian teen fed to three courses of superb dishes equal to any fine dining experience I have had.
The lodge was superbly appointed with no fuss but homely warmth, very welcoming, comfortable and functional. You have a choice of mixing with other guests or spending time in front of the fire absorbed in relaxation.
Thank you so much to all the staff and special mention for my lovely birthday surprise and all time favourite dessert, lava cake candle and all and I loved the after dinner mint to finish the night off. Best birthday weekend ev-er !!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016


Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you had a great weekend. We are even more pleased it was celebrating your Birthday and we were able to help make it a memorable one.
We agree, Barrakee is a special place but it's great when our valued guests take time to let us know we are getting it right.
There are many great places here in the snow but we are really proud of Barrakee. It seems to have a great ambience for families and couples alike. There are plenty of spots for the kids to explore with separate TV and play rooms and the adults have the fireside Bar and Lounge Room and even the Sauna to kick back and relax.
Thank you also for your kind review of our food. Our Kitchen Team is lead by an Award Winning Chef and takes great pride in bringing you a quality dinning experience every night.
Remember you don't have to wait for your next Birthday to come back but we will have the candles on standby just in case! Thanks again from all the Team at Barrakee :)=

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

A crazy weekend of weather. Floods and Pouring rain, followed by freezing temps and beautiful snow...if you want to experience the true mountain lodge life whilst visiting the snowy mtns of NSW, stay at Barakee ski lodge. Stayed with my family of 5. Clean and relaxing lodge with quality food.
I have never experienced such hospitality in any lodge in my 8 yrs of snowy holidays in NSW. Food was FANTASTIC! Peter the chef is to be congratulated. Les picking us up in the tractor in the pouring rain to save us!! And nothing was too much trouble for Terry the Manager helping us and the children. What a find!!a trip we will want to invite our friends to in the years ahead. Only a 5 min tractor ride away to front valley..Thankyou Barakee for a great stay

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JAcqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Wow, what a lovely review. You have put an extra spring in our step here at Barrakee today!
You are right, that was some big action in the mountains in the last few days! It was one of those "weather events" as Perisher experienced the full force of Mother Nature. At one stage we were even (briefly) cut off from the rest of the World!
We are very proud the Team here at Barrakee kept it all running smoothly and your comments confirm, it was business as usual and all our guests we happy, safe and having a great time.
If the Aussie Alps ever force you indoors for a day we are very happy that Barrakee provides a fantastic ambient spot to enjoy the wild weather outside. Our Bar and comfy Lounge area around the beautiful cracking Log Fire. Our cosy TV rooms, video and book library can make relaxing a good option. Not to mention the Sauna and Squash Court if you're feeling more active.
The great thing is the storm you experienced has now left us with a beautiful top up of fresh dry powder snow.
Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. We have an Award Winning Chef and Barrakee prides itself on delivering a dinning experience every night of your stay.
We are so happy you found us here at Barrakee and we really appreciate you have taken the time to give us such wonderful feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our snow covered doors for many seasons to come :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We have just finished a fantastic week at Barrakee lodge skiing at Perisher. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. It was very clean, comfortable and has everything we needed. It was also great being able to ski in and out when the snow is good. The food was really fantastic and perfect for the whole family including usually fussy teenagers who loved it as well! We can't wait to get back there.
Anne S

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clovelly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review.
We love it when we get it right for the whole family!
A big thank you from the Team at Barrakee for choosing us. We look forward to seeing you back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday at Barrakee with five teenagers. The lodge was perfect - comfortable and friendly, amazing food lovely beds and hot showers. All the facilities were excellent we had great snow and the transport to and from was excellent. We were first time visitors and we would love to return. It was a great week.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carolyn2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thanks for a great review. Our mission is to make your ski holiday a success and we love it when you tell us we've succeeded.
Barrakee is a great spot for couples and families (even big ones!). We are focused on providing great food and service and we are very glad you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to seeing you back at our snow covered doors :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews