We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
clovelly81
New South Wales, Australia

A wonderful lodge

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 July 2016
We have just finished a fantastic week at Barrakee lodge skiing at Perisher. The staff are really friendly and welcoming. It was very clean, comfortable and has everything we needed. It was also great being able to ski in and out when the snow is good. The food was really fantastic and perfect for the whole family including usually fussy teenagers who loved it as well! We can't wait to get back there.
Anne S
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 21 July 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review.
We love it when we get it right for the whole family!
A big thank you from the Team at Barrakee for choosing us. We look forward to seeing you back :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
AU$695
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$850
  • Vio.com
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$1,000
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,000
2.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$493
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$493
2.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$400
  • Hotels.com
    AU$371
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday at Barrakee with five teenagers. The lodge was perfect - comfortable and friendly, amazing food lovely beds and hot showers. All the facilities were excellent we had great snow and the transport to and from was excellent. We were first time visitors and we would love to return. It was a great week.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Carolyn2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thanks for a great review. Our mission is to make your ski holiday a success and we love it when you tell us we've succeeded.
Barrakee is a great spot for couples and families (even big ones!). We are focused on providing great food and service and we are very glad you enjoyed it so much.
We look forward to seeing you back at our snow covered doors :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous week at Barrakee Ski Lodge! The food is high quality and delicious especially after a long day skiing! The perfect arrangement of a free snow mobile to transport you to the village 8 chair as well as any lift that we would like! Could not ask for a more efficient service! The lounge area was perfect for young families as well as older couples who just want to relax! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rachpink23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

A big thank you from all The Team at Barrakee. We are thrilled you have taken the time to give us such a fantastic review.
Glad to hear you enjoyed the food so much. As you know we take a great deal of pride in our food and service at Barrakee and our objective is to make your skiing experience a dinning experience too!
We have some great snow here at the moment so if ever you feel tempted we will always look forward to your return :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Really friendly great ski lodge in perisher. Great dinners with really good chef. Clean accomodations and modern bathrooms.
May I suggest better coffee - that flask really let the side down. Ever heard of a nespresso machine at least?
Slight downside is when the snow is not great, it is not ski-in, ski-out so bit of a hassle to get to lifts and back.
Have been before and will go back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Driankatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and great review.
Glad to know you enjoyed the food so much. It was nice that your group were previously aware of the award winning background of our Chef Peter O'Connor. We take great pride in our food and service at Barrakee and we try hard to make sure your holiday is a success.
We also appreciate your comments about the coffee and we will discuss using a pod system. Our present coffee is the highest quality Delano Australian Certified Organic (Fairtrade) and it is freshly brewed constantly during the breakfast service. The Airport Pot System that keeps the coffee warm is designed to give quick and efficient service to get you off for a great days skiing. We take very seriously any feedback we get and really appreciate when people take the time to offer suggestions that might make our overall product better. Rest assured we will be reviewing our system based on your comments.
Sorry the snow and conditions were a little patchy for your visit. As you rightly point out we need the white stuff to successfully ski in and ski out. We were very happy you were a returning guest and we hope to see you back again soon...hopefully the Snow Gods will have delivered and you can lay some great tacks down right to the front door.
A big thank you from all The Team at Barrakee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Thank you Rick, Pete, Les, Terry and all the wonderful staff at Barrakee. You helped make my special holiday with my teens that much more special. I highly recommend Barrakee to families and couples who want a relaxed, happy time, great food, friendly people, and excellent facilities - not to mention fantastic skiing right outside the door. We'd gladly come back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniKing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Apologies for our delay to reply to your very kind words. The Holidays are in full swing here and Barrakee is humming along.
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for choosing Barrakee, we look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Barrakee Lodge for a long weekend skiing in Perisher. The place was fantastic and I can't recommend it enough.

The owners, Rick and Les, and the managers, Terry and Peter, were great hosts and take a genuine interests in all the comfort of all the guests. It felt like home from home.

The lodge is very clean and comfortable with a log fire in the lounge and a comfortable bar area. The rooms were spacious with newly updated bathrooms.

The food is exceptional - Peter the chef gave us a fantastic breakfast and a delicious course meal each evening. Probably the best food we've had on any ski trip.

The Barrakee Lodge It is located only a few minutes walk from the Interceptor lift and North Perisher t-bar and so possible to ski in and ski out. The Lodge also transports guests to and from the Perisher terminal building.

We were very sad to leave but will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Wow, thank you so much for such kind words. We strive hard at Barrakee to make sure our guests have a great ski holiday, it's nice to know we are meeting expectations.
Our mission is to ensure our guests enjoy the Lodge experience as much as the skiing. We like people to feel they are at their "home in the snow"...only with an Award Winning Chef and a friendly professional team to look after them!
Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. Peter is passionate about delivering a standard of food that will bring you in, from your last run of the day, with the anticipation of a great dinner. A lot of thought goes into menu planning and Peter also sources quality ingredients from local growers and farms as well as from around Australia.
We're always sad to see our guests leave too, but we look forward to your return at our snow covered doors. A big thank you again from all The Team at Barrakee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews