We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tanya F
Batemans Bay, Australia

Exquisitely clean, cheap, cheerful, great location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 June 2017
We stayed in the Idlewilde Motel for a family event in winter. The staff/ managers were friendly and polite, and the room was one of the cleanest I had ever stayed in. We were a walk from the two local pubs, cafes, and small shopping centre. Not far from lovely beaches and lake and other townships in the Sapphire coast tourist area. Good parking out the back, and all we needed in the room.
Date of stay: May 2017
Room Tip: Probably no perfect room, although very quiet despite being on highway.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie T, Owner at Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn, responded to this review
Responded 23 June 2017
Thank you for your welcoming review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$122
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
    2.7 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free parking
    Pool
    Pool time after a day at the beach
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$145
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$158
    • Booking.com
    4.9 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$129
    • Hotels.com
    5.3 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$374
    • Booking.com
    5.3 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$227
    • Priceline
    5.4 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    15.7 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    7.2 km from Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Pambula
    Reviews (64)
    Filter reviews
    64 results
    Traveller rating
    35
    20
    7
    1
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    35
    20
    7
    1
    1
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    20 - 25 of 64 reviews
    Reviewed 15 June 2017

    A top spot for a winter escape from the chilly highlands. Jenny and Ray are excellent hosts and went out of their way to make our stay the best experience. The seafood platter was fresh and delicious. Scrupulously clean with comfortable beds, a great place to stay.

    Room tip: Ease of access for folk with mobility issues. Close to wetlands, Pambula township, beaches and golf club.
    Date of stay: June 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Helena A
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie T, Owner at Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

    Thank you for your lovely comments

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 May 2017

    We have been staying at this Motel whenever We can get away to Pambula, over many years . It is always clean, comfortable, and the staff -friendly . It has to be the best value on the coast. It is very pleasant eating in their Restaurant especially when their fire is lit.
    Whichever of their deals you select, they are always fabulous. Their breakfasts are enjoyable and whilst there you must experience their hot and cold Seafood platter.
    The hardest thing about our stay was having to leave. This is a great area to wander around ,with lots to see and only a short drive to Merimbula for lots more shopping.
    If you like to visit clubs whilst away, check out their courtesy bus.

    Room tip: All rooms are on one level and all very comfortable
    Date of stay: May 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Betty S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie T, Manager at Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

    Thank you for your lovely review

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 May 2017

    We have stayed at this establishment frequently; under the old and new management. Were always made welcome.

    Previously; this motel was dated and as stated by cathalice123 in her review, but it was quite retro and comfortable but; the current owners Julie and her hubby have improved it out of sight. The rooms have been refurbished in a tasteful manner. The bed spreads and pillows are brand new and most importantly spotless. The bathrooms have been refurbished; the toilet pans & seats are new. Each room is now fitted with a reverse cycle air conditioner/heater. The inefficient old panel heaters are gone.

    This motel also has periodic Seniors Specials. At the time I booked our room, we were offered a three night special for under $300.00 which also included a continental breakfast, a bottle of wine and a Seafood Platter dinner that included 10 cold prawns, a dozen oysters salads, fruit, deep fried fish, prawns, scollops and chips.

    The breakfast menu was a Continental Breakfast, with your choice of cereal or toast, Compote of fruit which was more than a generous serve, and your choice plunger coffee, tea or instant coffee.

    In all, my wife and I had an extremely pleasant and wonderful holiday which weas highlighted by our stay at this motel.

    Many thanks Julie and hubby. BRILLIANT SERVICE and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    Date of stay: April 2017
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank scotia1946
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

    She went out of her way to assist filthy hikers with very dirty laundry! Room was immaculate, quiet and there was plenty of very hot water. Had dinner at Wheelers oysters. Excellent night in Pambula. Recommend.

    Date of stay: April 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Christine J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

    Dated (1970s) motel but kinda retro and cool
    Good value and not far from Merimbula
    Friendly informative staff
    And absolutely spotlessly clean
    The cleaning staff singing as they went about their business-delightful

    Date of stay: January 2017
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank AliceAndTheSparrow
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Julie T, Manager at Idlewilde Town & Country Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

    Thank you for your lovely review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews