We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Review Highlights
A wonderful way to spend a few hours

We had a very enjoyable morning wandering the gardens/zoo, followed by a lovely lunch in the cafe... read more

Reviewed 7 May 2022
Petal090
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
this is what an animal sanctuary should be

Having never heard of a Potaroo, we were stoked to visit this special place, after seeing the... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2023
MelanieB4312
Read all 281 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
153
73
24
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
153
73
24
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews native animals animal sanctuary feed kangaroos wander around couple of hours few hours great place to visit enclosures zoo echidna potoroos cafe encounter priscilla creatures bushland coffee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Having never heard of a Potaroo, we were stoked to visit this special place, after seeing the road-side sign on our way to Merimbula. Such caring staff and a wide range of creatures visible and healthy. We spent a couple of hours there, it was affordable enough to have an 'experience' with a gorgeous creature I'd never expected I would touch.

Date of experience: April 2023
1  Thank MelanieB4312
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023 via mobile

What an amazing place and amazing experience. There were lots of animals around to see and interact with and the staff was informative. The kangaroos and emus were not shy at all. Buy the food when you check in and you will get to be up close with them. George the goose followed us all around the property. He was so cute.

Date of experience: March 2023
Thank cincykeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023

We stopped here on a whim when driving by. It was a nice rest from riding in the car. The employees were very friendly. The echidna, Priscilla, is adorable! They have outdoor games for kids. The koalas were actually active! We got lucky with this unplanned stop.

Date of experience: February 2023
Thank domeehoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2023

It's quite obvious that very little has been done to make this the interesting place that it could be. Apart from the aviary, we couldn't see very many animals. Also, the little train which takes passengers on a very short ride had very long wait times.

Date of experience: January 2023
Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2022 via mobile

Terrific afternoon in proximity to animals native to Australia. After lunch in Merimbula, we drove 7 km inland to Potoroo Palace, a small, walkable animal sanctuary. The staff rescue harmed, abandoned or surrendered animals. We were able to book an Animal Encounter, we chose the Echidna. Our host Matt was knowledgeable and welcoming, he told us all about the echidna, then showed us around the lower half of the park and advised us on the rest. We were able to pet and feed kangaroos and emus, and to see other species including reptiles, the Potoroo for which the sanctuary is named, cockatoos and many different birds in the aviary and around the dams. It was a fun way to spend the afternoon.

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank Vivienne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews