We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ian K

Great Lodge

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 July 2016
Really friendly great ski lodge in perisher. Great dinners with really good chef. Clean accomodations and modern bathrooms.
May I suggest better coffee - that flask really let the side down. Ever heard of a nespresso machine at least?
Slight downside is when the snow is not great, it is not ski-in, ski-out so bit of a hassle to get to lifts and back.
Have been before and will go back.
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 11 July 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words and great review.
Glad to know you enjoyed the food so much. It was nice that your group were previously aware of the award winning background of our Chef Peter O'Connor. We take great pride in our food and service at Barrakee and we try hard to make sure your holiday is a success.
We also appreciate your comments about the coffee and we will discuss using a pod system. Our present coffee is the highest quality Delano Australian Certified Organic (Fairtrade) and it is freshly brewed constantly during the breakfast service. The Airport Pot System that keeps the coffee warm is designed to give quick and efficient service to get you off for a great days skiing. We take very seriously any feedback we get and really appreciate when people take the time to offer suggestions that might make our overall product better. Rest assured we will be reviewing our system based on your comments.
Sorry the snow and conditions were a little patchy for your visit. As you rightly point out we need the white stuff to successfully ski in and ski out. We were very happy you were a returning guest and we hope to see you back again soon...hopefully the Snow Gods will have delivered and you can lay some great tacks down right to the front door.
A big thank you from all The Team at Barrakee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$493
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$493
2.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$400
  • Expedia.com
    AU$400
  • Hotels.com
    AU$371
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$1,000
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,000
2.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Resort View room (tiwn share)
Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Thank you Rick, Pete, Les, Terry and all the wonderful staff at Barrakee. You helped make my special holiday with my teens that much more special. I highly recommend Barrakee to families and couples who want a relaxed, happy time, great food, friendly people, and excellent facilities - not to mention fantastic skiing right outside the door. We'd gladly come back.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoniKing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Apologies for our delay to reply to your very kind words. The Holidays are in full swing here and Barrakee is humming along.
We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thanks for choosing Barrakee, we look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Barrakee Lodge for a long weekend skiing in Perisher. The place was fantastic and I can't recommend it enough.

The owners, Rick and Les, and the managers, Terry and Peter, were great hosts and take a genuine interests in all the comfort of all the guests. It felt like home from home.

The lodge is very clean and comfortable with a log fire in the lounge and a comfortable bar area. The rooms were spacious with newly updated bathrooms.

The food is exceptional - Peter the chef gave us a fantastic breakfast and a delicious course meal each evening. Probably the best food we've had on any ski trip.

The Barrakee Lodge It is located only a few minutes walk from the Interceptor lift and North Perisher t-bar and so possible to ski in and ski out. The Lodge also transports guests to and from the Perisher terminal building.

We were very sad to leave but will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Wow, thank you so much for such kind words. We strive hard at Barrakee to make sure our guests have a great ski holiday, it's nice to know we are meeting expectations.
Our mission is to ensure our guests enjoy the Lodge experience as much as the skiing. We like people to feel they are at their "home in the snow"...only with an Award Winning Chef and a friendly professional team to look after them!
Really glad you enjoyed the food so much. Peter is passionate about delivering a standard of food that will bring you in, from your last run of the day, with the anticipation of a great dinner. A lot of thought goes into menu planning and Peter also sources quality ingredients from local growers and farms as well as from around Australia.
We're always sad to see our guests leave too, but we look forward to your return at our snow covered doors. A big thank you again from all The Team at Barrakee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile


So, my friend John, calls me Thursday and asks if I wanna go skiing at Perisher this weekend. Got some accommodation on the mountain he says...So here goes my first stay at Barrakee Ski Lodge.
Host Les, picked us up at the ski tube in an over snow vehicle called "Big Dog." I thought "How good is this!" But then l layed my eyes on Barrakee.
Absolutely sensational ski lodge. An extremely friendly atmosphere, huge clean rooms, sauna, squash court, great food and of course the bar area (always a must when skiing) . Having snow cover was terrific, but staying at Barrakee was really a highlight. Big shout out to hosts Les, Rick ,Terri and master chef Peter.
Only downside was the Wallabies loss to England. Can't have it all I suppose.......
Can't wait until I'm back there. And I will be back!! Looking forward to ski out-ski in during the height of the season at Barrakee.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2016

Barrakee is thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to get first time guests in because we are so proud of what we have to offer here.
We are a little way up the track (but still situated next to the North Perisher T-Bar and a short slide to the Interceptor Chair) and we think that gives us the "deep in the snow" feeling. It's a peaceful spot in the mountains and as you know our shuttle delivers you back into the action after a great breakfast.
We really loved your reaction to seeing Barrakee for the first time. The trip back along the North Perisher track in "Big Dog" is fun but when Barrakee looms on the snow covered horizon it's something special. We never tire of it.
The whole Team at Barrakee thank you for such great feedback. We pride ourselves on great food and service and it's nice to know that our guests think we are delivering!
We look forward to seeing you back and although we can't promise a better result in the Rugby we can promise that we'll greet you with the same smiles and enthusiasm :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We had the best holiday ever! The food was 7 star, the accommodation was clean, spacious, toasty, and the hosts were phenomenal and great with the kids (7,5,2). Thoroughly enjoyed by all. Can't wait to return, our 7 year old was in tears when we left, says it all.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank selenalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review..."7 Stars" is a real pat on the back for us.
As you know the Culinary Team strive to make your stay as special as possible and we take great pride in our food and service.
We would like you to know that we value your comments and all The Team at Barrakee are thrilled with such positive feed back.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that those leaving tears will soon be replaced by the happy smiles of your return.
a big thanks from all The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Back to Barrakee for the 2016 season and once again we were blown away by the amazing food and the quality of service the team continues to deliver.

A few new faces, but the core remain and Pete seems to have stepped things up a notch with a new Asian inspired menu. He has somehow managed to improve on his already magnificent signature confit duck, and Vicky in the kitchen makes the best chocolate fondant you will eat!

The remodelled bar area looks great, and Dana's new 'Smores' shot was quickly proven to be the perfect evening starter.

Nice photo op in front of the new Barrakee sign, although not a lot of snow during the visit so the kids weren't able to build their snowman. The squash court was again the saviour here as it enabled the adults to relax and enjoy the holiday while they played dodgeball with the other guests kids.

We cannot recommend Barrakee highly enough if you want to have a great family holiday and eat some amazing food at the same time.

Thanks guys and see you again when it starts snowing!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bg_in_peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

A big thanks for such fantastic feedback. The whole Team at Barrakee are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much.
We are very aware of how competitive the ski industry is with many wonderful places to stay, so i'ts very gratifying to have returning Guests. It's especially gratifying that we have meet and exceeded expectations again.
You're right we have a few new faces on The Team this season but as you kindly point out the same the enthusiasm has returned.
We have great snow here at the moment and Barrakee is very focused on our mission statement of making your ski holiday "the full package". The Kitchen Team are producing some wonderful new dishes and the ambiance of the fireside bar and dinning room are a perfect finish to a hard days skiing.
We look forward to seeing you back again and all the Team thank you for taking the time to give us such a great compliment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews