We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your everyday fish and chips”
Review of Fishpen Takeaway

Fishpen Takeaway
Ranked #5 of 14 Quick Bites in Merimbula
Price range: AU$1 - AU$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Fishpen Takeaway is a funky fish and chip shop close to Main Beach Merimbula on the Fishpen Peninsular. We offer a huge dining menu including seafood, burgers, snacks, hot dogs, and more! Plus ice creams, coffee and drinks. We are open 11am-7:30pm everyday except Christmas Day. This is takeaway only however there are tables and chairs provided for your convenience. Some Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available. Phone orders welcome although may not be accepted during exceptionally busy times.
Reviewed 9 December 2022 via mobile

Absolutely delicious fish and chips. Very generous servings and great service from the boys. There are many options on the menu and we also enjoyed the burger. This is not your standard fish and chips, definitely over and above and would highly recommend.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank NSW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2022 via mobile

So disappointed with our food last night, especially given the rave this place receives from locals. Our ‘grilled’ blue grenadier was small, tasteless and came wrapped in foil swimming in the liquid it had obviously been cooked in. The chips were the brightest yellow I’ve seen, not sure what is added to them but it wasn’t the chicken salt we requested! They were soggy and probably half the quantity we are used to for a minimum order. Just couldn’t recommend.

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank jendH4603VC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

This takeaway never disappoints. Can get extremely busy in the summertime so get in early if you love your fish n chips hot n tasty

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2022

Handy to where we were staying, scored reasonably with TripAdvisor and with a queue at 6.30 pm on a Monday – so should be alright. Mmmm! Maybe. The service was friendly and efficient but the fish (soggy) and the chips (only OK) were a disappointing in a coastal town.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2022 via mobile

Went there on a Tuesday night and what a line up, however super quick turnaround and food was with us within 15 mins. Got the fish basket for 2 and we could not finish it, portions were massive and delicious but well priced! Will definitely return

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank amandacK4783AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fishpen Takeaway also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Fishpen Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.