We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
George H
Switzerland

Lovely town, economical accommodation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Feb 2020
Merimbula is an idyllic town with a perfect beach (Bar Beach) and an enchanting vibe. The South Seas Inn is close to the town centre, so eating places and pubs are close by on foot - and an excellent surf shop. The room was scrupulously clean with air con. Parking was in front and the check in was seamless. I loved jogging along the boardwalk along the lagoon. If you like the Macritchie reservoir in Singapore, you will love Merimbula's boardwalk.

The internet was erratic, however, and I would encourage the management to make it more reliable. The motel has a pool with a childproof fence.
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$148
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$148
  • Expedia.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$151
0.1 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
property
AU$135
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
  • Hotels.com
    AU$135
0.1 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$290
  • Priceline
    AU$290
0.8 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Downstairs Balcony room
AU$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$128
  • Expedia.com
    AU$138
0.2 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$322
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$322
  • Expedia.com
    AU$322
  • Hotels.com
    AU$319
0.9 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$127
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Expedia.com
    AU$132
  • Hotels.com
    AU$132
0.6 km from South Seas Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
good sized clean pool
AU$98
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$110
  • Agoda.com
    AU$94
  • Expedia.com
    AU$105
0.4 km from South Seas Motel
Free parking
Pool
AU$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
1.1 km from South Seas Motel
Free parking
Pool
Pool
AU$166
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    AU$152
  • eDreams
    AU$166
  • Vio.com
    AU$166
2.0 km from South Seas Motel
Free parking
Pool
The Beach House
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
2.0 km from South Seas Motel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
45
46
17
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
45
46
17
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town stayed here central location great bed definately stay here within easy walking distance excellent location bowling club clubs shops sally rsl heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2020

Positives: Comfortable bed, clean room, good size room, lovely surrounds, beautiful pool, close to everything and great views. Clean neat and tidy. TV good, shower good. Comfy chair/couch and plenty of light.

Negative: Air conditioning is only in some rooms and the supplied misting fan doesn't do anything. No ventilation as window only opens on one side of the room. We ended up leaving the door chocked open with the chain across it to get some airflow. Bed a bit hard on the edge and someone had played with the fridge settings so despite there being ice in freezer, our ice cream melted.

Overall, good value but definitely budget end. For only a couple of nights we didn't have a problem but you wouldn't want to be here for an extended period without AC in the height of summer. We would stay again though.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Tarragindi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020

I could not fault our room, comfortable bed, tv clear and sharp, WiFi excellent, very clean, gardens exceptional, pool area, bbq area and function room very inviting. Found both Jodie and Darren to be very friendly and helpful, even though the town was quiet due to the bushfires we still enjoyed our stay and will come back

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shannie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

Our rooms were clean and the bed were comfortable. Location was convenient as many eateries nearby as well as Woolsworth. Jodie was really helpful with her advice and tips. Wifi was also strong. They also provide a sink inside the room.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2019

I stayed one night in a Lake View Balcony Queen Room. I liked the room, nice view over the town toward the bay, it appeared to have been recently renovated. The room was clean, the shower was great, plenty of hot water. The best thing was it had a 2 seater sofa to relax on and watch TV. It's not 5 star but it's reasonably priced, WiFi included, and right in town central to everything in Merimbula. Staff were friendly. I had a cooked breakfast but it wasn't the best, in hindsight i'd rater have gone to the McDonald's across the road. I'd stay again.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed one night only. Self checkin , I guess there’s a first time for everything. Reception opens at 2 pm , reception was late. we were not given the requested room overlooking the pool instead we were given a view of the carpark and shopping area . Thanks for that.

Our room was clean but oh so many rules. There is no such thing as Valued Customer here. All the notes in the room reminded us of how much we would pay for not following the rules . $70 if we didn’t was wash up our cups . $100 cleaning if we smoked ( lucky we don’t) more charges if we cleaned our fish ( we don’t do that either) .Asked if we could “ help the environment to reuse our towels “ .
I would like to ask “ Does the management know NSW is in drought? If so why was your sprinkler running for in excess of 2 plus hours on lawn beside the pool.
Sorry with so much to offer in this area we chose SOUTH SEAS MOTEL.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank judithb149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews