We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
bg_in_peru
Sydney, Australia

New ski season, same incredibly high quality of food and service!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 June 2016
Back to Barrakee for the 2016 season and once again we were blown away by the amazing food and the quality of service the team continues to deliver.

A few new faces, but the core remain and Pete seems to have stepped things up a notch with a new Asian inspired menu. He has somehow managed to improve on his already magnificent signature confit duck, and Vicky in the kitchen makes the best chocolate fondant you will eat!

The remodelled bar area looks great, and Dana's new 'Smores' shot was quickly proven to be the perfect evening starter.

Nice photo op in front of the new Barrakee sign, although not a lot of snow during the visit so the kids weren't able to build their snowman. The squash court was again the saviour here as it enabled the adults to relax and enjoy the holiday while they played dodgeball with the other guests kids.

We cannot recommend Barrakee highly enough if you want to have a great family holiday and eat some amazing food at the same time.

Thanks guys and see you again when it starts snowing!
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 27 June 2016
A big thanks for such fantastic feedback. The whole Team at Barrakee are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much.
We are very aware of how competitive the ski industry is with many wonderful places to stay, so i'ts very gratifying to have returning Guests. It's especially gratifying that we have meet and exceeded expectations again.
You're right we have a few new faces on The Team this season but as you kindly point out the same the enthusiasm has returned.
We have great snow here at the moment and Barrakee is very focused on our mission statement of making your ski holiday "the full package". The Kitchen Team are producing some wonderful new dishes and the ambiance of the fireside bar and dinning room are a perfect finish to a hard days skiing.
We look forward to seeing you back again and all the Team thank you for taking the time to give us such a great compliment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lodge Apartment - 23
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
2.0 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$3,375
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$3,375
2.2 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free Wifi
AU$1,349
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$1,349
2.3 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$595
  • Hotels.com
    AU$595
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
11.6 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$699
  • Hotels.com
    AU$699
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Barrakee Ski Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Perisher Valley
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
7
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski lodge amazing food families and couples each morning course dinner dietary needs snow transport home away from home each evening great bar ski tube fantastic hosts darren chef skiing adults kids
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We are a family of 4 with a 6 and 8 year old. Barrakee lodge is perfectly set up for families, we stayed in 2 rooms with a connecting shower room. The kids had a tv in their room and access to the dvd library so when they needed to relax tired ski legs they could zone out for a moment. Mind you they had so much fun with the other kids visiting the lodge in the tv room,lounge or ball pit (squash court) that they were hardly ever in our room. For us, the adults, the ambiance was relaxed, friendly and elegant. The staff are wonderful with nothing being too much trouble. Les and Rick are natural hosts making everything easy and fun. The place itself is spotless. I enjoyed an apres ski sauna that was amazing! The food was a delight, satisfying and delicious and exactly what you need in the snow. A real culinary experience that I would usually expect in a fine dining restaurant.... Such a treat! I recommend this lodge wholeheartedly, without a doubt our best holiday to date we will definitely be returning!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jostudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

We are thrilled you enjoyed your time at Barrakee so much.
Thanks you for such fantastic feedback. The Team at Barrakee are very grateful when our guests take time to offer us such praise.
Our mission is to make your holiday important for more than just skiing. We pride ourselves on a high standard of food and service and our award winning Team strive to deliver the goods every night and day of the season.
We thank you again and look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

This is easily the best ski lodge I have stayed at. It is a short trip from the ski tube but has the option of ski in/ ski out. The staff are friendly and helpful, the lodge has the feeling of being like your own home on the slopes. Its family friendly but there is the opportunity for grown up time, with the kids eating early and a great bar/ lounge area. The food was awesome and helped fuel you up for the next days skiing. I recommend this venue very highly.

Room tip: The separate family bedrooms that have a joint bathroom/ internal door are perfect. A view of the valley is a good bonus.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelstudden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

A big thank you from all the Team at Barrakee for taking the time to give as such wonderful feedback.
We believe Barrakee is a special place but it's very gratifying when our guests confirm it with such praise.
We hope you will come back and join us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous ski lodge. Ski in ski out, hatted chef(!!), unbelievably friendly and helpful staff, very comfy beds and free wi-fi.

We had a wonderful stay at Barrakee. Can't recommend too highly. Kids had a blast and we relaxed. Wish I could live there!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AuntyJule
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback.
We take great pride at Barrakee in making your important holiday time memorable for all the right reasons.
As you know food and service are a priority for us at Barrakee. Our Front of House Team strive to make sure you are being looked after and that includes the Kids too!
We are fortunate to have such a professional culinary lineup and our award winning Chef and Manager, with all the Barrakee Team, try to make sure your holiday is as memorable for your time in the Lodge as it is out on the slopes.
We look forward to seeing you back, and again, thank you so much for such wonderful praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, the food was mouth watering and plentiful, and the view was spectacular. Dinner was by the fire, kids and adults had different eating times so we could relax and mingle with the other adult guests while our kids relaxed with tv, dvds, boards games or in the indoor squash courts. Happy hour was great and Danni's after dinner mints were extremely tasty! Barrakee Lodge is a hidden gem. My husband and I loved it and our children loved it too(ages 9,10,12,14). It was a relaxing way to finish the day of skiing. Everyone was so accommodating, we can't wait to come back. It is up there for one of our best family holidays!

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RaeUmina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such fantastic feedback. The Barrakee Team strive to make your ski holiday a success and its great for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much.
You will be happy to know that the entire Team will be back for Ski Season 2016 and we will be looking forward to seeing you back at our snow covered door. Remember you can book direct with us for the best rates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We went to Perisher to ski. We stayed at Barrakee Ski Lodge after reading TRIPADVISOR.. We'll go back, snow or no snow, the FOOD and SERVICE is sensational. Can't really say enough about the staff here. They just never stop smiling (even at the end of the season) and you can't help feeling it's actually genuine. Terry (manager) Danni and Ailie are like heat seeking missiles to ensure you are being looked after. Nothing is too much trouble. They refer to themselves as "the Barrakee team" and that's a good description, they ARE a great team. The FOOD, oh, the food. This is NOT your average ski lodge food, it's awesome. They have a kitchen dream team. Sous Chef Joel is very talented. It's rare to find a multi award winning Chef hanging out at a ski lodge but Barrakee has one - Head Chef Peter O'Connor has a bag full of awards and has cooked Presidents and Prime Ministers and the proof is on the plate every night (lucky us).
Great bar, beautiful fire, comfy beds, but we had trouble concentrating on the skiing because we wanted to know what was for dinner! It's our new top choice in the Aussie mountains.

Date of stay: September 2015
Thank wetravellots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Ski Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2015

On behalf of the "Barrakee Team" we really appreciate your fantastic feedback. As you know it's brand new ownership and management at Barrakee and it has been a fantastic season for us.
We pride ourselves on attentive service and great food and it's nice to hear that we are achieving our mission.
We are pleased to announce that the great Team we had this season will all be back again in 2016 so we hope you will join us again. No doubt there will be an exciting new menu for you to savour.
Don't forget you can book direct with us and get the best prices. We look forward to seeing you back around our cosy fire in 2016.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews