We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
John B
Sydney, Australia
Way better than just pub grub
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2021
The Lakeview bar and grill at the Merimbula hotel provided astounding food. The 500gm T-Bone was perfectly cooked and presented. Thick, juicy and supremely tender. The Panko Chicken was moist and full of flavour. The head chef, David told us the meat was sourced in the Riverina. The beast was allowed to hang for 140 days after being dispatched. Grain fed. The meat was respected by the chefs. The chickens were free range and obtained locally. David told us they sourced local, then Australian produce. The service was excellent. Prices reasonable. The view across the lake made whole experience wonderful. A bit of a drive from Sydney, but if you should find yourselves in Merimbula, it is with worth the drive to get a fantastic feed.
Date of stay: February 2021
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$127
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$129
  • Hotels.com
    AU$127
  • Priceline
    AU$127
0.6 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$154
  • Hotels.com
    AU$148
  • Priceline
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$148
0.8 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
property
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Downstairs Balcony room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Beach House
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.0 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$121
  • Algotels
0.5 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$207
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Merimbula
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
20
25
12
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
20
25
12
3
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

We have been to merimbula many times and have eaten at the lakeview on a few occasions, and have found the service to be excellent, the friendly French manager was lovely, but he now seems to have gone and the staffing has resorted to what can best be described as children with zero interest, one bar man spent more time on his phone than serving customers and a little barmaid was eating in the bar, just awful for what was a previously great experience, the food is the only thing I can say nice things about as the local fish was wonderful, pick up your game lakeview your letting it slip

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sharonfill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen H, Marketing at The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Hi Sharon, thank you for your invaluable feedback, we have had a change of management and we are continually working on improving staff training and customer service. We are sorry we missed the mark for you and hope when you next return you receive a better experience. Please do not hesitate in contacting us if you'd like to discuss in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2021 via mobile

We went for dinner, which was just your average pub food. Staff were all very friendly upstairs both waitress and bar staff were very good
As we were leaving to walk home we stopped downstairs to buy a bottle of wine and found Lance the barman to be particularly helpful and kind. We decided to walk home via the boardwalk and stated how lovely it would be to stop for a glass of wine along the way. Lance very kindly gave us 2 plastic wine glasses with our bottle of wine so we could do just that!
Truly excellent service - what a great team!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gabbi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen H, Marketing at The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you Gabbi222 for the wonderful review and we are so glad that you had a great experience at the Lakeview and experienced our friendly team willing to go that extra mile to help make your experience an enjoyable one. I will pass the comments onto Lance! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Spur of the moment choice for lunch .great decision on our part... table at the window with a great view of the lake..great customer service by staff ..food arrived without a long wait..we chose seafood baskets..they were delish..not greasy.. generous portion that included a fresh garden salad..the seafood was delicious..the tatare sauce served on the side tasty.. overall a fab experience .thank you.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JulieB7223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen H, Marketing at The Merimbula Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2021

Thank you JulieB7223 for the wonderful review, we really appreciate when our valuable customers take the time to leave us such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed the seafood basket. We hope to see you again when you're next in Merimbula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

Nice out look and friendly staff but the food was very average. Luke warm chicken wings, average ribs and the worst salad I’ve had. The barman down stairs was also coughing every 2 minutes which during Covid is not appropriate. He shouldn’t have been at work coughing so badly.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Jace1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

We were on holidays in Merimbula recently and visited the Lakeview Hotel twice. First time we were very welcomed, steak was amazing. So we then decided to return for our last night on holidays. Unfortunately we were served but a very rude male worker who had no empathy or common sense at all. We didn’t book a table as we didn’t do the first time either. We were told on entry their due to COVID limits we had to be seated in the beer garden. We had a 10 month old and a 3 year old. The weather was windy and cold. Patrons were smoking out there while we were sitting there. (Big no no). There was ample seating inside without reserved signs on them with no one seated at them. As we didn’t book ahead we weren’t allowed to sit there. I was so angry. We then decided to leave as our family was cold. One our way out the same male employee asked could he help, we said to him you can’t expect us to sit out there with young kids. He said ok thank you bye. Seriously not customer service at all. Extremely disappointed. We then drove to Pambula for dinner. And was well accomodated for there.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank pollyl2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews