We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and relaxing space”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Imagine yourself here, time to relax and let your cares dissolve A space to relax
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Imagine yourself here, time to relax and let your cares dissolve
A space to relax
Your gateway to a secret garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mullumbimby, Byron Shire, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kiwi8282
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and relaxing space”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

An absolutely magic spot out in The Pocket. Had a wonderful stay at the Retreat, and it was easy to switch off and enjoy the surrounds with a glass of wine or two. Jonathan and Suzie were fantastic hosts and made sure we had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. I can also highly recommend booking a massage - Kylee was amazing!! Will definitely be back. Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we very much enjoyed having you stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolynan...
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Sanctuary in The Pocket is a sylvan reprieve from wintry climes and life's mishaps. The gardens are splendid, the hoop pines and the kookaburras' laughter a reminder that you are in an area with a strong natural character.

Jonathan and Suzie are charming and helpful hosts, welcoming and considerate.
We stayed for a week in the cottage.

The kitchen and its equipment were adequate. We prefer a telephone shower - nevertheless, the water pressure and temperature were good. The bed is comfortable, television and sound equipment very good.

Suzie is warm and bubbly. She always responded happily when we asked for things we suddenly missed. Then again, the shops aren't next door.

The treat is to stay in one of the most beautiful areas in Australia at a tranquil Balinese-style haven, enjoy a massage, a facial, ten minutes to the beach, the restaurants of Brunswick Heads, a little further away and inland to the organic foodie marvels of Mullumbimby and Newrybar, south to Byron Bay or north to the incomparable Tweed River Area.

The Sanctuary in The Pocket, it has to be said, is as ideally located as it is idyllic.

Sent from my iPhone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you Carolyn and Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettinabo...
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
“Heaven”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From the moment I started communicating with Jonathon and Susie nothing was every too much trouble. I organised a voucher for my Partner for his Birthday for a little weekend getaway.

We loved everything about the place - Perfect place to get away for the weekend and relax with that special someone!

Highly Highly reccomend - Amazing hospitality

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was amazing but we loved Jack and Bella (the puppies too!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
Thank you Bettina
It was lovely having you both stay
Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil short stay”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Relaxed, tranquil garden setting with private pool and fountains - just what was needed to leave life's stresses behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the day bed
Liked least: Distance from town
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thanks Andrew, we're glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing