We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$131
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
AU$131
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
AU$131
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Max C
Phillip Island, Australia
Budget motel centre of town
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Nov 2019via mobile
Whilst this motel needs renovation, it’s advantage is its position right in the middle of town close to RSL and shopping. The rooms are still in the 70’s and the plumbing is a bit noisy. My tip is to have ear plugs and you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Value for money and the staff are nice.
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$163
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$153
  • Expedia.com
    AU$153
  • Priceline
    AU$163
0.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$155
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$155
  • Expedia.com
    AU$155
  • Priceline
    AU$155
0.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Downstairs Balcony room
Booking.com
AU$160
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$149
  • Agoda.com
    AU$142
  • Priceline
    AU$154
0.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Standard Queen
Booking.com
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$190
  • eDreams
    AU$190
  • Agoda.com
    AU$190
0.4 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$129
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$129
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
  • Hotels.com
    AU$129
0.6 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$468
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$468
  • Expedia.com
    AU$468
  • Priceline
    AU$468
1.0 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
BBQ & Sitting Area
Booking.com
AU$158
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
    AU$142
  • Priceline
    AU$158
0.0 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$169
  • Hotels.com
    AU$169
  • Expedia.com
    AU$185
  • Priceline
    AU$169
2.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$161
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Priceline
    AU$139
1.2 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$131
  • Hotels.com
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
1.1 km from Town Centre Motor Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
10
12
14
11
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
10
12
14
11
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

Absolutely nothing to complain about. A damned comfortable king bed with no sags, lumps, springs and dark window drapes, so I slept like a log. Kettle, microwave and TV all working and hot water shower that can only be described as 'robust. The shower itself was worth the $80 !!!!
Slap bang in the middle of town, with Caltex, Woolies, PO, and ample eateries and dining all within 100m. Granted, this motel is one of several all in a row along Main St, others may be in better nick but I can't say, but the receptionist was friendly, gave me a warm welcome even though I didn't book ahead and showed me to my room and all was good. For one night, mid-week in low season, there are plenty of other hotels and lodges at $300+ in Merimbula, but you honestly don't need to spend anything like that. Save your money and go to Top Fun or Magic Mountain or Eden's 'Killer Whale' Museum instead.

The 70's decor is kind of nostalgic in a really nice way and very appropriate for this gorgeous, sleepy seaside town which many travellers have long and fond childhood memories of.

I'll be back and will happily stay here again.

Ground floor, Room 8

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MaureenG449, Manager at Town Centre Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

There has been no money put back in to this business so it’s dated, horribly hot in summer (as there is no air conditioning and very limited ventilation). No drinking glasses, hard, cheap old mattress...
All this for $160 a night (high season) - it is in the middle of town so it does have that going for it and from the top (3rd) floor you can see across Merimbula Harbour.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MijE14U
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2019

absolutely recommend the Town Centre Motor Inn...the service is thoughtful and reliable...the location could not be more central and convenient to all that the main street has to offer...the rooms and amenities are bright and clean with a well-appointed kitchen to enable self catering...

Room tip: First floor level with reception - perfectly convenient. Views from upper levels
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

The decor is dated but the room is great. The prices were very reasonable just after Christmas when accommodation is expensive. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed anywhere where the water pressure was so good and consistently hot. The wifi worked really well, better than anywhere else I’ve stayed in Australia. It was warm outside so we used the air conditioner which was effective. It was located near Woolworths and it wasn’t too far to walk to the beach or the lake. The microwave and fridge both worked.
If you want to stay somewhere that has modern decor and looks fancy, this isn’t the place for you, but I’d rather everything works than have something fancy!

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank kittybiscuit7o
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

Rooms are very dated, bed was like concrete! No fans in bathroom just old louvre window. No air conditioning & only portable heaters. No telephone to ring reception. It does have something going for it which is it is smack bang in the town centre & very reasonably priced. Cost us $88 for the night. I would prefer to spend more & have a more updated room.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank coota21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews