We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but meals a let down.”

Inner Light Tearooms
Ranked #1 of 12 Quick Bites in Nelson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 5 - USD 12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Inner Light Tea Rooms, you will "Come for the View, Stay for the Food!" Our Cafe has spectacular panoramic views of Port Stephens. Breakfast and lunch You can enjoy breakfast, lunch, morning or afternoon tea while enjoying the magnificent view. We are open 7 days a week for morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea. We are open from 10.00am to 4.00pm weekdays and 9.00am to 4.00pm on Saturday and Sunday. During school holiday periods we are open 7 days from 9.00am to 4.00pm. Order and pay inside. Cash or EFTPOS.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This cafe is situated on a headland with stunning 180 degree views of the waters off Nelson Bay.
Unfortunately it was blowing a gale when we went.
You pick up a menu and order at the counter and the meals are brought to the table.
There were four of us....
One child’s meal of 2 Chicken Tenders with 3 cherry tomatoes and a VERY minute salad. The chicken tenders were enjoyed but this meal surely could have had some chips on the side. Hardly filling even for a child.
The beef burger was thoroughly enjoyed. It had lots of salad, grated carrot etc. and a very nicely cooked meat patty.
He chose to have white bread instead of a sesame bun. Just 2 unappetising slices of bread....surely they could have been toasted.
Another chose Smoked Salmon Bagel. A nice amount of salmon, dill and cream cheese on a tasty bagel but where were the capers and slices of red onion? They would have made this bland tasting dish so much better.
The focaccia was great.
Presentation was unimaginative.
A mediocre experience.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank RestlessLegs45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

From a kids perspective, the food was tasty. There's no debate about that. The big problems that we had are the portion sizes. The chicken my brother ordered was to small for an ant. My other problem is the food was average. The burger I ordered was expensive and I could probably make it at home myself for a lot less. The Mediterranean facaccia which my mum ordered was nothing special. All of that aside, the view is the reason this review is a 3 as oppose to a 2. The view is one of a kind. Would recommend for a snack as oppose to a full meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank KidsPerspective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have had several light meals and afternoon tea/coffee at the Inner Light Tearooms over the years and have always been impressed with the panoramic views from this elevated site. It is a great place to take people unfamiliar with the Port Stephens locality. Our last visit was for a light lunch with coffee and it lived up to expectations. While there we visited the gift shop and conversed with the volunteers who serve on the sea-rescue facilities - all interesting and worthwhile. We will certainly go there again.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianandsandraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A must do on our annual visit to Nelson Bay. The location is fantastic with stunning views and immaculate grounds. We felt that scones were not quite up to their usual standard this time around, but still well worth the visit.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank rainmaker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stumbled across this beautiful spot! Sweeping views of Port Stephens/Shoal Bay. Great food and coffee and a reasonable price. Will definately be back!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Kat09kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inner Light Tearooms also viewed

Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
 

Been to Inner Light Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing