We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$165
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
48
27
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
27
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view from the balcony comfortable bed microwave kookaburras cutlery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2023 via mobile

If I could give more stars, I would.

We were on a road trip from Melbourne to Sydney. That day, we were driving from Lakes Entrance to Broulee, where we would spend the night. But a little outside Merimbula, our car broke down. So we were standing in the middle of nowhere, with 2 kids, with the sun going down. We called for roadside assistance. Sam was very helpful. But the real angel was Derryl, the towtruck guy. A 60-something guy went out of his way to help us with our luggage and helped us get a room to stay for the night.

He brought us to Kingfisher Motel, where the owners were super kind. They gave us a room, charged us less for it because we were in trouble, heated up the barbecue for us to eat, offered to buy us pizza if we didn't have anything to eat, took us to the car repair shop the next day to get our car. They were so nice, and I was overwhelmed with their warmth and positivity.

I would give Kingfisher Motel and Merimbula town a double thumbs up.

Room tip: Kingfisher Motel doesn't allow kids (as told to us by the owner). They allowed us that night because we were in trouble.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank NilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

A older style motel, but very clean and comfortable, everything you need. A well-equipped room with a 2 seater lounge, microwave, cutlery, iron and ironing board etc. There's a balcony with a table and chairs, looking out to a spectacular view of Merimbula and it's waterways. In the morning you get visited by Kookaburras, parakeets and cockies. The owner is lovely and very helpful. Highly recommended, and a very pleasant motel to stay in.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HappyTraveller7159
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2022 via mobile

What an amazing Motel, the view from the balcony is exceptional. Staff very friendly and nothing is a bother.
Big room with a big balcony overlooking the sea.
Close to shops and restaurants.
Very clean, comfortable bed, amazing location.
Loved watching the birds while sitting at the table next to a very big picture window. Just amazing

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chrisste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Green, Owner at Kingfisher Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2022

Thank you for your awesome review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2021

We chose the Kingfisher on the basis of the previous reviews, all of which turned out to be accurate. The owners are charming, helpful and live on site, so they make themselves available and give the place a cheerful, bustling look. The rooms are basic, but clean and bright. The views, including the abundant birdlife and the sheep, are stunning, and breakfast on the balcony watching the sunrise, breathtaking. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2021

5 stars all the way. The Kingfisher is delightful. Views, local wildlife and beautifully maintained. The best part is the hosts, so welcoming and warm. A charming place and relaxing stay. Can’t wait to come back.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PennyandKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Janine Green, Owner at Kingfisher Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2021

Thank you for your 5 stay review and for staying at the Kingfisher Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews