We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
140
37
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
37
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews secure parking old world guest lounge car windscreen lovely breakfast middle of town immaculate condition by chance late afternoon quick stop comfortable rooms country hospitality criteria luggage ross coles operator
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We were unsure if we'd get to Narrandera because of the flooding, but we did and checked into a great little hotel. Set in a lovely old building, the room was simple, neat and clean.
The service by our host was excellent. Friendly, helpful and welcoming. We were offered meal suggestions, while the personal touches were above and beyond.
Included a continental breakfast with fresh fruit and fresh coffee.
Would stay again for the service alone.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stopped in the small country town of Narrandera NSW on our way to Adelaide and checked in to the New Criterion Hotel for a very comfortable overnight stay. Once a country pub in the centre of town and now offering boutique hotel accomodation, our room opened out onto a balcony which in the warm summer months would be lovely to sit out on and have a drink and look over the town. The queen beds with electric blankets were very comfortable, fantastic hot water shower, nice big fluffy towels, very reasonably priced mini bar including wine, beer, soft drink, and a flat screen TV in the room. A great guest lounge at the end of the hall with Apple TV for movies, an aray of magazines and Tea, coffee and minibar (with very reasonable prices), not that we had time to use it.
Being an old pub it has no lifts so you need to carry your bags up stairs but Ross, our host was more than willing to assist.
Breakfast is included - continental style with fresh fruit, cereal and several different types of toast with an aray of spreads including vegemite!! Fresh made coffee by our lovely host Ross all served in the dining room. There is also a lovely outdoor beer garden area, which in the summer months would be great for a drink and to mingle with other guests. There is secure parking at the back of the premises.
We had a lovely night at the New Criterion Hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Whilst new Criterion Hotel has a friendly manager and a nice lounge ,describing it as a Boutique Hotel is really not accurate.
The rooms are tiny and would be classified as acceptable motel rooms with nothing special or attractive about them.
The pillows were rock hard and doonas would have been much warmer than the vellum blanket. Tiny bathroom and no full length mirror didn't make for any comfort.
The lounge allowed for some extra space to watch the TV.
Don't expect a boutique experience here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Irene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Our family booked two rooms for a night when traveling around NSW. Rooms are neat and tidy. The owner is efficient and willing to help when needed and the breakfast, although simple, was exactly as needed to get the day started.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Le0nieS2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped in here on our way from Adelaide to Sydney. We had an extremely large room, which was very clean and inviting. The service from the hotelier was exceptional, guiding us to our room, to our parking space, and out the door when we left. Free secure parking and fantastic range in the continental breakfast. The hotel itself has definite charm and is in a great location in town. Would have loved to stay longer.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyndall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews