We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
AU$131
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
nw05250
London, United Kingdom
An expensive laughable step back in time
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2022
Let's start with the positives of which there were three. Firstly the water pressure of the shower. Secondly the location to local shops. Thirdly, leaving. The negatives are plenty. Let's start with the price gouging of staying at this hotel in that period between Xmas and NYE. At just over $200 a night this place is a rort for what you get. And what you get is a room that looks as though it hasn't been updated since the 1970's. Bed linen that was old and discoloured and am pretty sure if you ran one of those CSI blue lights over it would have revealed more than you would want it to. A solid beige theme runs throughout the room and extends to the crockery, the bathroom linen and the bathroom tiles. The crockery and utensils were dirty. The microwave looked very much like a first generation model of its type. Beyond a few louvres in the bathroom there was no ventilation. The walls were thin enough to listen to our neighbours snoring. The bed side lamps were bolted to the bedside draws (yes bolted) and given the tattered lampshades they represented a good example of a fire hazard waiting to happen. The 'cleaning' of the room entailed emptying the bin and making the bed as far as we could see. There was scum and dirt on the shower grouting and tiling. Who still uses blankets on the bed? There was a bedside radio embedded in the cabinetry that was a relic of the 1970's ......Overall I would strongly recommend avoiding an overnight visit to this establishment. In the film 'Casablanca' there is a line from Bogart who says ' There is always Paris'' . Well we now have ''There is always Merimbula' when we come to benchmarking future hotels and their standing in regards to quality, cleanliness and value for money. Town Centre has set the base.
Date of stay: December 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$152
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$161
0.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$155
0.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$280
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.5 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Beach House
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$139
  • Priceline
    AU$154
1.9 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Downstairs Balcony room
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$138
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
  • Priceline
    AU$127
0.6 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$96
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$196
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$119
  • Priceline
    AU$131
1.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
1.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
12
14
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
12
14
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2021

We booked this motel at the last minute when we had to leave Victoria early to avoid being locked down during our holiday. What a great choice the motel room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with a good bed and excellent heating and the owner very friendly. There was a small kitchette with crockery and cutlery for 2 people. The motel is very conveniently situated close to the shops and clubs, they were all walking distance. The room was quiet at night what more could you ask. The only problem we had was the wifi was very slow and patchy so I ended up using my phone internet.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marshayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

You could be fooled for thinking your walking into a set of the 70's show. Rooms are dated but otherwise location was great for access to shops and clubs. The price was good for what you got. No real facilities to talk about. Ideal for a weekend stay in Merimbula.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2020

Clean comfortable rooms, everything you need and in the centre of town, walking distance to everything. Absolutely wonderful host Maureen who was very helpful in accommodating us during our unexpected stay.

Room tip: The higher up you are, the more view you get over Merimbula.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2019 via mobile

Whilst this motel needs renovation, it’s advantage is its position right in the middle of town close to RSL and shopping. The rooms are still in the 70’s and the plumbing is a bit noisy. My tip is to have ear plugs and you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Value for money and the staff are nice.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaxCX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

Absolutely nothing to complain about. A damned comfortable king bed with no sags, lumps, springs and dark window drapes, so I slept like a log. Kettle, microwave and TV all working and hot water shower that can only be described as 'robust. The shower itself was worth the $80 !!!!
Slap bang in the middle of town, with Caltex, Woolies, PO, and ample eateries and dining all within 100m. Granted, this motel is one of several all in a row along Main St, others may be in better nick but I can't say, but the receptionist was friendly, gave me a warm welcome even though I didn't book ahead and showed me to my room and all was good. For one night, mid-week in low season, there are plenty of other hotels and lodges at $300+ in Merimbula, but you honestly don't need to spend anything like that. Save your money and go to Top Fun or Magic Mountain or Eden's 'Killer Whale' Museum instead.

The 70's decor is kind of nostalgic in a really nice way and very appropriate for this gorgeous, sleepy seaside town which many travellers have long and fond childhood memories of.

I'll be back and will happily stay here again.

Ground floor, Room 8

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG449, Manager at Town Centre Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews