We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Robynne M
Sydney, Australia
Family holiday to Earls Anchorage.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Nov 2022via mobile
Our family had a wonderful holiday at Earls Anchorage in early November. We occupied two cottages- Eula and Tarpon. Both are as presented on the website. Spacious and very nicely furnished and finished. The owners, Kristie and the cleaning staff were all helpful and friendly. Daily servicing of the cottages was a plus. We had a two year old with us who had particular dietary needs. The owners allowed us to post a box to them that included items that we would not be able to source on the island, although the proprietors of Joys Shop were also most helpful with particular products that we couldn’t fit in the box. We hired bicycles and enjoyed touring the island. We also visited The Golf Club for dinner and were dropped off by one of the staff and the proprietor. The weather was brilliant which added to our enjoyment. We would happily revisit Earls Anchorage.
Date of stay: November 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
our unit is in the foreground
StayForLong
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Beachfront
Front lawn
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.7 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Pool
Aerial View from Ned's Beach. A 2 minute stroll from Apartments to Ned's Beach
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lord howe island
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Lord Howe Island
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine lack of privacy owners john museum cafe pick ups the cottages self cater ned's beach every afternoon ground coffee great position we loved our stay kentia palms golf club bird life bbq pack hired bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2022

We had 6 nights at Earls Anchorage although we had to change rooms as we were a late (in the scheme of things) booking. We stayed in room 2 and room 5. Both were fantastic, although room 5 didn’t have blinds on the living room space facing the boardwalk between the units, so we did feel a lack of privacy, especially at night with the lights on.

The layout of the whole property, the design of the apartments and all the quality furnishings, fixtures and fittings are wonderful. There is so much thought and care - one local told us that owner John would only build and design a place that he’d be happy to stay in himself, and that really comes across. Before we moved on to a different accommodation for our second week, we made sure we had a lazy day (unusual for us) so we could just enjoy the space.

The grounds are lovely (with abundant local birdlife and plants) and the property backs on to Stevens Reserve, making that an alternative walk up and down to the settlement area. It’s on the hill behind the settlement but a pretty easy walk through the reserve or in one direction by road (and a steeper hill from the other side by road). We found it very accessible and a great location compared to some others. Accommodation/eating places on the island generally offer lifts to and from restaurants for dinner.

Owners John and Kathy, and hostess Christie, were all super friendly and helpful (but then, everyone on the island is!)

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frankyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

The absolute best! We loved our stay at Earls it was just magic! The bungalows are huge, spacious and have everything you need. The staff at Earls went next level above n beyond to make our stay so perfect. Special shout out to Christie :-) short ride/walk to the lagoon and Ned’s is just around the corner. Cannot recommend this place enough - truly the best service ever! Thanks John Kathy and team

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Twowools
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2022

My husband and I needed to destress from a very hectic work schedule. This was the perfect place. It had everything we needed and was amazingly comfortable, loved the comfy King size bed. Great position and easy to walk or ride anywhere. Really close to Ned's beach. Our plane was delayed, so had to stay another night and we were kept up to date and felt we were in good hands. John was great dropping us off at various dining places and nothing was too much trouble. Love the island's hospitality. Highly recommend!!

Room tip: any room, they are all great.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser744918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

Exceptional service at every level. Special mention to Christie & John who personify hospitality.

Location tick, Accommodation tick, Staff tick. Restaurant tick.

Our family had one of our most enjoyable holidays ever. I've travelled the world and stayed at so many wonderful places. LHI is absolutely unique. Thanks again Christie & John. You deserve every accolade possible. Joe, Brenda, Zack & Amy.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L6412ZMjamesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2022

We were met at the airport by Christie. Her smiling face and willingness to assist with luggage immediately made us feel special. On the way to our accommodation she took us on a quick guided tour of the Island and pointed out where the important places like the hospital and shopping were located. When we arrived at our 'penthouse' we were thrilled to find it clean, comfortable and roomy. It was equipped with everything to make our stay a real holiday. If you needed a lift to the restaurants or anywhere else for that matter, John was always only a phone-call away. His service and hospitality was really above and beyond anything we ever expected. Thank you to John and Christie for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wolfandjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews