We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tucker”
Review of Fishpen Takeaway

Fishpen Takeaway
Ranked #5 of 14 Quick Bites in Merimbula
Price range: AU$1 - AU$15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Fishpen Takeaway is a funky fish and chip shop close to Main Beach Merimbula on the Fishpen Peninsular. We offer a huge dining menu including seafood, burgers, snacks, hot dogs, and more! Plus ice creams, coffee and drinks. We are open 11am-7:30pm everyday except Christmas Day. This is takeaway only however there are tables and chairs provided for your convenience. Some Gluten Free and Vegetarian options available. Phone orders welcome although may not be accepted during exceptionally busy times.
Reviewed 31 October 2020

Food, delicious!
Service good
Range of choice, abundant
You can choose healthy or go all out and have deep fried heaven
I had a fish wrap and it was lovely
My husband loved the chicken burger.
Great value?

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Jeepgal92
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2020

The fish was so bland it tasted as though the fish had been frozen for a long time. The fish was grilled and there was no seasoning and the chips had no salt. Extremely disappointing

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank 84melindaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Super quick and friendly service. Yummy hot, crunchy chips with generous servings. We got the 1 scoop for $6 (pictured). Had a good range of ice creams, gelato, drinks and seafood/burgers.

Date of visit: October 2020
1  Thank megb2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

This has to be the best fish and chips I have had in years! Everything was Fresh and light, the fish meal for two was the best I’ve ever had with amazing fish, calamari, seafood sticks and even sea scallops and for only $33! It had my whole family commenting with every bite about how incredible it was.
My partner had the bloke burger as well which he raved about.

This is a hidden gem that I fear has ruined fish and chips anywhere else for me 🤣. Amazing work Fishpen!

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Becksta_cC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2020

My first port of call in all my town visits is a fish/ chip shop, especially by the sea. Happy to say after 65 years of travelling/ tasting the Fishpen Takeaway was the very best that I have ever had. Dined on the river bank with my Seafood Basket for 2 with
some very disappointed upset seagulls missing out. That good I had to go back the next day. Lovely light batter, great flavours and excellent value for money - I will return. Graham

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dunrootenunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Fishpen Takeaway also viewed

Merimbula, New South Wales
 
Merimbula, New South Wales
 

Been to Fishpen Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.