We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GBF053
Ballarat

Average motel value for money

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2021via mobile
We stayed 3 nights Feb 2021. The room was comfortable. I did mention to owner issue with cobwebs and small spiders over window which he cleared and cleaned straight away. Kitchenette consisted of toaster, microwave and sink. I wrongly assumed kitchenette to have cooking facilities such as frypan and cook top. Advertised as large screen TVs but it is actually quite small tv. Aircon is noisey and had to turn it off at night. Ceiling fans good. The price was good as we booked directly with motel and paid $110 per night. Check in easy and owner friendly and helpful. Balcony small and not really usable felt to close if others walking past or using. Comfortable stay.
Date of stay: February 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
AU$240
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$226
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$227
0.5 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$188
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$191
  • Hotels.com
    AU$191
0.5 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen
Booking.com
AU$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$175
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$175
0.2 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Norfolk Pine Motel Merimbula back area for relaxing and meals
Booking.com
AU$120
Fully refundable
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
    AU$120
  • Vio.com
    AU$120
0.6 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$159
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
    AU$181
  • Priceline
    AU$159
0.8 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$403
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$403
  • Expedia.com
    AU$403
  • Hotels.com
    AU$403
1.1 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$264
  • Priceline
    AU$264
  • Hotels.com
    AU$266
  • Expedia.com
    AU$289
0.7 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen Room
Booking.com
AU$183
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$198
  • Hotels.com
    AU$198
  • Priceline
    AU$183
0.6 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • Hotels.com
    AU$175
  • Expedia.com
    AU$195
1.5 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free parking
Pool
Reception and rooms
Booking.com
AU$157
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
    AU$152
  • Expedia.com
    AU$152
0.6 km from Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
42
42
13
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
42
42
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walked down stayed nights comfortable room check in was easy would stay again pleasant stay good size friendly owners short walk close to town within walking distance craig motel toaster views shops facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2021

Spent one night here in December 2020 and should have stayed longer. Lovely owners who went out of their way to assist with any query, very clean and well maintained property. 5 minutes into town or get lazy and order take away to your door as we did. Would recommend and go back again tomorrow if the borders were open.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 960garrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Daniels, Owner at Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2021

Hi Garrya
Great to hear you guys enjoyed our facilities and appreciate your review.
Our area is such a hidden gem and you definitely need more time to check it out.
Sorry about the borders, we continue to wonder at some of the every changing restrictions ourselves.
Cheers Craig and Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2020

We arrived with car problems.Proprietors could not do enough. Gave us a "cooks tour" of the area in their own car. Offered further assistance.
Rooms were clean & tidy, well fitted out. Great Q bed great shower, great TV. Kitchen was supplied with crockery, tea making, toaster, electric fry pan, microwave, reasonable room size, well ventilated, relatively quiet

Room tip: Top of a hill facing and overlooking the town. Nice view of the ocean and night lights. Ask for it.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronh226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Daniels, Owner at Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Hi Ron and Margaret
Much appreciate the great review
Was more than happy to assist and were happy you were able to get out and about and explore this beautiful area.
Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you guys again sometime.
Cheers Craig and Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2020

Currently here for three nights. Awesome motel close to town. While there’s a bit of a hill walking back, it’s worth it for the view. Exceptionally clean, great shower, comfy bed, good linen and towels. Room included sink, microwave and toaster as well as normal inclusions. Internet slow but good 4G coverage. Great value. We’ll be back.

Room tip: Upstairs rooms have a great view.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Daniels, Owner at Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2020

Thanks for the great review guys. Good to see you enjoyed our facilities and you were able to get out and about and view our local sights. Nice to meet you and look forward to your return. Sorry for the rain on your last day though.
Cheers Craig and Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2020 via mobile

Stopped in on Merimbula and glad we found this Gem. Got a great price directly dealing with owners/management. Some would complain it’s dated but we loved it because it was so comfy everything worked perfectly and we had great personal service from management. Bed super comfy room was clean and well stocked we honestly couldn’t have wanted anything extra. Position is handy and some rooms have great views of water and lake. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice comfy motel room or holiday stay in Merimbula.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelsofng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Daniels, Owner at Ocean View Motor Inn Merimbula, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2020

Hi Guys
So happy you enjoyed your stay with us and much appreciate the great review and recommendation.
We'll always try to do a better price with direct dealing.
We also love our view here and continue to upgrade room facilities.
Hope your travels continue to be as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2020 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute 2 night stay - not expecting too much but were very pleasantly surprised!
The room was very comfortable and clean, and the inclusion of a kitchenette with microwave was a bonus. bathroom products impressed me especially as they included makeup remover pads.
The mini bar items were reasonably priced and a good selection.
All in all I would strongly recommend this motel to anyone - if we ever come back this way we would definitely stay again.🙂

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank SandKsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews