We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Twowools
Brisbane, Australia
Simply the best
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2022via mobile
The absolute best! We loved our stay at Earls it was just magic! The bungalows are huge, spacious and have everything you need. The staff at Earls went next level above n beyond to make our stay so perfect. Special shout out to Christie :-) short ride/walk to the lagoon and Ned’s is just around the corner. Cannot recommend this place enough - truly the best service ever! Thanks John Kathy and team
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.7 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Pool
Aerial View from Ned's Beach. A 2 minute stroll from Apartments to Ned's Beach
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lord howe island
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
our unit is in the foreground
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.6 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.9 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Lord Howe Island
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine lack of privacy owners john museum cafe pick ups the cottages self cater ned's beach every afternoon ground coffee great position we loved our stay kentia palms golf club bird life bbq pack hired bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2022

My husband and I needed to destress from a very hectic work schedule. This was the perfect place. It had everything we needed and was amazingly comfortable, loved the comfy King size bed. Great position and easy to walk or ride anywhere. Really close to Ned's beach. Our plane was delayed, so had to stay another night and we were kept up to date and felt we were in good hands. John was great dropping us off at various dining places and nothing was too much trouble. Love the island's hospitality. Highly recommend!!

Room tip: any room, they are all great.
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruiser744918
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2022

Exceptional service at every level. Special mention to Christie & John who personify hospitality.

Location tick, Accommodation tick, Staff tick. Restaurant tick.

Our family had one of our most enjoyable holidays ever. I've travelled the world and stayed at so many wonderful places. LHI is absolutely unique. Thanks again Christie & John. You deserve every accolade possible. Joe, Brenda, Zack & Amy.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L6412ZMjamesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 May 2022

We were met at the airport by Christie. Her smiling face and willingness to assist with luggage immediately made us feel special. On the way to our accommodation she took us on a quick guided tour of the Island and pointed out where the important places like the hospital and shopping were located. When we arrived at our 'penthouse' we were thrilled to find it clean, comfortable and roomy. It was equipped with everything to make our stay a real holiday. If you needed a lift to the restaurants or anywhere else for that matter, John was always only a phone-call away. His service and hospitality was really above and beyond anything we ever expected. Thank you to John and Christie for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wolfandjacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2022 via mobile

Very responsive to emails, even after business hours. Free complimentary airport pick up and drop off, dinner drop offs snd pick ups also. John and Kathy were great, you can tell they love what they do. In the room you can find anything u can think of..coffee , tea, milk, shower gels & shampoo's etc. room service daily which tops up your shower gels. Washing machine with washing powder in the bathroom. own little bbq on the outside deck as well. Also you can find lil bbq pack pack with cutlery, plates wine glasses etc. for beach bbq areas. Hardline phone in the room was also very handy for booking dinners and activities. There is no phone reception but wifi is available and works well.

Earl's Anchorage is located just 1km from the Anchorage restaurant, shops and post office. We found the location great. It's close to the Ned's beach as well.

Room tip: The place gets booked out quickly, but John and Kathy will do their best to help you out.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 857kl_rac
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2022

We spent 4 nights staying at Earl's Anchorage for our 20th wedding anniversary and loved every minute. We were collected from the airport by the lovely Christie, who drove us the short distance to Earl's and showed us to our room. There was no actual "check in" as such, as you don't get given a key! You can lock your room from the inside when you sleep, but apparently the island is very safe and nobody locks their doors when they go out. We were surprised to see some lovely food and alcohol on our kitchen table from my Mum, as a treat for our anniversary. She had rung Earl's to arrange it and apparently Christie was lovely on the phone to my Mum, and only too happy to help facilitate the surprise!
We stayed in number 3 'Tarpon' and it was wonderful! I think it was probably the most private, and was also in a great position, being not too far from the main entrance. It was so lovely being surrounded by garden, and sitting on the very private deck was really enjoyable. I loved watching the Lord Howe white eyes appear every afternoon for a drink when the garden irrigation turned on! There were also lots of Woodhens and Buff-banded rails (including chicks!) enjoying the garden around us. The bungalow was large, beautifully appointed and immaculately clean. We felt right at home with the Haiku 'Big Ass fans' and the Bluetooth JBL speaker, along with wifi (free!) just like at home. The kitchen was well-appointed and there was a litre of milk in the fridge for us, and a lovely packet of high quality ground coffee. There was a little laundry which we didn't use. The bathroom wasn't quite as flash as the rest of the bungalow, but it was clean, the towels were lovely and plush, and the shower was hot with good pressure! There were bath robes and beach towels provided, and it was excellent having a backpack and picnic sets available in the room for us to use. There were also lovely big umbrellas we could use, located at the main entrance.
Possibly the only slight downside to Earl's is the location. As others have mentioned, it is at the top of the hill. We hired bikes and had to push them up the hill every time. My husband made it up the hill once, but it was a struggle! Earl's will drive you to your dinner location every night (and the restaurants will bring you back) but during the day you're on your own in terms of transport. If you don't have a pushbike you can avoid the main road/hill by using the trail through Steven's Reserve. We did this a few times when we didn't have our bikes. It's a gorgeous trail, filled with Kentia Palms and Banyans, and is a more manageable slope. However you can't do this with bikes.
When it comes to meals, Covid has meant that on-site restaurants at many of the larger resorts (e.g. Arajilla) will only accept bookings for guests staying there. You can self-cater at Earl's but we chose not to. So we dined at the Golf Club (highly recommend), had lunch at the Museum Cafe, and quite a few meals at The Anchorage. The Anchorage is in the 'main town' and is the most available place to dine for everyone on the island, given it's open 3 meals a day, 7 days a week, and everyone on the island is welcome. This, along with the wonderful quality of food means that it can be very popular. Another HUGE bonus of staying at Earl's, is that The Anchorage is owned by Earl's, so as a guest you are always guaranteed a table, even if they're booked out!
Earl's also have a transit lounge, which is brilliant if you have an afternoon flight but still want to explore, like we did. We really appreciated the ability to have a shower after vacating our room early, going snorkelling, returning our bikes etc. We were all clean and fresh after a morning of swimming and bike riding - it was wonderful, and everything was made available in the lovely facilities.
Every staff member we encountered at Earl's treated us like they were friends. Nothing was too much. We noticed during our stay that one of the kitchen drawer fronts was falling off. We left the drawer open to remind ourselves to let the staff know. Upon returning from a day out, it had already been attended to! Obviously house-keeping had noticed and arranged for it to be fixed. We were very impressed at how quickly it was resolved. But then we shouldn't have been surprised given how wonderful everything was at Earl's!

Room tip: Tarpon (room 3) was excellent and I believe more private than some of the other rooms.
Date of stay: February 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews