We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
DrewboySydney
Port Macquarie, Australia

I'm not easily impressed. This place IMPRESSED me very much...!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Aug 2021
So there are a few stairs along the walkways. There are rooms that will handle wheelchairs and walkers. You just have to ask. We stayed in an amazing bungalow called TARPON. Named after one of Jack Earl's boats. The bungalow, as it would appear are the others, are beautifully constructed and contain furniture that is obviously made by a craftsman. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need and we loved cooking and eating in the bungalow. We were lucky enough to have a spa bath. The bed was delightful. Huge loungeroom. WIFI for free and also once we hooked up the WiFi, we had mobile phone as well. The owners, Kathy and John go out of their way to assist with transport and whatever you may require. Everything in the place actually worked. The cutlery was better than we have a home! There are locks on the doors but no keys. You don't lock up anything on Lord Howe Island. We were even instructed to just leave our hire car parked unlocked with the key in the ignition. No one steals cars. They can't go far anyway. We highly recommend Earls Anchorage.
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
our unit is in the foreground
StayForLong
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Beachfront
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.7 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Pool
Aerial View from Ned's Beach. A 2 minute stroll from Apartments to Ned's Beach
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lord howe island
Contact accommodation for availability.
1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.0 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Front lawn
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
View more hotels in Lord Howe Island
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
82
20
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine lack of privacy owners john museum cafe pick ups the cottages self cater ned's beach every afternoon ground coffee great position we loved our stay kentia palms golf club bird life bbq pack hired bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2021

We spent just short of a week exploring the paradise that is Lord Howe Island from our self contained bungalow at Earl's Anchorage and cannot say enough about the dwelling; the amenities, the service and the wonderfully friendly staff and management, made this easily the most memorable accomodation we have ever stayed in. John and Kath, and their team, did more than just accomodate every request and question we had, they did so with a warmth and enthusiasm that is just not present in so many vacation venues these days.
The property is perfectly centrally located and close to eateries, shops, beaches and walks and the spectacular lagoon.
Airport and restaurant transfers are included and we made good use of this resource as well as the freely given local knowledge and passion for this beautiful place. We will definitely be going back and staying again!

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Kim and Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2021

We spent 3 nights at the Earls Anchorage in March this year. They are very modern and spacious. The kitchen is fully stocked and you have your own laundry and gas BBQ. There is very good TV reception and WIFI. The owners are very friendly and drop you off to any restaurant for dinner. We loved our stay at Earl Anchorage and would highly recommend at stay there.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaysrgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2021

Our stay here commenced with an afternoon pick-up at the airport by John who took us on a tour on our way to our one-bedroom apartment. It was a lovely sunny start to our stay and wonderful to get a feel for the island.

We were in Smoky Cape (no. 1) which was bright, spacious and very comfortable.

There is a large lounge/dining/kitchen area with a ‘challenging’ (for us) tv 😊. As there are only overhead lights in this area, we took a bedroom side light in during the evening to ‘soften’ the lighting. We also used pieces of paper as we couldn’t find any table mats for our mugs😊. The bathroom had a great shower with fabulous water pressure, a washing machine, lovely towels and great Dindi toiletries. The bedroom is also large with good wardrobe space, a very comfortable bed with good linen and two great dressing gowns.

The location is also excellent with a 15min walk to the ‘CBD’ and the Anchorage restaurant. A wonderful option is the transport back after dinner. It is also only a short walk to Ned’s Beach.

Outside is a deck with table and chairs and a bbq. There really is something for everyone and highly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2021

The owner John picked us up personally from the airport and from that first interaction everything was just perfect. The rooms were awesome and perfectly positioned so that it felt like you were secluded with your own private balcony and BBQ. It was an easy bike ride to both sides of island (perfect so we could go to the Lagoon one day, then Neds Beach the next) and John was happy to pick us and other guests up after dark each evening from the restaurant or bars down in town (about 700m away). Our daughter left her pink bunny behind when we left and John express posted it to us so she was no more than a day without him. Brilliant personal service from John, Kathy and all the staff and we would highly recommend this lovely place.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 362seana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

We found it quite difficult to find accommodation that matched our flights for our five night island break. Our travel agent found an apartment at Earl’s Anchorage and we were delighted with the whole experience. Clean, modern accommodation with a very friendly welcome and airport pick up from Tim. We ate at the Anchorage restaurant in town most nights. Excellent food with a changing daily menu dependent on supply . Chef cooked the kingfish, trevally and blue fish we caught ourselves on three occasions. One night the restaurant provided us with a bbq pack. Also a good spot for breakfast and coffee or picking up a fresh roll for lunch. All in all the Anchorage and its staff provided us with a great location and a friendly stay. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank deborahhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews