We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jacqui H

A weekend in amazing Perisher

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 July 2016via mobile
A crazy weekend of weather. Floods and Pouring rain, followed by freezing temps and beautiful snow...if you want to experience the true mountain lodge life whilst visiting the snowy mtns of NSW, stay at Barakee ski lodge. Stayed with my family of 5. Clean and relaxing lodge with quality food.
I have never experienced such hospitality in any lodge in my 8 yrs of snowy holidays in NSW. Food was FANTASTIC! Peter the chef is to be congratulated. Les picking us up in the tractor in the pouring rain to save us!! And nothing was too much trouble for Terry the Manager helping us and the children. What a find!!a trip we will want to invite our friends to in the years ahead. Only a 5 min tractor ride away to front valley..Thankyou Barakee for a great stay
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 24 July 2016
Wow, what a lovely review. You have put an extra spring in our step here at Barrakee today!
You are right, that was some big action in the mountains in the last few days! It was one of those "weather events" as Perisher experienced the full force of Mother Nature. At one stage we were even (briefly) cut off from the rest of the World!
We are very proud the Team here at Barrakee kept it all running smoothly and your comments confirm, it was business as usual and all our guests we happy, safe and having a great time.
If the Aussie Alps ever force you indoors for a day we are very happy that Barrakee provides a fantastic ambient spot to enjoy the wild weather outside. Our Bar and comfy Lounge area around the beautiful cracking Log Fire. Our cosy TV rooms, video and book library can make relaxing a good option. Not to mention the Sauna and Squash Court if you're feeling more active.
The great thing is the storm you experienced has now left us with a beautiful top up of fresh dry powder snow.
Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. We have an Award Winning Chef and Barrakee prides itself on delivering a dinning experience every night of your stay.
We are so happy you found us here at Barrakee and we really appreciate you have taken the time to give us such wonderful feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our snow covered doors for many seasons to come :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$695
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$850
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$1,000
  • Priceline
    AU$1,000
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,000
  • Vio.com
    AU$1,000
2.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$493
  • Priceline
    AU$493
  • Agoda.com
    AU$493
2.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$400
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • Hotels.com
    AU$371
  • Priceline
    AU$400
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Lodge Apartment - 23
ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
ZenHotels.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Booking.com
AU$359
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$359
  • Hotels.com
    AU$359
  • Expedia.com
    AU$359
15.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$494
  • Priceline
    AU$494
  • ZenHotels.com
  • eDreams
    AU$494
15.5 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We have just finished a fantastic week at Barrakee lodge skiing at Perisher. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. It was very clean, comfortable and has everything we needed. It was also great being able to ski in and out when the snow is good. The food was really fantastic and perfect for the whole family including usually fussy teenagers who loved it as well! We can't wait to get back there.
Anne S

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clovelly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review.
We love it when we get it right for the whole family!
A big thank you from the Team at Barrakee for choosing us. We look forward to seeing you back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday at Barrakee with five teenagers. The lodge was perfect - comfortable and friendly, amazing food lovely beds and hot showers. All the facilities were excellent we had great snow and the transport to and from was excellent. We were first time visitors and we would love to return. It was a great week.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carolyn2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thanks for a great review. Our mission is to make your ski holiday a success and we love it when you tell us we've succeeded.
Barrakee is a great spot for couples and families (even big ones!). We are focused on providing great food and service and we are very glad you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to seeing you back at our snow covered doors :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous week at Barrakee Ski Lodge! The food is high quality and delicious especially after a long day skiing! The perfect arrangement of a free snow mobile to transport you to the village 8 chair as well as any lift that we would like! Could not ask for a more efficient service! The lounge area was perfect for young families as well as older couples who just want to relax! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rachpink23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

A big thank you from all The Team at Barrakee. We are thrilled you have taken the time to give us such a fantastic review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the food so much. As you know we take a great deal of pride in our food and service at Barrakee and our objective is to make your skiing experience a dinning experience too!
We have some great snow here at the moment so if ever you feel tempted we will always look forward to your return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Really friendly great ski lodge in perisher. Great dinners with really good chef. Clean accomodations and modern bathrooms.
May I suggest better coffee - that flask really let the side down. Ever heard of a nespresso machine at least?
Slight downside is when the snow is not great, it is not ski-in, ski-out so bit of a hassle to get to lifts and back.
Have been before and will go back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Driankatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and great review.
Glad to know you enjoyed the food so much. It was nice that your group were previously aware of the award winning background of our Chef Peter O'Connor. We take great pride in our food and service at Barrakee and we try hard to make sure your holiday is a success.
We also appreciate your comments about the coffee and we will discuss using a pod system. Our present coffee is the highest quality Delano Australian Certified Organic (Fairtrade) and it is freshly brewed constantly during the breakfast service. The Airport Pot System that keeps the coffee warm is designed to give quick and efficient service to get you off for a great days skiing. We take very seriously any feedback we get and really appreciate when people take the time to offer suggestions that might make our overall product better. Rest assured we will be reviewing our system based on your comments.
Sorry the snow and conditions were a little patchy for your visit. As you rightly point out we need the white stuff to successfully ski in and ski out. We were very happy you were a returning guest and we hope to see you back again soon...hopefully the Snow Gods will have delivered and you can lay some great tacks down right to the front door.
A big thank you from all The Team at Barrakee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Thank you Rick, Pete, Les, Terry and all the wonderful staff at Barrakee. You helped make my special holiday with my teens that much more special. I highly recommend Barrakee to families and couples who want a relaxed, happy time, great food, friendly people, and excellent facilities - not to mention fantastic skiing right outside the door. We'd gladly come back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniKing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Apologies for our delay to reply to your very kind words. The Holidays are in full swing here and Barrakee is humming along.
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for choosing Barrakee, we look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews