We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
87
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests every night chef peter enjoyable experience amazing food the managers separate tv room each morning restaurant quality food place to stay new owners a great stay homely feel lounge area course meal fantastic family ski tube
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I think I found Barrakee lodge on trip advisor and it alone has made using TA worthwhile. Barrakee Lodge is a gem of a place, located close enough to the lifts for easy access and far enough away for you to be out bush at night. Les and Rik were charming hosts, the staff were all extremely friendly and welcoming, it was like a large extended family. The food was amazing, we skipped the night skiing as it would have meant missing dinner... Les was very kind shuttling us around (as there wasn't enough snow for ski-in ski-out) and the other guests were excellent company, most with their own kids in tow of a similar age to ours. An excellent break with excellent company. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: You're not going to be going there to sit in your room, if you need to sit do it in the lounge which has a fantastic window down the valley
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ianduncan_qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

A big thank you for taking time to give us at Barrakee such great praise. The Team here take a lot of pride in their work and it's a genuine reward to hear that we have met and exceeded expectations. We especially appreciate that the talented Kitchen Team were able to temp you to choose a knife and fork ahead of the skis! That's a great tick of approval.
There are many great places in the Snowy Mountains and we know how difficult it can be when choosing. Our mission at Barrakee is to welcome you and send you away thinking you've made the right decision, we understand how important that is. We look forward to seeing you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015

Our family of six enjoyed a wonderful ski holiday at Barrakee lodge. Our rooms were cosy, clean and beautifully appointed. The restaurant served up amazing culinary meals; sumptuous and very hearty! The amenities were fantastic and easy to access.The lovely team of staff were very friendly and courteous and made sure all our needs were met. The genuine hospitality we experienced at the lodge made this an unforgettable experience and we felt very privileged to be there. Thank you one and all!

Room Tip: Rooms on the left hand side have views into the Valley floor; lovely to look straight out onto a snow covered vista.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Despina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

The entire Team at Barrakee would like to thank you for such fantastic praise. As you now know it's a whole new team here at Barrakee and we are passionate about providing a skiing holiday that ticks all the boxes. We very much hope you will join us again in the future. We would like you to know that we really appreciate that you have taken time to give us such kind words, and that is what keeps us trying so hard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

If you could close your eyes & conjure up the perfect ski chalet, this would be it! Crackling log fire, comfortable lounges, raked ceilings & friendly, attentive staff. The rooms are spacious, even with a king-sized bed, & the ensuite bathrooms look brand new. But the very best of this chalet experience was the food! It was my birthday & the staff made me feel so special. My birthday dinner was a French inspired masterpiece! The quality of the food, the presentation, & the menu itself was exceptional. After dinner we went to the bar for one of Danny's famous "ski shots". As a novice I managed to spill mine down my chin. Practice makes perfect tho...
Overall, a wonderful experience, one I will never forget.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

We at Barrakee love that people take time to give us such fantastic feedback. Our Team take a great deal of pride in getting it right. We also love a celebration and we were very fortunate to share in yours. In fact the whole Barrakee Team enjoyed your Birthday and we hope to see you back to celebrate many more. The ambiance of a ski lodge is enhanced by such lovely groups as yourselves. Thank you for choosing to celebrate at Barrakee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015

As a skier, I would come back simply for the food!! It was THAT good. The attention to detail, the flavours, the variety and THOSE desserts are to die for! Well done Pete and Joel.
The entire team go way over and above your expectations to make sure your stay is hassle free and dare I say it, a real holiday. The only thing you need to do is ski.
Oh and don't forget to ask Danni what a "flaming good time" is when you're at the bar.
Why haven't we heard of Barrakee before now, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bg_in_peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Wow, we are so lucky to get such great feedback. The Barrakee Team put so much effort into getting it right, it feels great to know we are delivering and our Guests are so happy. You'll also be happy to know that we never rest on our laurels - this is exactly the kind of praise that spurs us on to come up with new ideas. So next time you're back at Barrakee, around our crackling log fire enjoying the ambiance of the Bar, looking forward to a good meal after a hard days skiing, we wont let you down. Thanks again from ALL the Barrakee Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2015

We had an amazing time at Barrakee. The staff were all lovely and helpful and the food was incredible. Such a lovely atmosphere. The kids made friends with the other kids staying and allowed us adults to really relax and enjoy the homely environment. The rooms are basic, don't expect flash hotel style rooms, but they're beautifully clean, the beds are comfy and you don't need to spend any time in the room anyway - straight down to the sofas in front of the fire after changing out of ski gear!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrakee, Manager at Barrakee Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words. The entire Team at Barrakee are thrilled that your family enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us here at Perisher. We look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews