We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be the best”
Review of Fishpen Takeaway

Fishpen Takeaway
Ranked #5 of 14 Quick Bites in Merimbula
Price range: AU$1 - AU$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Fishpen Takeaway is a funky fish and chip shop close to Main Beach Merimbula on the Fishpen Peninsular. We offer a huge dining menu including seafood, burgers, snacks, hot dogs, and more! Plus ice creams, coffee and drinks. We are open 11am-7:30pm everyday except Christmas Day. This is takeaway only however there are tables and chairs provided for your convenience. Some Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available. Phone orders welcome although may not be accepted during exceptionally busy times.
Reviewed 12 December 2020

I got into Tripadvisor reviews after feeling ripped off by a fish and chip shop in a seaside town that will remain anonymous. Since then I've been to many other take away food places all over the country. After going to Fishpen a number of times over a couple of weeks and ordering a variety of items from their extensive menu. I think I might have found the best take away in Australia and I'm a harsh critic. It is what it is, a take away, so I don't expect great service or sophisticated cuisine just generous carefully cooked fare in generous serves.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2020

This is our go to for F&C but we really miss a GOOD HOME MADE potato cake (potato scallops to sydney siders).The processed, hard and unpalatble "fish cakes" are a big loser.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank jacqui g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Claims to open at 11am, got there and they closed the door and said “you will have to come back in 10 mins as we aren’t actually open and we are getting lots of orders” (this was at 11am). Opened the doors at 11.05 and almost seemed irritated to have customers.
Really disappointed considering we always come to this fish and chips a shop and it’s great fish and chips!

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank chubbs12342018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2020

Ordered battered & crumbed fish from here on several nights during a recent visit to Merimbula. I think the fish was Blue Grenadier(?) - moist & well cooked. Very thin batter. Chips & potato scallops (Victorians call them potato-cakes I think?) also very nice. Well done! Only criticism I would have is the early close on a weeknight - I attempted to place an order at around 7pm & was informed that the kitchen had ceased taking orders. Not all of us grey nomads eat dinner at 5pm!

Date of visit: October 2020
2  Thank gm256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2020

Food, delicious!
Service good
Range of choice, abundant
You can choose healthy or go all out and have deep fried heaven
I had a fish wrap and it was lovely
My husband loved the chicken burger.
Great value?

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Jeepgal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fishpen Takeaway also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Fishpen Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.