We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
the_stoddarts
Sydney, Australia

Excellent start to our wonderful first trip to the Island

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Mar 2021
Our stay here commenced with an afternoon pick-up at the airport by John who took us on a tour on our way to our one-bedroom apartment. It was a lovely sunny start to our stay and wonderful to get a feel for the island.

We were in Smoky Cape (no. 1) which was bright, spacious and very comfortable.

There is a large lounge/dining/kitchen area with a ‘challenging’ (for us) tv 😊. As there are only overhead lights in this area, we took a bedroom side light in during the evening to ‘soften’ the lighting. We also used pieces of paper as we couldn’t find any table mats for our mugs😊. The bathroom had a great shower with fabulous water pressure, a washing machine, lovely towels and great Dindi toiletries. The bedroom is also large with good wardrobe space, a very comfortable bed with good linen and two great dressing gowns.

The location is also excellent with a 15min walk to the ‘CBD’ and the Anchorage restaurant. A wonderful option is the transport back after dinner. It is also only a short walk to Ned’s Beach.

Outside is a deck with table and chairs and a bbq. There really is something for everyone and highly recommended.
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View from Ned's Beach. A 2 minute stroll from Apartments to Ned's Beach
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free Wifi
Free parking
our unit is in the foreground
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Earl's Anchorage
Front lawn
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
Free parking
    1.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    0.7 km from Earl's Anchorage
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    • ZenHotels.com
    3.2 km from Earl's Anchorage
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    • eDreams
    0.8 km from Earl's Anchorage
    Free parking
    Bar/Lounge
    View more hotels in Lord Howe Island
    Reviews (104)
    Filter reviews
    104 results
    Traveller rating
    82
    20
    2
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    82
    20
    2
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews washing machine lack of privacy owners john museum cafe pick ups the cottages self cater ned's beach every afternoon ground coffee great position we loved our stay kentia palms golf club bird life bbq pack hired bikes
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 104 reviews
    Reviewed 8 March 2021

    The owner John picked us up personally from the airport and from that first interaction everything was just perfect. The rooms were awesome and perfectly positioned so that it felt like you were secluded with your own private balcony and BBQ. It was an easy bike ride to both sides of island (perfect so we could go to the Lagoon one day, then Neds Beach the next) and John was happy to pick us and other guests up after dark each evening from the restaurant or bars down in town (about 700m away). Our daughter left her pink bunny behind when we left and John express posted it to us so she was no more than a day without him. Brilliant personal service from John, Kathy and all the staff and we would highly recommend this lovely place.

    Date of stay: March 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank 362seana
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 4 December 2020 via mobile

    We found it quite difficult to find accommodation that matched our flights for our five night island break. Our travel agent found an apartment at Earl’s Anchorage and we were delighted with the whole experience. Clean, modern accommodation with a very friendly welcome and airport pick up from Tim. We ate at the Anchorage restaurant in town most nights. Excellent food with a changing daily menu dependent on supply . Chef cooked the kingfish, trevally and blue fish we caught ourselves on three occasions. One night the restaurant provided us with a bbq pack. Also a good spot for breakfast and coffee or picking up a fresh roll for lunch. All in all the Anchorage and its staff provided us with a great location and a friendly stay. Would definitely stay again. Thank you.

    Date of stay: December 2020
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank deborahhumble
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 November 2020

    We have just had a week at Earls Anchorage and it was certainly a very pleasant stay - with a couple of minor whinges. As some other reviewers have pointed out (1) it is at the top of a steep hill - in two directions - and so walking is the way to get around. Buying groceries means lugging them up the hill and (2) the lack of window coverings in the living areas (blinds in the bedroom) is very pleasant in some ways (being able to look out at the surrounding vegetation which is still sparse at this time of year) but at night makes you feel a little exposed.

    My main problem, however, is the lack of a door key - it's not really relevant that the crime rate is, we were told, 'low' (which of course implies that there is some crime) - we feel more comfortable going out during the day or going to bed at night with the door locked. A safe was offered but not onsite I think. And I wonder how travel insurance would cover an unlocked room - though, on second thoughts, travel insurance tries to avoid covering lots of things!

    Apart from that the hosts were very obliging, as were the staff. We ate almost every night at the Anchorage Restaurant, the only place open at night at the moment apart from 2 local clubs. The menu changes daily so you don't face a boring choice and the food was generally very good and surprisingly imaginative, though often unavoidably expensive on this remote island.

    I wouldn't call the accommodation luxurious however certainly very comfortable and mostly to be recommended.

    Date of stay: November 2020
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    2  Thank Relle74
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

    Earls Anchorage delivers on every promise. The quality of the accommodation is excellent- super comfortable beds, lovely furnishings, and well equipped. John and his staff could not have done more for us. Best hosts we have ever had. Five stars alround from accommodation to the restaurant offerings to service.

    Date of stay: February 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with friends
    1  Thank TassieWombles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 January 2020

    We have been to the idyllic Lord Howe Island 5 times. We have tried one other place but Earl's is the place for us. As far as I know, they are the most recently constructed self contained villas on the island and they have been done very nicely. I have written reviews of Earls before so I won't repeat myself and just update the information a little.

    1. The housekeeping staff are terrific. The servicing of the room everyday was first class.

    2. There is now a massage option at Earls. Take it. I would say it was the best massage I have had. Margie used to do the treatmeants at Arajilla - no need to go there anymore.

    3. Our latest fun thing to do was to buy some sausages, bread, onions and and sauce, pack them into the Earl's supplied backpack with some BBQ utensils and gas fire lighter (also provided at Earls), rent a canoe from one of the boatsheds and paddle to southern end of North Bay. Light the fire in one of the BBQs in the picnic area, cook up your snags, have a swim in the old gulch or Herring Pools (if conditions are right) and paddle back looking for turtles. 4 hours beautifully spent.

    4. The anchorage restaurant continues to be super. Dave and his team work wonders and there is always something great on the menu to try.

    Well done Kath and John.

    Date of stay: January 2020
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank tony_mo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews