We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
dgtravelbug
Wollongong, Australia

Great choice on Fishpen

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2023
We spent a week at Lakeside Apartments in upstairs unit #10. Great views across the lake from the apartment although a strong breeze prevented us from using the balcony much. The unit had everything that we needed and was clean and comfortable. The cost was reasonable considering it was peak season.

We really love the location - we enjoyed daily walks around the lake, and bike riding for my son around the cycleway and quiet streets.
The weather was not the best so we didn't test out the pool.
Parking around the units is a bit tight but there is an allocated space for one car each unit.
My only negative was that I didn't find the bed or any of the pillows comfortable - maybe time to replace them.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: #10 is upstairs and has great views of the lake
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
    AU$368
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
property
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$224
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Queen Room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
    AU$198
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$137
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$159
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
1.9 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
good sized clean pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$98
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$163
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Lakeside Holiday Apartments
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
53
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
7
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly manager main street matt tennis property lake unit retreat court fishpen walks bbqs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2023

We've been visiting Merimbula for 10 years now, and this was our 4th stay at Lakeside. We look forward to our summer holiday every year, and know we'll be well looked after by the super friendly manager Matt, and so comfortable in the neat and tidy apartment which has all the mod cons. The lawns and gardens are just impeccable, and the pool always clean and inviting! And there's the tennis court and ping pong table for when it's not so sunny! Oh and the communal bbqs which you could literally eat off! You can't get a better location than this...the lake and beach right at your front door, and an enjoyable stroll into main street... Everything seaside holidays are made of! Thank you once again Matt, we can't wait to come back 😊

Date of stay: December 2022
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2022 via mobile

We stayed in The Retreat Apartment and we were firstly blown away by the location of this property and incredible views from our room. We were then pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness & furnishings in this older property. Well maintained and extremely clean. The immaculate pool, lawns & gardens were impressive too. The manager, Matt, was friendly and very accommodating.
It was perfect for our family of 4. We loved it so much we have rebooked for next summer.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 75kylied
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

We stayed at lakeside recently, for our 4th stay at this fantastic property. We love it so much - the facilities are perfect for our family and everything we need is just a short walk away - no need to move the car!
Matt and his team do an amazing job keeping the grounds and apartments perfect for guests.

Highly recommended - we are already planning our 5th trip!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MelCay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Lakeside apartments is a great spot for families. Close to the family friendly and surf beaches. Owner (Matt) went above and beyond our entire stay. Our 2 bedrom ground floor apartment was lovely and clean. Well-equipped unit. Grounds and pool beautifully maintained. Lovely flat walk into town and fantastic fish n chip shop and Cafe nearby. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nullica
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Stroud, General Manager at Lakeside Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Thank you for your great review. There are lots of choices for accommodation in Merimbula and at Lakeside Holiday Apartments, we like to go that extra mile to make sure you enjoy your stay and want to come back. It certainly is great for families. Cleanliness is really important to us, so we are glad you noticed the way we present our rooms.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again one day soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Matt (the owner) was disrespectful, confrontational and rude with no sense of basic customer service.
Matt came into the front door in a hostile way without introducing himself and was rude about some items we placed in the front of the room to dry. I explained the situation (spilled water in the car) - he didn’t care.
He came back a second time and I told him he was being rude, which he chose to deny and continue being confrontational.
Maybe he was having a bad day or a hard time. I hope he apologises to you.
There was no email or message confirmation so we had to call a few days before the trip to confirm the booking.
PS. Check out is at 9 am.

Room tip: Very rude and disrespectful owner
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matthew Stroud, General Manager at Lakeside Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you were not aware of our strata rules that don't allow clothing etc  to be hung outside. This is quite common in apartment buildings and why we provide clotheslines for our guests. We are sorry, but it seems you did not receive the automated email that was sent to your email address, it may have got caught in your SPAM filter. You are correct, check out is 9am and that is clearly listed in the email and in the room.  All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews