We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok-but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nelson Towers Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Reviewed 12 July 2011

stayed for 2 nights, staff was helpful and underground parking was handy. Rooms were very small and very outdated with uncomfortable furniture, the lounge room didnt even have a lounge! Just a single bed that was hard and uncomfortable, bed was also quite hard. Bathroom was nice except the corner spa we paid extra for was pretty small and crappy. Tv only had standard channels-no foxtel. However the balcony was huge and the view was great, and when we requested more towels they were delivered immediatly. I liked being able to walk to dinner and not have to worry about driving home. Some sort of breakfast option would have been great, rather than having to trek out in the morning. The heater in the room worked quite well and we were warm even thogh it was july. Probably wouldnt stay here again as it was way overpriced, and you are literally paying for the view.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

Probably like many other couples with young children it is great when you finally get to go on holiday. We had booked into Nelson Towers Hotel to find that they where not kidding when they advertised that they were in a good location. Nebver needed the car once we got there. The rooms were clean, a very large balcony above the cafes below. How I love the smell of good food. The managers were friendly and advised us of all the attractions to take the kids to. The kids loved the beachs, marina, shops, ocean tours, etc. We got out and saw heaps of good stuff. I definely forgot about the office. A great and much needed break. If anyone wants to stay at a good place to forget about work for a while and just enjoy being with the family then this place is for you.
Nelson bay in general is a little pricey but you have to consider the fact that once arrived you can put down your keys and mobile.

My wife and I really needed a good break and were very happy to get one here, look forward to returning for the australian fishing tournament held just across the road at the marina in March next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbott72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

$249 for 1 night in this dump - incredible! Furnishings outdated and very uncomfortable, kitchette absolutely tiny with no dishwasher. Tv was very old and VERY small and had only 6 channels. No DVD player or Foxtel just a VCR. Yes, we were so lucky we got a spa in our bathroom with the luxurious view of the washing machine and dryer!! Balcony was larger than the lounge area but directly over the cafe below which started making lots of noise around 8am - just when you hope to get the first sleep in for a while with no kids around. All in all, very disappointing and an absolute rip off. No value for money here whatsoever.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeddingAnniversary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Three of us stayed for one night in this very noisy (Traffic) expensive motel. The slide- under bed only had one leg. The sofa bed had very suspicious stains through the bed spread and the sheets. We complained and asked for new sheets.
Management were reluctant to come and give us new sheets but they did eventually turn up.
Managers attitude was "Surly".

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeachsideResortnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We booked here upon the recommendation of a friend. Our friends in Sydney recommended this motel after visiting here for a weekend away. The location was great. Within very close walking distance to the marina and restaurants. Dolphin tours were very close as was the visitor's centre

The service at the motel was very friendly and the staff promptly provided us with details on where to eat and what to see etc

We booked an oncean view room and were not disappointed with the view.

While breakfast in room was not an option, the nearby caffee was great for a good mornining breakfast indulgance

Upon our next visit to NSW we will come here again

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank angeleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
0.3 km away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
564 reviews
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#10 of 16 in Nelson Bay
274 reviews
0.3 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
330 reviews
0.3 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
154 reviews
0.2 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson Towers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson Towers Motel

Address: 71a Victoria Pde, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Nelson Bay
Price Range: $140 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nelson Towers Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nelson Towers Motel is a 16 unit Motel with in the Nelson Towers Building. We have [6] Bay view rooms with King bed, lounge room, kitchenette, bar fridge, air con, bathroom some with own laundry, large balcony with cane lounge facing the marina,[4] Deluxe rooms Queen bed, bathroom, kitchenette, bar fridge, air con, court yard facing the rear,[6] Queen Standard rooms with Queen bed, bath room, air con, bar fridge, court yard facing the rear. We have an Arcade in the building, lift, under cover secure parking, pool on the roof, opposite the marina and walking distance to everything. all linen supplied . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nelson Towers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelson Towers Motel Nelson Bay, Port Stephens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing